26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely delicious! I made it as directed, allowing the rye/sourdough starter to steep for 12 hours. I was using my new clay baker, and I love the way the crust came out in it! Next time I make it, I will skip the dry yeast and allow it to rise for a longer time. Admittedly, I should have let it rise longer, but I was so eager to try it! Thanks, Deb, this is fantastic bread, and I'll definately make it again soon!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen July 11, 2009

This was amazing! I chose to make it in a loaf pan so that I could more easily make sandwiches with it. My kids were eating it warm with just butter for their afternoon snack! This had a very good rye flavor, but combined with the sourdough, this will probably be gone tomorrow! I had proofed my starter the night before, so I didn't add the extra yeast and it turned out just fine. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gatorbek March 05, 2008

After trying several recipes, I have settled on this as my go to sourdough rye. I let the sponge sit overnight the first time I made it, and for a full 24 hours the second time, but still used the additional yeast to ensure a timely rise. It's absolutely delicious, and great for sandwiches, alongside soups, or anything at all. Will make this again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meliska May 17, 2012

OMG Great sour dough rye flavor. I did not have any wheat flour so I just used white & rye. I let the rye & starter proof over night and still added the yeast. We are at 4000 ft elevation so I let the dough rise 3 times. I love this bread. I want to try in in a loaf pan for easier slicing for sandwiches. But the basic recipe is wonderful!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calicat February 05, 2011

Very good rye bread. I quadrupled the recipe and baked it in loaf pans. I let the sponge sit for 12 hrs. I proofed my starter before hand so I didn't use the dry yeast. I got very good rise both in the bowl and in the loaf pan, although there was very little oven spring. I didn't spray the loaves because we don't like hard crust, in fact I brushed the top with butter when it came out of the oven. I will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dna414 January 06, 2011

This bread has wonderful flavor. I did let the starter sponge sit 6 hours for added sourness. The bread not only has great taste, the density of the crumb is perfect. I followed the recipe exactly, but next time I will try some of the suggestions of other reviewers to add onion in some form.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbykue June 24, 2010

I have been in heaven since this morning, smelling this great baking, then enjoying a thick slice for breakfast. Will make this on a regular basis.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
macera44 February 05, 2010

Wonderful, just wonderful! I left my base starter out overnight and then added the rye and let it sit for about 5 hours. This is a perfect bread to make classic NY style reuben sandwiches with!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 February 13, 2008

This bread is wonderful! The flavor and texture of the bread along with the delicious crust makes this recipe a keeper. The biggest bonus of all? My Kitchen Aid did all the work! I proofed my starter for about 14 hours and am proofing more as I type :)Thanks so much for sharing this easy, wonderful bread recipe Deb! Nick's Mom

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. November 06, 2007

I like this recipe. It was my third time working with sourdough. I'm not sure on how long to knead dough so this could be all a operator error, but I do think that I could do a better job and I will try again. I did not add extra yeast just used the sourdough and added the rye flour and water, let it sit for almost 24 hours. When rising I put it in my car :) nice and warm in there and no draft. It worked well. However, I do think that I can do better! When I try again I will resubmit a review if I can improve it. I only had half the caraway for the rest I used dill seed. This was a rustic (taken from another review) loaf, and diffently very chewy which I loved. Thank you for posting, your fellow zaarian Shirl.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
:)Shirl(: July 18, 2007
Crusty Sourdough Rye Bread