Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cuban Roast Pork Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cuban Roast Pork

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on March 10, 2003

      This was outstanding! We grilled this on the outdoor gas grill after marinating about a day. Everyone thought it was delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2004

      I have made this 5 times now, and have stumbled upon a process that has proven to be BETTER than the "authentic" Cuban Roast Pork. Follow this recipe, EXCEPT....marinate for no less than 48 hours, turning halfway to ensure the whole thing is marinated. I only drain out the liquid...none of the spices or onions, and I bake it that way. I also baked it at 200 degrees for about 7 hours, covered with aluminum foil. The eighth hour, I pull it out, and suck out the MAJORITY of the liquid with a turkey baster, and I RESERVE THIS LIQUID for making my rice later on....this makes EXCELLENT tasting rice for black beans!! Finally, I take two forks and I shred the pork and spread it out in the pan. I spoon it's own drippings over it, (grease), and then I put it under the broiler on HIGH until it starts to get some "crispies". I turn it a few times and keep doing this...then it's ready to eat!! WOW!!!!! You will NOT be disappointed if you take the time to do this!!! Because of the time involved, I generally do two roasts at a time and just double the recipe...it preserves VERY well! ENJOY!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2003

      WOW! What an awesome recipe. We also grilled our roast. It was sooo... flavorful. The onions we mixed with other vegetables and grilled when roast was done. It was a hit with my whole family. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      I added more garlic and use 1/4 cup of lemon juice and 1/4 cup of lime juice. While roasting basted roast with a mild chilpolte sauce. I used the roast to make cuban sandwich. Great recipe for sandwich @ Three guys from Miami.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2005

      Oh this was so good! I followed the directions and the ingredients and it came out perfect. My family raved about how tender and flavorful it was. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2004

      Excellent flavor in the marinade. Very dynamic. I marinated overnight just like you suggested and follwed your cooking directions. The meat was extremely tender and well flavored. I had a fruit salsa, black beans, and salad to go with it. YUM!! Thanks crabbycakes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2003

      Family loved this. Marinated for 24 hr. 1.5 LB roast cooked on grill 1hr. at 325.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2003

      I finely chopped the onions and some of the garlic for the marinade. Instead of discarding it, I put it on top of the roast before baking. Your recipe was delicious, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2012

      This smelled so good while it was cooking. I made this to go on Cuban sandwiches. I made it in the morning and I couldn't stop munching on it while it cooled. So good. I will marinate my pork roast alot with this mixture. So good. thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      This recipe is the closest to Cuban roast pork (lechon asado) that I have ever been able to make at home. I think I added more garlic to my 4 lb pork loin and let it marinade for 2 days. I followed Erin Giove's recommendation at the end and it was absolutely delicious! Thanks Crabbycakes for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      OK, for me. A bit bland, but it was tender. I did add a lot more garlic, but it was missing spice for my taste. I made it for a pot luck type of party and it was used for sandwiches. It was well received and very tender. I just didn't find it anything special for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2011

      Having lived in Florida for several years and now living in Texas, I have been craving good Cuban Roast Pork. This recipe was awesome. I let it marinate for more than a day and cooked it for about 7 hours at 275. I used a 9 lb pork shoulder. I saved about a cup of the mojo to mix with the drippings. I did cut the salt down when I tripled the mojo. Served this with yellow rice and black beans, the drippings added flavor to everything! The whole family loved it and the house smelled wonderful as it cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      This is hard to rate, as the pork didn't retain much flavor from the marinade. But I used the pan juices, which included some of the marinade, to make a sauce, which added a lot of flavor. Cooked in the crockpot instead of oven, since it's warm weather now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Thank you for sharing this recipe. I thought the flavor was good but not enough for me to repeat. I marinated for 48 hours as suggested and cooked at 200 for 8 hours and it wasn't as tender as I would have liked. But it was still good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Had this for dinner tonight and wow, a real winner. I really loved the flavors together, especially the citrus and cumin, which is what came through the most to me. I used a 2lb pork loin roast, and left all other measurements for the marinade the same. I marinated mine for about a day and a half, and used the slow cooker for it. Very nice, and what a smell to come home to...all I could do not to attack it with a fork right there. ;) Next time, I will try slow roasting in the oven instead, I think it might "keep together" better. I'd also add more garlic. I served this with cilantro/lime rice and it was a really great combo. Thanks for such a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      We made this with boneless pork loin cutlets, and the flavor was really great. I omitted the salt and utilized the BBQ.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      I marinated the pork about 1 1/2 days, then used the grill and seared both sides then cooked it on high over indirect heat for 1 hr. The combination of flavors had set in by then, and resulted in a very flavorful meat which my BF and I both enjoyed very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      I followed the recipe exactly and, I have to say, I did not like this pork at all. The house smelled HORRIBLE while it was cooking, and the end result was just OK, not great. I'm not sure where the praise for this recipe is coming from, honestly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      I followed the recipe to a T. Marinated overnight, squeezed fresh orange and lime and all the spices. However, we all thought it was a good recipe, not great. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      I made this recipe on my Big Green Egg Smoker for a large gathering (14). I used an 8# pork shoulder roast and followed most of the same directions except I kept temerature at 250 for 8 hours and then just served it as regular roast pork dinner. I made a gravy out of pan drippings. It was falling apart tender and everyone raved about it. I had nothing left. All wanted the recipe. I have done this twice since and had good success each time. I do add more spicier seasoning than lister here. Things like chipotle, ancho, cayenne peppers etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pork Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cuban Roast Pork

    Serving Size: 1 (449 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 509.3
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    25%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 260.8 mg
    86%
    Sodium 1384.5 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 83.8 g
    167%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes