Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cuban Meat Stew (Ropa Vieja) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cuban Meat Stew (Ropa Vieja)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2012

      I used the crockpot for this and served it in corn tortillas. Very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2014

      This was delicious! Absolutely a keeper! I love olives so I will put more olives in the next time I make this. Also will increase the seasoning for my own taste.However it is still so so good as written for anyone wanting to try this for the first time. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe-it's going in the permanent file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2011

      I followed the recipe for somethings, but i decided to disreguard the veggies. I did cook it on the stove top and it came out to be so good and soft , it took about 3 hours to cook . It taste so delicious , and i will deff keep using this recipe :) ... Ill just add the potatoes in it. <3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Followed recipe as listed except I used my presser cooker instead. I cooked over medium-high heat until full pressure was achieved. Then I reduced heat to medium and cooked for 45 minutes. Very tender and tasty! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      I really enjoyed this. It took me a while to get all the ingredients since the local stores don't carry Goya for some stupid reason. However, I have a friend that shops at a military commissary and she was able to purchase everything there. The only change I made was to add red bell peppers instead of green. It's been hot here so I used my crockpot instead of the oven. I served it with steamed rice and cut watermelon. I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Really good. Made my own sofrito from scratch, and didn't have/find sazon goya, but very spicy, without being hot. I think that having a good adobo seasoning is key to this recipe - I used Penzey's. Diane

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      This was VERY authentic! I just mixed all the ingredients for the sauce together, browned the meat, then dumped it all in the crockpot for 6 hours. It came out perfect and was soooo easy. My puerto rican friends said it was just as good as their moms'!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      Very tasty. We loved this recipe. I halved it and there was enough for my husband and I for two nights. I tweaked a bit b/c I thought it was a tad bland as written: I seasoned the steaks with onion and garlic powder, salt and pepper, and then added additional ground black pepper and garlic powder to the dish as it stewed. Once you are ready to shred the meat, I'd recommend cutting it into bite-size pieces and then shredding, b/c long shredded pieces are difficult to eat (picture spaghetti). I omitted the capers and increased the sliced green olives, which I felt were KEY to this dish. I served over white rice, with plantains sprinkled with cinnamon as a side, and salad as an appetizer. Thank you so much for posting this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      I have made this about 3-4 times already since I printed this recipe on 11/29/2007 and I love love love it! My husband (a Cuban food connoisseur) says this is the most authentic ropa vieja he's had and his grandmother loved it, which made me feel really great because she is Dominican and for her to say I cook great Hispanic food was a real confidence booster. Only things I changed were: I used chuck roast instead of flank steak and I omitted the capers (and the green peppers were omitted one time per DH's request). Thanks for this ciao!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I made this New Year's Eve and it was outstanding. I didn't want to spend much time cooking so I used the crockpot for 8 hours on low after browning the meat. I like my ropa vieja thicker so used only two cups of water and then removed the sauce to simmer and thicken it up further before serving. I didn't bother adding the olives or capers. Trust me, it doesn't need it. I completed the meal with yellow rice, Goya's black bean recipe, and fried plantains. I definitely will be making this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      This was sooooooooo good! Nothing is more frustrating than spending hours to make something and it not coming out as good as you had hoped, but this one was great! Lots of good reviews from the fam! Tasted better that my yummy little favorite cuban restaurant! thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2006

      We made this tonight - based on a different recipe. We were going to post it and found yours! We only used one cup of water and let this simmer for about an hour. We loved it over white rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2004

      I really loved this. I used my pressure cooker though because I didn't have the extended amount of time. It worked great and the flavor was awesome. Enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      I was excited to find this recipe. My husband and I used to order Ropa Vieja at a little restaurant in Honolulu, HI. We loved it. I halved the olive oil and next time will probably just use cooking spray. I also doubled the olives. We served it over brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cuban Meat Stew (Ropa Vieja)

    Serving Size: 1 (349 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 422.9
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    48%
    Total Fat 22.7 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 128.6 mg
    42%
    Sodium 620.6 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 42.1 g
    84%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sofrito sauce

    sazon goya with coriander and annatto

    pimento-stuffed green olives

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites