Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crusty Whole Wheat Italian Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crusty Whole Wheat Italian Bread

    Average Rating:

    96 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 96

    Sort by:

    • on February 23, 2011

      The kids loved this one, very nice crust, lovely taste. I used 2 cups whole wheat flour, one cup unbleached all purpose (Canadian). Used the full dough cycle on the ABM. I think I had to add a couple extra tablespoons of flour and I added 4 tablespoons of ground flax. Will definitely be our "go too" bread recipe from now on. Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      Wonderful!!! I used 100% whole wheat flour (I ground it to a fine bread flour consistency), used the bread maker for the kneading and baked it on a stone. The bottom didn't brown, though, so maybe I'll just use a sheet pan next time. But it looks amazing! So good just with butter or dipped in olive oil and balsamic. And my kids are devouring it! Thank you for this great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      This is such a good recipe. I've made it twice now--once following the instructions exactly, and the second subbing semolina for the cornmeal and topping with soymilk & rolled oats instead of water & flour. Both times I was so pleased with the results. This is such an easy recipe for someone not very experienced with breadmaking. I'll definitely use it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2005

      ***** This is an excellent bread with a very nice crispy crust. Perfect for dunking in olive oil! I was most impressed by the way it rose particularly since I used the bread machine to mix the dough. I managed to misplace the second page of instructions and didn't have net access at the time so baked it for 45 minutes at 190 deg C as one big large loaf. Donna, have a go at this one yourself! Definitely worth it! Addit: This is a six star bread. It consistently rises well whether you finish it in the oven or just do the whole thing in the breadmaker. This has become my default recipe for when I want a reliable great-tasting bread that can be used for things like bread baskets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      I have made this many times and forgot to review. Absolutely wonderful!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      WOW.....didn't realize how easy this was to do. And absolutely delicious. I made it according to the recipe for the first time. But next time I can see sprinkling some herbs on top or putting some in it. I had made 2 loaves with the recipe. I found the texture to be perfect and not heavy at all. And this bread freezes so well too. Will definitely be using this recipe often. Thanks for sharing Donna M.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      Crispy crust, light but chewy. This is great bread! I didn't spray the oven, but did put a dish of water in the oven with the bread to create some steam. I will be making this bread again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      FANTASTIC!! I have tried several wheat Italian breads and have never been satisfied. I grind my own wheat and used hard white wheat berries for this recipe and was vary happy with consistency and taste. I would have liked my crust to be crunchier so next time I will use egg whites instead of water to coat the top. This recipe is a keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Great recipe! I only used 1 cup of white flour and the rest wheat. I was so busy with my son that I forgot to let it rise a second time, lol. Even though it did not rise again (which would have made the loaves larger) it did not change the wonderful taste and texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      So good! I made this with 1.5c all purpose flour + 1.5 teaspoon of wheat gluten to substitute for the bread flour. Definitely let the bread flour mix for a while (I use a stand mixer) before adding the wheat. The first time I tried this recipe, I didn't read the directions too well and just added all the flour at the same time and let it mix til it was just combined - but the the bread was a flop. The second time around, after letting the bread flour mix well, the bread came out fluffy, tender, and so delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2004

      Beautiful and delicious. I also used the dough cycle on my bread machine; makes homemade bread almost effortless! I agree-the best wheat bread I've made. My teenagers were suspicous of the "wheaty" look, but also loved this bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2004

      The best wheat bread I have made. I used the dough cycle and baked as one large loaf. A must try.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2003

      Oh my goodness! This bread is so incredibly delicious! It has a wonderful slightly sweet flavour and a lovely appearance. I baked as directed in 2 loaves. One loaf is the perfect size for 2 people and I froze the other loaf for later. I made the dough in my bread machine also. This went perfectly with Healthy pumpkin soup #22047. I will use this recipe many more times!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      Fantastic recipe. I used 1 cup of all purpose and 2 cups of whole wheat. I also used kitchen scissors to make the diagonal slashes on the bread. Worked perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2013

      Made this tonight. It was delicious! I'm trying so hard not to eat the entire loaf. I dipped a slice in olive oil and garlic. Oh. My. Goodness. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      I'm afraid this just didn't work for me, The bread came out very dense. I could have fixed this on the next loaf, but the flavor was just lacking, so I won't bother making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2012

      Very good, indeed. However I would like to make a note about making the slashes in the top after rising but before baking...I used a very sharp knife on my beautifully risen loaves and they promptly fell completely flat. I was so disappointed! From now on I'll be putting the slashes in BEFORE I let them rise the last time. Otherwise a great recipe as is. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      Very good bread. Mine came out of the ABM rather sticky, so the two loaves I made were not so beautiful. However, looks aside, the bread was very tasty. Made it with Curly's Beer Cheese Soup for a filling meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      We all love it. I rolled the dough into sub size pieces and baked, to use for sandwiches. Great toasted too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      I made this in my bread machine from start to finish and it tastes fabulous! Thanks for sharing! I'm sure it will be great if I shape and bake the loaves also.... may do in the future if time allows...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crusty Whole Wheat Italian Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (45 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 92.4
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    57%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 220.0 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes