Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cuban Ropa Vieja

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 05, 2010

      Just like I remembered frm Childhood!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      This dish is delicious!!! Made it for dinner tonight. My meat and potatoes husband loved it! Served it with most excellent mexican rice and pico de gallo on the side. This one is a keeper. Thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      Great crockpot recipe! We found this to be great as is, wrapped in a tortilla, or even served over rice! Thank you for posting a very simple, easy dish that everyone from my 18 month old all the way up to the adults could enjoy! I didn't find this dish spicy at all which is great because I can't stand spicy hot things. Made for ZWT5.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      Excellent recipe, this is wonderful, full of flavor and easy to make!! I followed the idea of Tiny bubbles and did the same thing and it was fantastic!! ZWT5

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Wonderful dish! And even better the next day! The only sub I made was a red pepper instead of the green (all I had in the fridge).We had it in tortillas. It was a little too much sauce (it was rather messy!), but would be perfect over rice. Will have this again. Thnx for posting, Lavender Lynn. Made for ZWT5 for RRR

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2013

      wonderful dish - served over rice. Made as directed, skipping the cilantro. Very good and easy! Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT 9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      So good!!!!! Pretty easy to put together. We served with rice and peas and corn on the cob. Made for ZWT 9.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      Great recipe. I Added a little more tomatoe paste to thicken it up, Some homemade sofrito for added flavor and stuffed olives. I served it with white rice one day and used it for tacos the next. My picky 5yr old loved this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2011

      Pretty good. Would make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

      This is so delicious and full of flavor, I made as written with a couple of adjustments, I seasoned the flank steaks with Cavendar's All Purpose Greek Seasoning before I browned them. I also added another green pepper and added more onion, garlic and white vinegar, cooked on low for about 7 hours and the meat was so tender that it shredded very easily. Thanks for posting such a wonderful recipe. Made for the ALL YOU CAN COOK BUFFET - SPECIAL EVENT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      my husband loved it!! I added capers and oregano and even sprinkled some curry over the top put it in the pressure cooker for 30 minutes!! delicioso!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2010

      I usually double the vegetables in most recipes; for this one, I used 1 large onion, 2 bell peppers, and 3 mushrooms. Very yummy, and has that flavor we love from our favorite Cuban restaurant! Makes excellent Cuban sandwiches ... My husband is happy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      We really enjoyed this! I let it simmer in the crock pot all day on low and came home to delicious burritos! I used a ball tip steak which was on sale and had fabulous results with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      Perfect balance of flavors and cooking in the crock pot is a major plus for me. As mentioned before it isn't super spicy but a great start of a recipe that you could make variations of. Made for ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      This is the absolute BEST recipe for a spicy shredded beef. I put it in flour tortillas, wrapped tightly, brushed with melted butter, and baked so they'd crisp on the outside. With cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, and sour cream on top it was perfect! Will keep this recipe for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      yummy yummy yummy, put it all in the crock put, added a scotch bonnet to give some heat (just 3 slices of one) and let it cook overnight. Also added some jerk seasoning to one half after it was cooked, that was delicious as well

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cuban Ropa Vieja

    Serving Size: 1 (298 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 392.7
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    43%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 122.4 mg
    40%
    Sodium 656.3 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 44.2 g
    88%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites