Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cuban Sandwich - a Tampa Classic! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cuban Sandwich - a Tampa Classic!

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2004

      This was great! I used leftover Cuban pork roast and Missy Wombat's recipe for Cuban bread... they turned out so much better than the baguettes I had been using.We always keep alot of pop on hand so I just put two 12-packs on top once they were laid out on the grill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      What a treasure! We made bunches of these and took them to Gasparilla yesterday (another Tampa treasure).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      Make these a lot because they are so good! Had them the other night and made the Columbia Restaurant's 1905 salad to go along with it. Great meal. Easy to make and I like to make them when I have left over pork. Love this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2012

      We made these last night and they were great. I couldn't find Cuban bread so we just used french bread and I omitted the salami, as I didn't have any. I cooked these on the griddle with a large cast iron skillet on the top to "press" them. We loved them. I really liked the mixture of mayo and mustard on the sandwich. Thank you for sharing.,

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2012

      Good sandwich. Had leftover ham and leftover pork. Used Mexican Telera bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      Terrific! I made this as directed except for the bread. I had to use french rolls. I cooked them on a pannini grill. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2006

      We wanted something easy on a Friday night, so I made these in my George Foreman grill. I didn't have the time to make the cuban pork, so at my local deli I got baked ham, porketta and salami (shaved). I then used a potato peeler to shave the deli pickles. And used steak rolls, just took out some of the bread inside. This was soooooooooooo GOOD!!! I'm eatig one this morning as I write this review! Thanks for sharing~

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2005

      I put butter on mine too. The George Foreman Grill was PERFECT! Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2003

      If you're from Tampa like I am this is THE sandwich. I get home sick thinking about these. The cuban bread is an important part of this recipe. If you don't live in Central Florida you may be able to find this bread in your Publix supermarket.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      This is a delightful tasty sandwich. Used the Forman grill to press and the sandwich was perfect. Served with a side of potato salad. Used regular deli roast pork as we cant get Cuban style in my area. Will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2003

      This is a great sandwich. My local Cuban sandwich shop is only open for like 4 hours a day for lunch so I was really happy to find this recipe. I find that I like it smooshed in the George Foreman best. It gets more smooshed and crispy, which I prefer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2014

      This is a great recipe for an authentic Cuban sandwich, which is an Ybor City / Tampa original, unlike those salami-less pretenders from Miami. It's hard to make it just right anywhere besides the W. Central Florida, though, because its hard to find good Cuban bread anywhere else. Alternative bread can't be too fluffy, and it has to have a thick enough crust that it hold together during the heating/pressing process. Speaking of which, when pressing a Cuban, put the heat on low and be patient. It's best to wait until the cheese has just started to melt. Otherwise, you're likely to burn the bread and/or have a cold spot in the middle of the meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2014

      If you want to make this into a true Cuban sandwich substitute the mayonnaise with butter and leave out the salami.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

      Sister#2, having been weaned on a pickle, thought these were fantastic. (weaned on a pickle) I am at this very moment calling to make fun of her.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      This is just like the cuban's I had in Orlando and Key West. Great recipe. Kenny J

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      Perfect! I grew up in Miami, and lived in Little Havana for 4 years. Right on Flagler and 6th. This recipe is perfect. And there IS mayo on the REAL Cuban sandwiches in Miami! Thank you!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

    • on September 03, 2007

      Mayo NEVER goes on a REAL Cuban sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2005

      Delish. Try putting melted butter on the top of bread before grilling. I like to skip the mayo and use butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2003

      This is my second time making this I guess I just forgot to rate the first time.I skipped the salami. And I pressed the sandwhich my cast iron pan as a weight. very close to my version of a cuban sanwich. Grilled Sandwiches Grilled Sandwiches (Cuban Style)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cuban Sandwich - a Tampa Classic!

    Serving Size: 1 (94 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 211.8
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    58%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 64.8 mg
    21%
    Sodium 556.6 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 19.7 g
    39%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Cuban bread

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes