Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crusty Sourdough Rye Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crusty Sourdough Rye Bread

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2009

      Absolutely delicious! I made it as directed, allowing the rye/sourdough starter to steep for 12 hours. I was using my new clay baker, and I love the way the crust came out in it! Next time I make it, I will skip the dry yeast and allow it to rise for a longer time. Admittedly, I should have let it rise longer, but I was so eager to try it! Thanks, Deb, this is fantastic bread, and I'll definately make it again soon!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      OMG Great sour dough rye flavor. I did not have any wheat flour so I just used white & rye. I let the rye & starter proof over night and still added the yeast. We are at 4000 ft elevation so I let the dough rise 3 times. I love this bread. I want to try in in a loaf pan for easier slicing for sandwiches. But the basic recipe is wonderful!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      Very good rye bread. I quadrupled the recipe and baked it in loaf pans. I let the sponge sit for 12 hrs. I proofed my starter before hand so I didn't use the dry yeast. I got very good rise both in the bowl and in the loaf pan, although there was very little oven spring. I didn't spray the loaves because we don't like hard crust, in fact I brushed the top with butter when it came out of the oven. I will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      This bread has wonderful flavor. I did let the starter sponge sit 6 hours for added sourness. The bread not only has great taste, the density of the crumb is perfect. I followed the recipe exactly, but next time I will try some of the suggestions of other reviewers to add onion in some form.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      I have been in heaven since this morning, smelling this great baking, then enjoying a thick slice for breakfast. Will make this on a regular basis.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      This was amazing! I chose to make it in a loaf pan so that I could more easily make sandwiches with it. My kids were eating it warm with just butter for their afternoon snack! This had a very good rye flavor, but combined with the sourdough, this will probably be gone tomorrow! I had proofed my starter the night before, so I didn't add the extra yeast and it turned out just fine. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Wonderful, just wonderful! I left my base starter out overnight and then added the rye and let it sit for about 5 hours. This is a perfect bread to make classic NY style reuben sandwiches with!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      This bread is wonderful! The flavor and texture of the bread along with the delicious crust makes this recipe a keeper. The biggest bonus of all? My Kitchen Aid did all the work! I proofed my starter for about 14 hours and am proofing more as I type :)Thanks so much for sharing this easy, wonderful bread recipe Deb! Nick's Mom

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      I like this recipe. It was my third time working with sourdough. I'm not sure on how long to knead dough so this could be all a operator error, but I do think that I could do a better job and I will try again. I did not add extra yeast just used the sourdough and added the rye flour and water, let it sit for almost 24 hours. When rising I put it in my car :) nice and warm in there and no draft. It worked well. However, I do think that I can do better! When I try again I will resubmit a review if I can improve it. I only had half the caraway for the rest I used dill seed. This was a rustic (taken from another review) loaf, and diffently very chewy which I loved. Thank you for posting, your fellow zaarian Shirl.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      I really liked this recipe. I used my own starter and adjusted the water accordingly. I made this loaf in a Pyrex loaf pan because we wanted bread for sandwiches and toast.I made it with caraway seeds and molasses and it is wonderful. I had to stop part of the way through the first rising because of an emergency and I put it in the fridge where it sat for nearly 6 hours. This caused a nice slow rise and from there I shaped it and let it rise a little more in the pan before placing in the oven. I will be making this more often and will probably double it the next time

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      Worth the effort. First my starter is whole wheat (longer rise times) so I set out the sponge for 24 hours. I used a ton more flour than this recipe called at least 2 more cups. (I tried to keep the ratio going with rye/wheat/white) I wanted a darker looking loaf so I subbed black strap molassas for the sugar, and added some unsweetened cocoa powder. I also omitted the caraway as I am not a fan. This made a wonderful loaf...hearty yet well rising and airy. My hubby liked it so much he requested another.... but he wants the d@mned seeds...lol. I guess I will have to make 2 more one with and one without.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      Very Good! As suggested I let my starter sit for additional 6 hours and the flavor was wonderful! Love the crust too! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      I fed the starter the night before. In the morning, I mixed the rye flour and starter together allowing it to sit for approximately 4 hours before adding the remaining ingredients. This makes a rustic sourdough rye bread that has a wonderful sour flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2014

      Fabulous! I've been studying sourdough and learning about all of the mysteries and magic of it. This recipe is concise, well written, and none of the mumbo jumbo that I've seen in other sourdough recipes. I made it exactly as written, let the starter proof for 9 hours. It baked up into a beautiful round loaf that tastes divine. The hardest part about this bread is not burning your tongue because there is no way you can wait for this to cool!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2014

      I've made bread for years, but this was my first ever go at making sourdough bread and it turned out beautifully. I let the starter (a friend gave me some of hers) mixture sit overnight, so skipped the dry yeast. I allowed enough time for longer rises and am thrilled with the results. Starting another loaf tonight. Thanks for giving me a great start to sourdough baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2013

      Made this but added sauteed onion to it. Turned out great for our Rueben sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      I see some of us are still making homemade bread. File that under the good ole days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      First rate recipe producing a first rate rye. I used a rye starter and less yeast for a longer rise but faster still than sourdough alone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2012

      After trying several recipes, I have settled on this as my go to sourdough rye. I let the sponge sit overnight the first time I made it, and for a full 24 hours the second time, but still used the additional yeast to ensure a timely rise. It's absolutely delicious, and great for sandwiches, alongside soups, or anything at all. Will make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      what a wonderful bread this is!!...I put some onion powder in the sponge & let it sit about 18 hours...then allowed for long rises in a warm sunny kitchen...baked in a deep dish casserole pyrex with a ground oat, minced onion and sea salt dusting...fabulous...thanks for a great recipe share!...) loved the spraying hint...best crust ever!!) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crusty Sourdough Rye Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 174.9
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    78%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 196.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites