Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cuban Black Beans and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cuban Black Beans and Rice

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2007

      Thanks so much for this recipe! When I was very small, I had a Cuban foster brother who stayed with us until the rest of his family could get out of Cuba. When his family made it to America, "Grandma" would make this dish and I fell in love with it! My mother recently passed and took this recipe with her. The only things I did differently is added cumin (MUST have), a tad bit of worcestershire, and no red wine vinegar (didn't have any). Also, Grandma used a hamhock instead of bacon. I used bacon (no hamhocks handy). Thanks again for a great recipe and a wonderful trip down memory lane.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      Wow! This was outstanding! I didn't have enough time to use the dried black beans so I subbed with a can of well-rinsed black beans. I also left out the green pepper as it repeats on DH, and took Kittencal's advice on adding the extra garlic and chopped jalapenos. Topped it with the green onions and sour cream and served with Cuban Spiced Pork Chops (Cuban Spiced Pork Chops) and turnip greens. DH said the meal was excellent. Thanks Carol, this recipe is definitely a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      I'd give this 20 stars if I could. Never in my life have I had beans this delicious. I could just eat them out of the pot with a spoon! I omitted the bacon, used a light vegetable broth instead of water, and added some butter in at the end (sounds odd, but it was just what the beans needed). It takes some time to cook them all down, but it's definitely worth the effort.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      Since I have a love for black beans, I had to try this recipe, really the only change I made was I increased the bacon and the garlic to 2 tbsps. and added in 2 seeded and finely chopped jalepeno peppers as we love spicy. Into my favorites file it goes to make again, Thank you for sharing this great bean recipe Carole!...Kitten:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2012

      Next time you make this invite me to dinner so I can come to your house and further ignore my empty pantry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2012

      Great for a side dish to Cuban Picadillo. I already had black beans cooked so just added those later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      Loved this recipe. It was just what I needed to go with the marinated pork. I did substitute 2 cans of beans for the lb of dry because I was short on time. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      When I was a child I got a recipe from a Cuban friend's mom, and this tastes just like what I remember. There were no leftovers! This is a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      Great recipe - works perfectly and tastes great. I ended up with just the right consistency. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      Exceptional, my guests raved about it, would make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      This was good. It took a lot of time but was very easy and I liked how the beans stayed whole. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      My son-in-law spent a year in Costa Rica and he loved this recipe! He said it tasted similar to the beans and rice he ate at almost every dinner there. Although there was several cups of juice after cooking the required 2 hours, the beans were soft and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      Yum, Yum, Yum!!!!! What a wonderful and easy recipe. I made it to accompany Cuban Asada. Fabulous!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2005

      I had a little trouble making this, after simmereing for 2 hours I still had a lot of liquid left. Also the beans were kind of hard and there was not a lot of flavor. My Cuban wife saved the day by lightly boiling out some of the water and seasoning with Adobo all-purpose seasoning. Also, my wife's mother said that I should soak the beans overnight in water to make them plump and tender or us a pressure cooker next time. Other than that the taste was authentic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2004

      Very good beans and rice. I topped it with Cuban Picadillo #93592 but if eating this without a spicy topping I would add some seasonings as suggested by Heather U. My beans were tender after only 1 hour so I just drained off the excess liquid and continued by adding the rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2004

      Delicious, carole! I used about 2 1/2 c cooked black beans and only 1 tsp olive oil for sauteing the onion and garlic. I left out the bacon and bell pepper (used my only one earlier to make an avocado corn salsa!), and added 2 tsp ground cumin, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, and chicken bouillon for a little zip. Topped it with fresh cilantro, chopped scallions, and stuffed manzanilla olives. How do you say "yum!" in Espanol??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      I enjoyed this many times in the past. Its awesome! I do leave out the red wine vinegar and the bacon(because I'm vegetarian). I love the green onion topping, that is wonderful! We enjoy this with low-fat plain yogurt! What a wonderful meal! From one girl in Orlando to another," Thank you so much for sharing"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cuban Black Beans and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 511.7
     
    Calories from Fat 179
    35%
    Total Fat 19.9 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 0.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 412.9 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.4 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 12.6 g
    50%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 18.5 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes