Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crusty French Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crusty French Bread

    Average Rating:

    162 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 162

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2010

      this rating is for the ingredients only. i used a different technique (from epicurious.com) to make sure it was crusty. first, i made the dough in my bread machine. then, i divided the dough into 2 lumps. i pressed each out into a rectangle and then rolled it up lengthwise to make 2 baguettes. i placed each on a cornmeal lined silpat mat on cookie sheets and basted with olive oil. i let loaves rise, uncovered, in a warm draft-free place 30 minutes.

      then i put oven racks in upper third of oven, and put a large roasting pan with 1 inch of water in it on the bottom of the oven. preheat oven to 450°F. the high heat definitely gives it a crunchy exterior.

      i made 3 shallow diagonal slashes down length of each loaf with razor. bake loaves 30 minutes, but watch closely b/c my top loaf ended up getting a little too dark, so maybe check at 20 mins. and bake until it sounds hollow. i did see another recipe on this site that called for baking the first 15 mins. and then 350 for the remainder, which i will try another time. i prefer this method to misting b/c it still gives me the crunchy crust w/o all the hassle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      You can't get simpler and best taste anywhere else! This is the go to bread recipe. After reading many reviews with people having trouble getting the crust real crunchy.. I sprayed mine with olive oil and water mixture. and raised my rack as suggested by another reviewer. Worked like a charm. Thanks for posting this awesome recipe PCrocker!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      Very good recipe - I used all the ingredients and followed the directions that were pretty amazing, but I made a few changes:
      1. I put a pan of water on the second rack and I threw in 2 large ice cubes straight on the bottom of the inside of the oven right after putting the bread into the oven to help in creating immediate steam to assist in getting the bread crusty.
      2. I preheated the oven to 400 degrees and after it baked at that temperature for 10 minutes, I lowed the heat to 375 degrees.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      Outstanding bread recipe and very easy to follow. I used the kitchenaid to knead th e dough. I used a perforated french bread baguette pan. And I halved the recipe ( one loaf). This took about 25 minutes to bake . Thanks PCrocker - i will make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      I have just noticed that I've been making this recipe since January 2009 and I haven't done a review yet! This is the best french bread my husband and I have ever had. We no longer buy store-made when we want simple and fresh bread. The time it takes for the dough to rise can be quite long, but if you can put the dough together quickly, you can do other chores in the meantime. What I do differently is I make a single loaf instead of two and I add a tablespoon of vital wheat gluten to each cup of flour. This is amazing stuff because it makes the dough very elastic and the bread is so moist at the end. I highly recommend using this especially if you use whole wheat flour, which I do sometimes. And instead of using water on the crust in the last few minutes of baking, try basting on some olive oil. It makes for a sweet, crunchy crust that smells wonderful. My husband and I adore this bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      This is the best French bread ever! Especially for a mom who has four growing kids. I make this bread in mini loaves. When they cool, I cut them in half, top with a little garlic butter, pizza sauce and various pizza toppings and shredded cheese, and freeze. Then when my kids, especially the older boys, are hungry, they just pop them in the microwave or toaster oven and voila, a perfect, and pretty healthy snack. I'll double this recipe and make about 8 - half loaves which give me 16 pizza's. Enough to last my household 2-3 weeks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      I followed the instruction exactly except I used 5 instead of 5 1/2 cups of flour as suggested by another reviewer. The bread came up beautifully. Thank you very much for sharing the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2012

      This was amazing and easy! Everyone in my house loved it. I baked it for 25 minutes at 350, then brushed with olive oil and baked 5 minutes more. I served it with olive oil sprinkled with herbs. Can't wait to make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      I used this bread to soak up all the lovely juices from a big pot of mussells I had made. Excellent bread. My crust didn't come out as crusty as I thought it would, so next time, I will spray my oven a couple of times with water and that should achieve the results I want. Thanks for the posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Delicious bread! I made a half recipe and used the breadmaker to make the dough. I baked and then made into garlic bread. It made a nice light bread with chewy crust. Will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2014

      This recipe is amazing. I have baked dozens I French bread recipes over the years. Two day recipes, Julia Child's, and more. This beats them all. The first time I made these, I added a water tray (from the many other recipes/techniques I've tried) and loved the finished result. I have since bake several more without, the steam and had even better results. I now bake a single loaf (half recipe) every week. Try this! Follow the recipe to the letter, and and live the result!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2014

      Delicious french bread results from this recipe. I made one loaf, exactly as directed, and brushed the pre-baked loaf with an egg white and water mixture, then sprinkled some sesame seeds on top. I also used a french bread form, which helped the bread retain its shape, and put a pan of boiling water in the lower rack of the oven. The bread was nice and crispy, and served with butter or garlic herb butter, did not last too long. Thanks for the recipe! I will make this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2014

      I have had rave reviews with this recipe! I am constantly asked to bring my crusty bread to any gathering! I like to use my dough hook in the kitchen aid mixer...it takes all the work out of kneading! Otherwise I have followed the recipe & always have great bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2014

      As another reviewer stated, the bread looks great but is lacking flavour. More salt needed? The texture wasn't quite what I was wanting either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2014

      I made this bread twice in a 3 day period. The first was a total flop! Yeast is not normally my friend and the first loaf was no exception. I did everything possible wrong. I used the lower of the 2 amounts of flour and made half the recipe. I used quick rise yeast and that sucker was crawling out of the bowl at the end of an hour. I didn't need to punch it down because it collapsed as soon as I breathed on it. I carried on, shaped it and let it rise for another hour but could not slash it because it was too wet. It baked up looking like a canoe. :( It was very tasty though so after checking in with the folks in the Bread and Baking forum I increased the flour to the higher amount (again half a recipe), let it double which took only 30 mins with the quick rise yeast, knocked it down, shaped it and let it go for only 30 minute before baking. AWESOME results this time. I'll be making this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      First I will say, the aroma in the house beats bringing any store-bought bread home. The recipe was quick to put together ( used the suggestion of "kneading" in the Kitchen Aid). Also, note that 1 packet of yeast is about 3/4 T. Short of what the recipe calls for (perhaps the attribute to other's loaves not rising). I used another reviewer's suggestion to preheat the oven to 450 with a pan of hot water in the bottom, lowered temp to 375 upon placing in the oven & baked for about 20-25 minutes, then brushed with olive oil & water emulsion for the last 5 minutes & sprinkled with sea salt util baked to a golden brown. Perfect accompaniment to Rachael Ray's French onion soup! Thanks for sharing, will be making this one again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      Great... nothing needs to be added? Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      omg. I just made this this after noon, and I had to stop myself from eating it all! Haha! This recipe is definitely a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2013

      This bread was easy and delicious! I followed the recipe to the letter - except that I thought I had corn meal, but didn't - so I just greased a cookie sheet and put the loaves directly on it. They stuck just a small bit on the edges but came right off with some spatula work. I will definitely be making this again and again. It was a great companion to my crock pot pork roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      Followed recipe exactly....made 10 rolls....preheated oven to 450 with a pan of water and then reduced heat and baked at 375 until golden.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crusty French Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1241.4
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    48%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2341.9 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 247.2 g
    82%
    Dietary Fiber 10.0 g
    40%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 34.7 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites