15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved this chicken recipe.It's nice and crispy on the outside and stays moist on the inside. Great flavor, too! Thank you for another great take on chicken!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood November 28, 2011

I'm not usually one to vary from the baking of chicken breasts, but in this case I actually used a whole chicken (well, except for the head & the feet!) & we had an outrageously wonderful tasting chicken dinner! Could not possibly have been any better, I'm sure! And, I'm with you when it comes to serving something like this with a simple salad, & bit of bread & & cool bowl of fresh fruit! So satisfying without being overly filling! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed in Went to the Market tag]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 12, 2011

This was SO good! I did chicken breasts and wings, and after rolling them in the potato flakes and seasonings, let them sit for 30-40 minutes at room temp. I used a stoneware 'bar pan' to bake them on, and rather than drizzle the butter, I used a pastry brush and lightly brushed/dabbed it on. It seemed to cover the chicken better. I never had to turn the chicken over. It crunched up great top and bottom. We loved this, and I will be making this often. I am an ace at frying chicken. I learned to do that from my Mom, but I don't feel so guilty eating chicken done this way, and it's almost as good. Thank you so much for posting this great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MailbagMary January 03, 2010

Oh my dear 'Seasoned Chef' this is a ten! Makes for a wonderfully delicious moist crispy chicken and sooo easy to make.Can't wait to serve this one to family and friends. Went with a green salad as you suggested and served with a rustic loaf of bread made using French Tart's Our Daily Bread in a Crock - Weekly Make and Bake Rustic Bread. Amazing how crunchy this oven chicken is. Definitely one of those recipes you keep close at hand!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry October 01, 2009

OMG this was good! I didn't have potato flakes so I subbed lightly crushed panko. This is the best oven fried chicken I've made. It was moist, crispy and flavorful. This is now my go to baked chicken recipe. Thank you so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely April 28, 2009

great, great, great. wonderfuly moist and tender and seasoned crust. Better then KFC. Nurse Joanie ;0)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joan H. April 05, 2009

I made as directed but using large boneless chicken breasts. I cooked 45 minutes without turning. Meat was very juicy and tender. I think next time I would add fresh garlic and 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. Thanks Baby Kato for a great recipe. Made for Aussie Swap #26.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happynana March 02, 2009

Really good!! I cut up 2 chicken breasts and wedged the pieces in a 8x8 inch pan. Baked for 40 min at 400 degrees never having to turn them. DH wants to try the crust on chukar and pheasant. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hill Family February 16, 2007

This was great, resulting in very most and flavourful chicken (I used breasts only). Instead of garlic salt, I used two very finely-minced cloves. Followed the rest of the recipe as posted. What a great reason to have potato flakes on hand for (I have never used them before, but will always have some around from now on). The crust did not taste especially potato-y. Just crisp, garlicky, with a nice bit of spice to it. Did I mention my kids loved this??? Next time, I will cut the chicken into 'nuggets' and coat with this mixture. Definitely 5 stars and going into the keeper file.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens February 13, 2007

This was excellent, juicy chicken! The only problem I encountered was the chicken sticking when I turned it and some of the coating coming off, next time I am going to use the reynolds release foil on my pan. The potato flakes make this extra crunchy and awesome!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myangelhayden September 13, 2004
Crusty Baked Chicken