Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cuban Black Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cuban Black Beans

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2013

      I have tried several Cuban Black Bean recipes and this was by far the best! It got rave reviews at home and an empty bowl at a potluck. I like to rate recipes for themselves without changes, but just as an FYI, I did use a red bell pepper and half the oil, and they were still incredible!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2010

      Delicious. I've never had Cuban Black Beans, but these were great. I added chopped carrots, and skipped the wine. The vinegar was great - I tried it before and after - definitely better after. It rounds out the flavor with slightly sweet notes, and brings out the other flavors. I added salt until it tasted right, but it was definitely less than 4 Tbs. (maybe 1-2 tsp). Wonderful served as a vegetarian meal, with some rice. Also very good wrapped in a tortilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      I've made these multiple times, once with no changes, and the other times, I reduce the olive oil to 1/4 cup and reduce salt to 2 teaspoons, for lower fat and sodium. It tastes just as good with these adjustments. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      These are so, so delicious. The oldest recipes are sometimes the best, right? I added more water to mine, because I like mine more soupy. My husband likes them thicker, so I add less water when I make these for him. I also added a little bit of Cumin, I love the flavor of cumin with black beans. I also add small pieces of smoked sausage because my husband likes meat in his beans and it is really good! I serve these beans with Jasmine rice, really good. Thank you for the delicious beans, I make them several times per month!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      This was my first time to ever cook a pot of beans. I was scared out of my mind but this came out successfully and I'm encouraged to try other beans, perhaps pinto. The only thing I would do differently next time is to buy quality beans, not a store brand. Canned beans are so pricey so I'm happy I can now do them from scratch. Thanks Engrossed! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      These were excellent. It was labor intensive but most of the time was passive cooking (simmering for an hour, etc.) so I didn't have to be standing over the stove for hours. You definitely must plan ahead for these so I'll still make canned "short cut" beans but this was a great treat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      I don't know what went wrong. I followed the directions meticulously, and after I added my dry seasonings, I covered the pot and left it to boil (actually had it on Med). Imagine my surprise when billows of smoke began pouring out of my pot. Inedibly scorched :(. I had to totally rethink dinner tonight and it's a shame b/c these were smelling so tasty (well, until they burned!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      This was a very tasty black bean recipe! I left out the bell pepper (DH doesn't like) and forgot the olive oil, and next time, would leave out the vinegar/wine step. I wanted to cook them ahead of time, so used a quick soak method for the beans instead of soaking overnight. After soaking, it took about 4 hours to finish them. I reheated in the oven for dinner tonight. I served wtih pork tacos, but I'm sure it would be good served over rice. We have a LOT leftover, so I'm going to throw some in the freezer. thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      I love, love, love this recipe. I have made it time and time again. I shared it with some friends, and they asked for the recipe, and now they make them as well. I did make a few alterations, I reduced the salt, added carrot and omited the sugar and most of the olive oil. Served over cilantro lime rice, fab fab fab!! It is my go to recipe for black beans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      Every now and then I like to flex my cooking muscle and do something considered old a new way. Adding sugar to beans in Cajun country is nothing new, so I was okay with that, but the addition of vinegar and/or wine to beans is unique. In my neck of the woods, it's more fashionable to drink the wine and vinegar is...ummm well, maybe used in salads. Adding the acidics most certainly produces a more complex flavor for the humble bean resulting in a mighty fine dish. Oh, my cooking muscle thanks you, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      This was terrific. I started with a bag of dried beans and followed the recipe - but did add some carrot and a jalapeno. Served it over rice. Everyone loved it. Will make again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      This sounded so good that I had to make it right away. I followed the recipe, except that I added about 1/2 C. of chopped baby carrots and 1 chopped jalapeno, seeds and membrane removed. I served it with a mound of rice in the middle and some chopped tomato and cilantro...this is a real keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      this recipe rocks!!! I too used canned black beans, but they still came out very flavorful. All of the guests at my dinner party asked for the recipe... thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      I made this using 1 can of black beans so didn't follow the first 4 steps. i reduced all the other ingredients accordingly. This is a fabulous vegetarian main course or side dish. I'll definitely be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      I absolutely agree. I being latin woman have tried many recipes in order to find the best Cuban Black Beans I can serve to my friends and family. The only thing I would add extra is maybe a ham bone or some cooked bacon if your guests are not vegetarians. It would add a smokey yummy flavor. But this recipe is easy and delicious

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      These were really good black beans. I used only a fraction of the oil and I was too lazy to add the wine and vinegar. (Actually I took a bite and they were so good I didn't want to even mess with them!) My dad went home with the recipe in his hand. Thank you Engrossed!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      This recipe is too salty!! I can't believe nobody submitted this comment. My boyfriend was suspicious of the 4 teaspoons salt, I had already lowered it to 3.5 tsp, But it's not enough. I would try only 2 teaspoons of salt. The other flavors seem nice, but I can hardly tell due to overwhelming saltiness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2013

      These are some of the best beans ever! The only changes I made was to lower the olive oil to 2 Tbs total, used a red bell pepper rather than greeen and I didn't have any Bay Leaf so left it out. I don't know that those two things could make these better, but will use the bay leaf next time. I made these for later in the week, and will be serving over rice. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      Very tasty. It does take a long time to make, but most of that time it is simmering on the stove so you don't have to do much. I quick-soaked the beans by putting them in water, bringing to a boil, then turning off the heat and putting a lid on, let it sit for about an hour. I substituted an Aneheim chili insetad of one of the bell peppers and liked the spice. Next time I will likely do two bell peppers and one jalapeno. I used only 1 Tbsp wine, maple syrup for the sugar, and omitted the last 2 Tbsp olive oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      We are not real huge bean fans but we really enjoyed these. That being said, they are an all day project to make. And mine took even longer than what the recipe stated, because they weren't done. Thanks for a surprisingly good dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cuban Black Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (435 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 404.9
     
    Calories from Fat 200
    49%
    Total Fat 22.2 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1169.3 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.8 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 9.5 g
    38%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes