20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was great! I used leftover Cuban pork roast and Missy Wombat's recipe for Cuban bread... they turned out so much better than the baguettes I had been using.We always keep alot of pop on hand so I just put two 12-packs on top once they were laid out on the grill.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lois O'Loughlin January 16, 2004

What a treasure! We made bunches of these and took them to Gasparilla yesterday (another Tampa treasure).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CMarsh6744 January 28, 2007

Make these a lot because they are so good! Had them the other night and made the Columbia Restaurant's 1905 salad to go along with it. Great meal. Easy to make and I like to make them when I have left over pork. Love this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TansGram January 05, 2007

We made these last night and they were great. I couldn't find Cuban bread so we just used french bread and I omitted the salami, as I didn't have any. I cooked these on the griddle with a large cast iron skillet on the top to "press" them. We loved them. I really liked the mixture of mayo and mustard on the sandwich. Thank you for sharing.,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour May 10, 2012

Good sandwich. Had leftover ham and leftover pork. Used Mexican Telera bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 April 24, 2012

Terrific! I made this as directed except for the bread. I had to use french rolls. I cooked them on a pannini grill. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY March 07, 2011

We wanted something easy on a Friday night, so I made these in my George Foreman grill. I didn't have the time to make the cuban pork, so at my local deli I got baked ham, porketta and salami (shaved). I then used a potato peeler to shave the deli pickles. And used steak rolls, just took out some of the bread inside. This was soooooooooooo GOOD!!! I'm eatig one this morning as I write this review! Thanks for sharing~

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TGIF Girl Friday April 24, 2006

I put butter on mine too. The George Foreman Grill was PERFECT! Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cyndi Tatum June 27, 2005

If you're from Tampa like I am this is THE sandwich. I get home sick thinking about these. The cuban bread is an important part of this recipe. If you don't live in Central Florida you may be able to find this bread in your Publix supermarket.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ric of the Shire November 20, 2003

This is a delightful tasty sandwich. Used the Forman grill to press and the sandwich was perfect. Served with a side of potato salad. Used regular deli roast pork as we cant get Cuban style in my area. Will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoxO'Wine July 21, 2003
Cuban Sandwich - a Tampa Classic!