96 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was the best whole wheat recipe I have found. It had a crisp crust which I loved.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WW Girl September 22, 2008

I didn't use the ginger in mine as I was making to go with a pasta dish as the main course. Loved the chewy texture and crust on this bread! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri T Is Me August 25, 2008

excellent! ...and we are picky. Made exactly as directed without the ginger, as I didn't have it, but would like to try it that way. Loved the crustiness. Made the dough in the breadmaker, and then baked in two small loaves for 18 minutes. Thanks for an awesome recipe addition to our collection!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aspiringourmet August 14, 2008

This was good and really easy! Made a great garlic bread! (I also opted out of the ground ginger but it has me curious.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christiejm August 11, 2008

This was absolutely stunning! And how easy in the bread machine with finishing in the oven? Our fussy 2 year old ate 2 thick pieces with heaps of butter and ignored the outstanding lasagna that went along with it (much to my chagrin). We omitted ginger and substituted 1 tsp oregano plus 1 tsp basil. Note - both were very heaped tsps as our 5-yr-old added the herbs. Used 1 tbsp (15ml) yeast since we don't have packages and I had to guestimate. Rose BEAUTIFULLY both times. 2 loaves at 160deg cel in fan forced oven for 22 minutes. This will be a staple in our house! Thank you very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieD Oz June 28, 2008

Very tasty. IMO a bit too dense and sweet to dip in vinegar. I liked it better with butter and can't wait to try it with honey in the morning. Recipe made a very nice springy dough and when baked had a nice crust. I think I prefer white bread for my Italian meals, but this is a great bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hadice May 18, 2008

Donna, I've been telling myself for ages that I was going to try cooking with yeast and finally worked up the courage to get started. This was a fantastic recipe to start with - came together well and produced a very tasty bread which we just demolished. Thanks for sharing - this is going to be made a couple of times a week at least!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helen Hes May 18, 2008

What more can be said about this bread? It's got great flavor. Tender but chewy inside with a crusty chewy crust, that will make you keep going back for more. I didn't add the ginger, and I used all whole wheat flour. I used my bread machine to mix it and get it ready to go, then made 2 long loaves and baked it in the oven per the instructions. Everyone at the table ate about 3 slices each, so I guess it's a winner! Best whole wheat bread I have attempted to make and I had great success. Thanks Donna!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Maven May 11, 2008

I was looking for a whole wheat bread recipe and after seeing the ratings i decided to give it a try. After baking it, I cancelled my lunch and ate 6-7 slices of this fresh bread with butter and honey and with black tea. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ozlem April 21, 2008
Crusty Whole Wheat Italian Bread