Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crystallized Ginger Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crystallized Ginger

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2001

      Thanks Diana!! Finally got to try it, it went over big!! You're right about the hand slapping. I have hidden the rest for Christmas. Well worth doing, if not a little time comsumming. Love it and didn't change a thing, even did the sugar extra swirl. Thanks again for a good one!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2001

      Nice recipe. I made it with old ginger the first time so it was too spicy. but it was tasty nonetheless. I dusted some cinnamon along with the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2002

      i swear, someone slipped some sort of addictive narcotics into the ginger.... so delicious!! i didn't stir nearly constantly, and it seemed to turn out a-ok. i will definately be making this again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2001

    • on March 17, 2004

      I shook the sticky ginger in a ziplock bag until I could feel that the pieces were coated then continued drying on racks. The remaining sugar had a good scent of ginger so I kept that to use in other recipes. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2003

      This is yummy. My ginger was older too, so it was strong. I have been using it chopped up in oatmeal cookies and other places where raisins could be used. Oh so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2002

      very nice. anyone can make this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      I didn't want to spend what the stores were asking just to find out if I like crystallized ginger, so made this recipe and LOVE it! I used very fresh ginger, but it was naturally spicy so the candies are also. I put the syrup (without further cooking to reduce it) over vanilla ice cream and we loved that too! If the ginger weren't so spicy I would have reduced the syrup just a bit, but this way even those in the family who don't like spicy stuff can eat it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      My grandmother loves this stuff (and so do I), but it's expensive to buy in the store. Fresh ginger, however, is DIRT CHEAP so I made her a huge batch of this for Christmas, and also bottled the remaining syrup in a jar for her to use as it too was delicious! Great recipe - Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      Oh I just love this stuff! I used 1 cup of ginger, next time will do more. Easy, and makes a great snack!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2004

      This is wonderful; excellent. Fresh ginger is key. And then, after you make it, if you take some of the ginger coins and drizzle some melted semi sweet chocolate over them, you have the perfect food!! 25 stars for this

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2004

      This recipe is great. As a expat living in Indonesia i can get lots of lovely fresh ginger, but cannot buy crystallised ginger, so when i saw this recipe i tried it straight away. Results smashing, great to decorate ginger bread. Thanks Dibs

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      Absolutely wonderful - and a very easy recipe. Add a piece to a chai tea latte for a special treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crystallized Ginger

    Serving Size: 1 (0 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites