Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cuban Black Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cuban Black Beans

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2009

      These are nice for a change of pace -- no one raved about them, but they were good. I made a huge batch and froze some for later. I think these will be great on a blustery day. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      I made this recipe and we LOVED it. It has been decided that we will never use a different recipe. I used a leftover pork roast in place of the shanks, that worked out very well. This recipe converted a person who hated beans!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Next time I make this I'm inisisting on ALL the garnishes. Used canned tomatoes and ham shanks. Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      This can also be made using smoked turkey wings, which are available at some markets. It came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      It tasted just like home! I'm Puerto Rican, but at home, my grandmother made cuban black beans also! I used por tenderloin instead of shanks because of my diet. I also sprinkled a packet of sazón for extra flavor and it tasted wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      Delicious! I added a smoked pork tenderloin into mine. To serve, I put shredded mexican blended cheese on top along with crushed tortilla chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      I made these for a potluck at my son's school. I didn't have any pork shanks, so I used bacon instead. This is a delicious and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      Love these beans! I used 2 roma tomatoes, 1 whole green pepper instead of red and green, regular oregano, and 1/2 teaspoon ground allspice because that is what I had. I used 1 ham bone, leftover in the freezer) which was plenty. Now I will try freezing some individual portions for DD's lunchbox.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      Awesome. Brings me back to Miami. I ran out of thyme and subbed a can of green chiles for the green bell pepper ( they are tasteless to me)but otherwise the same recipe. I did double it and cooked it on the stovetop. Next time I will add less water as I had to cook it longer reduce it. Thanks for the traditional Cuban recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cuban Black Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 130.4
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    27%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 90.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    smoked pork shanks

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites