Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crusty Baked Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crusty Baked Chicken

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2011

      We loved this chicken recipe.It's nice and crispy on the outside and stays moist on the inside. Great flavor, too! Thank you for another great take on chicken!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      I'm not usually one to vary from the baking of chicken breasts, but in this case I actually used a whole chicken (well, except for the head & the feet!) & we had an outrageously wonderful tasting chicken dinner! Could not possibly have been any better, I'm sure! And, I'm with you when it comes to serving something like this with a simple salad, & bit of bread & & cool bowl of fresh fruit! So satisfying without being overly filling! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed in Went to the Market tag]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      This was SO good! I did chicken breasts and wings, and after rolling them in the potato flakes and seasonings, let them sit for 30-40 minutes at room temp. I used a stoneware 'bar pan' to bake them on, and rather than drizzle the butter, I used a pastry brush and lightly brushed/dabbed it on. It seemed to cover the chicken better. I never had to turn the chicken over. It crunched up great top and bottom. We loved this, and I will be making this often. I am an ace at frying chicken. I learned to do that from my Mom, but I don't feel so guilty eating chicken done this way, and it's almost as good. Thank you so much for posting this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      Oh my dear 'Seasoned Chef' this is a ten! Makes for a wonderfully delicious moist crispy chicken and sooo easy to make.Can't wait to serve this one to family and friends. Went with a green salad as you suggested and served with a rustic loaf of bread made using French Tart's Our Daily Bread in a Crock - Weekly Make and Bake Rustic Bread. Amazing how crunchy this oven chicken is. Definitely one of those recipes you keep close at hand!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      OMG this was good! I didn't have potato flakes so I subbed lightly crushed panko. This is the best oven fried chicken I've made. It was moist, crispy and flavorful. This is now my go to baked chicken recipe. Thank you so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      great, great, great. wonderfuly moist and tender and seasoned crust. Better then KFC. Nurse Joanie ;0)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      I made as directed but using large boneless chicken breasts. I cooked 45 minutes without turning. Meat was very juicy and tender. I think next time I would add fresh garlic and 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. Thanks Baby Kato for a great recipe. Made for Aussie Swap #26.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      Really good!! I cut up 2 chicken breasts and wedged the pieces in a 8x8 inch pan. Baked for 40 min at 400 degrees never having to turn them. DH wants to try the crust on chukar and pheasant. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      This was great, resulting in very most and flavourful chicken (I used breasts only). Instead of garlic salt, I used two very finely-minced cloves. Followed the rest of the recipe as posted. What a great reason to have potato flakes on hand for (I have never used them before, but will always have some around from now on). The crust did not taste especially potato-y. Just crisp, garlicky, with a nice bit of spice to it. Did I mention my kids loved this??? Next time, I will cut the chicken into 'nuggets' and coat with this mixture. Definitely 5 stars and going into the keeper file.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2004

      This was excellent, juicy chicken! The only problem I encountered was the chicken sticking when I turned it and some of the coating coming off, next time I am going to use the reynolds release foil on my pan. The potato flakes make this extra crunchy and awesome!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2004

      Excellent! Moist tender chicken inside - deliciously seasoned crust outside. I made the recipe as directed using 3 large bone in half chicken breasts. There are enough ingredients for 4. I plan to keep a stock of instant potatoes in the cupboard from now on - just for this fantastic recipe! Thank you Baby Kato - goes into my "book of special tricks" !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      I used a Maryland cut (thigh and drumstick/leg intact) with skin on. I also double crumbed them, after initial crumbing dipped back into the egg and then back into the crumbing mix which resulted in a very crispy skin. I also sprayed with a little oil rather than used the butter and baked for 1 hour at 175C fan forced and didn't turn the chicken and the reult was wonderfull crispy skin and very moist chicken. Served with Baby Kato's Savoury Onion Potatoes and some steamed beans for a very satisfying and delicious dinner, thank you Baby Kato, made for ZAAR Stars tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      While 5 stars is all I can give you it was actually 10. 5 from DH and I both :D. I used 2 large breasts and they were both devoured (it's not at all unusual for us to split a breast of the same size). Not only did they taste wonderful, made just ad written, they were a beautiful rich golden brown color and looked like they came form a good restaurant. Thank you my dear for an true keeper. I'm already looking forward ti making these again. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      For some reason my review didn't stick...Made this 12/2011 for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #59...This was great chicken. We prefer baked chicken so this was perfect. I did use instant potatoes that were garlic and herb which gave it a little extra flavor. The crunchiness was great! I baked these on a rack placed on the cookie sheet so they were not touching the pan and both sides would crisp up. Going into my Best of Cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crusty Baked Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (405 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 922.6
     
    Calories from Fat 562
    60%
    Total Fat 62.4 g
    96%
    Saturated Fat 21.2 g
    106%
    Cholesterol 330.0 mg
    110%
    Sodium 812.4 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 71.7 g
    143%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites