Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crusty Whole Wheat Italian Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crusty Whole Wheat Italian Bread

    Average Rating:

    96 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-96 of 96

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2006

      This was a great bread! Mine did not rise so much (I dont know why), but still it tasted perfect. Thank you for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      This bread was tasty, but not crusty as you would expect an Italian bread to be. To me, more like bread that pops out of a can and you bake. Not that I don't love that bread, but just not as crusty and homemade tasting as I would have hoped for. Love the whole wheat content.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      Love this bread! Very easy to make. Used the Kitchen Aid mixer to knead. My very picky dh loved it and asked me to make him some more. Even my kids love it and they don't like whole wheat bread. Very crispy crust, moist center. Great tasting. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      Pretty good, I think the crust could be a little more crisp. I baked for 20 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      This is a very nice recipe .. Tender interior but not as tasty as I would like it to be .. thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      This is the best bread I have made and I bake all the time! It was very moist with a wonderful chewy crust. I received many compliments on it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      The best crust I have had. Chewy but not too thick. I made the whole thing in the ABM. I know I'm lazy. It was lopsided but still was good. I made in the machine that is shaped more like a reg. pan and have found sometime I need to move my dough around before it starts to bake. I never checked on it once I turned the machine on. It makes wonderful toast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2005

      Nice flavor and texture. The proportion of wet and dry ingredients was just right and the dough was easy to handle. I added sesame seeds on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      I made this bread today in one large rustic loaf. Well, it was half eaten before I could even get a picture! It was light and tasty. Thanks for a keeper in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2005

      Fab! I made this with 3 cups of whole wheat flour, as i am trying to cut down on my white flour intake...I formed the risen dough into one large round loaf, and after the 45 minute second rise, baked at 400ºF for 31 minutes, and the crust was insanely crisp, and the moist bread inside made me weep! :'''''-) EXCELLENT! A++++++ _Joanna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2005

      Fabulous. Great taste and presentation. The only problem I had was I think I rushed the 2nd raising a little because the bread was still in swirls from where it had been rolled up (like cinnamon rolls). Next time I'll give it a little extra time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2005

      This was very easy to make, and tasted great. I used about a tbsp of fresh ginger instead of the ground, and while it was rising I was afraid that it was too much, but the finished taste was perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      This was a great bread! Very easy to make, even by hand. My brother who only likes "white bread" thought this was great. This will be made often, I think this will be great as sandwich or hamburger buns too. Thanks Donna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2005

      I made this bread this morning to use for club house sandwiches. I hope it lasts til supper. Every time I go in the kitchen my DH is eating a piece. An excellent recipe for my ABM. Thanks. It's a keeper. ML

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2005

      Wonderfully crusted bread with a soft and delicious interior. I mixed and "kneaded" the dough in the food processor with a dough blade so this was very easy to make even without a bread machine. Loved the look of the floured top crusts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2004

      Excellent bread! I served it will spaghetti and meatballs, and i was so great dipped in the sauce. Pretty easy recipe, too. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 5 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crusty Whole Wheat Italian Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (45 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 92.4
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    57%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 220.0 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes