Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crystal Ornaments (Borax) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crystal Ornaments (Borax)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2008

      We loved these! Our favorites were the candy canes my daughter made by twisting red and white together--more than one guest tried to take them off the tree to nibble on! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      I just saw this on a forum and decided to try it since I have Borax at home. We used the chenile type pipe cleaners and the regular ones and the chenile ones turned out prettier - more for the crystals to cling to I guess. I used 1/3 C borax for 2 cups water and got smaller crystals, left over night. Then I used 2/3 C for 3 C of water and got larger crystals after 3 hours. The kids were excited to do it. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      Lots of fun with pretty results. These are great for young children since the crystals form so much quicker than salt or sugar crystals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Thank you so much for this recipe. My children and I had a great time creating beautiful ornaments and some fond Christmas memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      I really enjoyed making these. thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      I too found out how to do these ornaments on another forum. They are fast, easy, and cheap to do. They turn out beautifully. I'm going to take your tip and spray them with acrylic spray. These really are pretty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      I use 3 T. borax per cup boiling water. Add a couple drops blue food coloring or Mrs. Smith's blueing to make really cool snowflakes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      I used this as my homemade gift this year for Christmas gifts. They were very easy to make and everyone wanted to know where I had purchased them. They couldn't believe that they were homemade. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      I have made these ornaments many times with my children, church groups, and school classes. In addition to the time the ornaments are allowed to sit...the rate of cooling also plays a role. If the ornaments cool slowly, say at room temperature, the crystals have time to form larger complete crystals. If you like smaller crystals, cool them quicker by placing them outside or in the garage (if you are using glass jars, put a towel or newspaper underneath to keep the hot jar from breaking)the faster it cools the smaller the crystals. Very fast cooling looks like snow. UPDATE: We tried the clear acrylic spaypaint last Christmas 2005...It worked great. We made so many we tried coffee cans instead of jars. You have to adjust the amounts, but it worked great and makes it easier to remove the 3D ornaments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crystal Ornaments (Borax)

    Serving Size: 1 (168 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pipe cleaners

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes