Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cuban Ropa Vieja - Crock Pot (Oamc) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cuban Ropa Vieja - Crock Pot (Oamc)

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2010

      I just made this today and the only thing I did differently was to add 2 packets of Goya Sazon. it is fabulous! Really tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      yummy!! first time trying this, it was very good, I did add more garlic and a bay leaf!! The leftovers tasted even better, I didn't have beef broth, so I used chicken broth!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      This turned out quite nice. I had just a little over 1 lb of meat - not sure exactly what kind of beef - but I used pretty much the full quantity of veggies, and omitted the tomato paste. I used a red pepper instead of green. I changed to procedure to deglaze the skillet with the broth (used chicken broth). I suspect that "someone" added some hot sauce, as mine was spicier than I thought it would be. It was very nice with a warm flour tortilla. I added the cilantro to the shredded meat. I got three servings with 1 lb of meat and the additional vegetables.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      This was amazing! I've given the recipe to everyone I know!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      Very good recipe! I increased the garlic and added cayenne pepper because we like the spice. It was a little too 'soupy' (runny) to put in a burrito. So we served it over rice. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      This was the BEST recipe, and so easy! Very authentic too. The first time I had ropa veija was in a Cuban restaurant in Coconut Grove in Miami--awesome! I made very few changes--it's important to let the meat come to room temperature before you pan sear it (I added a little sea salt and cracked pepper before searing, and did about 3 mins a side). I put the meat in the crockpot, then lightly tossed the garlic, onion, pepper, tomato sauce and used half a can of tomato paste (instead of a whole can) in the same pan with the cumin to combine it before pouring it on top of the meat. I added extra cumin (about an additional 2 teaspoons) and doubled the garlic because we like it, and I added one can of petite diced tomatoes to the mix because when I have this dish in restaurants it includes pieces of tomato throughout. I added additional fresh cilantro because we like it (about 3 Tablespoons altogether) and cooked it for 8 hours on low in the crock pot. I served this as they do in Cuban restaurants with white rice, low sodium black beans seasoned with sauteed onion and garlic, splash of wine and oregano (from the Goya can recipe), lime wedges, sweet plaintains, and tortillas and included additional chopped cilantro on the side for those who like it. Will definitely be making this again--made for a wonderful Sunday dinner and had yummy leftovers as well. Note: I updated this rating to indicate that using 1/2 a can of tomato paste was an improvement, especially since I add a can of chopped diced tomatoes as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      Took quite a bit longer to cook than I thought(about14 hours) in a good slow cooker.
      Needed a bit of hot sauce when it was done. But otherwise very simple to make and came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      First off I want to say, I love this dish. I used a blender to chop up a can of diced tomatoes and I used 4 tablespoons of tomato paste(from my freezer stock), and a bullion cube. I also added a teaspoon of cumin. I used a pot roast which was a bit over 2 pounds. I am freezing left overs for husband and I so we can enjoy it again soon. I served with lime cilantro rice, black beans, and homemade tortillas. I thought there might be a vinegar taste but there wasnt at all, which pleased my husband. I would highly recommend this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      I made this for OAMC cooking. My family really liked it and it was very moist despite being left in the slow cooker for 8 hours. Next time I make it I will probably add more garlic, cumin, coriander and chilies. I served it with rice, black beans and plantains. Thanks for sharing; it's a great slow cooker recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      Yummy!! we ate this for a week or two! omitted tomato paste, used poblano pepper instead of green bell, added more cilantro, a little water, a tsp or so of roasted cumin, about 6 cloves of garlic, and dumped in a small can of minced jalapenos. also pre-seasoned flanks with gourmet burger seasoning before grilling. a great go to recipe to prep just a lil bit and dumping in the crockpot for 10 hours. camper smelled WONDERFUL!! served with rice, beans, and shredded cheese in warm tortillas. thanks, Brenda for a super recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      My family wasn't very impressed with this recipe but I thought it had alot of potential. I felt it was a bit bland but I think next time I make it I'll add a can of jalapenos or chilis. It was better the second day and really good over a baked potato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      I enjoyed this dish quite a bit. I made three subtle changes: 1) I seasoned the beef with Adobo seasoning before browning, 2) I added a packet of sazon to the sauce, and 3) I added some water at the end to thin it out a bit. Next time I make this dish I will use less tomato paste. It was a bit overpowering. Otherwise, a great meal (served with rice and black beans) that my 3 year old loved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      I made this in the crock pot with a frozen steak and it turned out great. The meat probably would have been more moist if I had seared it but it still tasted good. It was really hard to shred and I ended up just chopping it instead. I also would add the cilantro at the end or save some because that flavor was lost in the stewing. Thanks for a unique dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      This was ok but I wouldn't make it again. Flank steak is too expensive. This needed something, perhaps more spices, vinegar and olives. It doesn't taste cuban as is, the tomato paste overpowers. Also the cilantro flavor is lost when cooked, I would add it upon serving. I would have preferred to cook an additional hour if I had the time, after 4 hours on high it was still a little tough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      This was absolutely delicious! I left out the cilantro to fit my taste, but left everything else the same. It had plenty of flavor and the leftovers made great burritos the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Was disappointed with this recipe. Flavor was ok but bland. This needs some spices. Beef was tender as is most meat that is cooked for extended time in crockpot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      This is delicious and very easy to put together! Picky DH was amazed at how tender and "shreddable" the beef ended up! We served with tortillas, sour cream, and salsa. Thanks, Brenda! Made for PAC Fall '09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      Added dash of cumin and some salt and pepper. Was big hit and super easy. Definitely need some good cuban bread to soak every last drop.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      This is a good basic recipe. I will continue to look for other Ropa Vieja recipes, but, DH asked that I keep this and tweak it before I totally give up on it. The cooking technique/time was off for me also- like other reviewers, I needed to cook it about an hour longer to get it shreddable. I did, however, use London Broil, so maybe that is why. The sauce was just tangy/tomato/bland. I would add sofrito perhaps rather than tomato paste next time. I added adobo, but will do even more of that next time. This also needs some salt/pepper and also a bit more garlic. Still, it did 'hit the spot.' Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cuban Ropa Vieja - Crock Pot (Oamc)

    Serving Size: 1 (223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 293.4
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    43%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 91.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 491.7 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 33.1 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes