35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow Loved this...I am making more tomorrow because I only had enough ginger to make a half batch yesterday and I ended up adoring it so much I need to make more so bought a whole batch more today- I usually have a bit around for juicing but now I will buy it in bigger bunches (never paid attention to the weight much before)...lovely as a after din- tummy settling sucker and the syrup is so nice in tea...I can not wait to play with this more and use the 3 results in all sorts of things...reminds me of the treat from the Health Food store by the "Ginger People" 'cept way better- Thanks ~Rita~ this is my favorite new thing!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free January 06, 2009

OMG This is great. I just finished tossing in sugar and of course had to try it. This is so wonderful. I thought I had bought a lot of ginger but I only had 5 oz. so used 1 c. sugar but 1/4 c. water. I may have cooked it a little longer than suggested but it turned out so nice. Looking forward to eating as is or in baked goods such as Pumpkin Ginger Scones With Cinnamon Chips.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 02, 2010

I was quite afraid of attempting this on my own, but miraculously pulled it off! These make such sweet spicy treats, perfect for the Ginger Spice cookies I needed the crystallized ginger for - which would have cost me $6 bucks for a tiny container at the store! I, too, had absolutely no syrup left over at first, the sugar was crusted all over the pan which was kind of disheartening... but after I rescued all the ginger pieces and put the loose sugar in a couple of shakers we have, I reconstituted the sugar crust with a few teaspoons of water, and reheated until liquid, so I could pour it out and put in the fridge. Mine came out a little tougher looking than the pictures that are already here, but that could easily be my own fault! Very good, though!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indigo! September 07, 2007

Great recipe! I'll use this again and again. We love crystallized ginger. Besides cooking with it, my 5 year-old thinks it's a special treat and begs for it after school. I doubled the recipe then overcooked it, ending up with all sugar, no syrup left. Luckily, the sugar is absolutely fantastic in black or green tea. Thanks, Rita, for sharing the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 25, 2006

Very tasty. I chose this recipe because I was looking for a recipe to make ginger syrup. I highly recommend using ginger syrup in any fruit punch (hot or cold), especially if you are having to cater for not-particularly-willing non-drinkers (e.g. the driver amongst your visitors). Try it with hot apple juice in colder weather - fantastic.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hannah V August 14, 2006

excellent recipe, thank you!do anyone have a tip about cutting de ginger root? thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marilivm August 05, 2006

One word about this is you have to try this. Excellant. I chose make this for Blueberry Snack Mix Blueberry Snack Mix. I too found myself eating this out of the pan. The flavor is something else.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE June 29, 2006

I am forever losing ginger due to the fact that I do not know how to store it, so, I gave this recipe a try and am glad I did. The syrup is TDF and the ginger is like eating candy.Like the other reviewer said...."what syrup" as I too found myself eating it out of the pan with a spoon.Thank you Rita.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
@ngdarlen November 28, 2005

What a fabulous recipe! This made the best sugar. We are having an Iron Chef type competition and our ingredient is ginger. I've used the ginger sugar in all of my recipes. I'm using the crystalized ginger as garnishment. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chella September 28, 2005

This is much better than a recipe I found elsewhere .. The idea of using the sugar and syrup is wonderful! Thank you so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa September 20, 2005
Crystallized Ginger , Ginger Syrup & Ginger Sugar