Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crustless Tomato and Basil Quiche (Low Carb) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crustless Tomato and Basil Quiche (Low Carb)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2010

      This was Awesome!!! I made a few mods. We are doing low carb so fat is not an issue. Added a healthy amount of bacon. Cooked the onion ( and about an equal amount of mushrooms ) in the bacon grease. Probably used 1.5 to 2 cups of swiss. Put the bacon in on top of the onions/mushrooms. Sliced the tomato pretty thick and 8 slices fits perfectly into the pie pan I used with one in the middle and the rest around it. As I used a bit more ingredient I used 4 eggs and used heavy whipping cream instead of skim milk ( Gotta love a diet that calls for bacon and heavy whipping cream ). This made a pretty think quiche so I cooked it as described but added an extra 5 minutes over the 20 minutes at 350. Came out fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      Have to admit that I didn't do the low-fat version of this recipe: my (rural) supermarket doesn't carry low-fat Swiss cheese at all, plus they don't carry small quantities of non-fat milk, so I had to go with !-1/2%. However, did use our garden tomatoes and fresh basil! It took a little longer than 20 minutes for the top to brown up; however, it was quite tasty! Looking forward to left-overs as a side dish tomorrow.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2012

      I added an extra egg and served it up on meatless Monday with a salad. It's a keeper for sure, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      A tasty quiche. I used more eggbeaters, soymilk for the regular milk, and cabot's 75% reduced fat sharp cheddar cheese for the swiss. It turned out well, even the next day, reheated. Thanks for posting. I would make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2010

      FABULOUS!!!! We only had a variety of cheeses on hand so we combined them to gather enough (cheddar, jack, mozzarella, and Parmesan). I also added bacon (yum!). We skipped the onion (food allergies) and didn't miss it a bit. I was completely bummed I didn't add the mushrooms I forgot about in the fridge! We made it for dinner and even my daughter that doesn't like tomatoes loved it!! I used fresh basil and it worked perfectly. This will definately become a regular in our house, especially in summer when the tomatoes, basil and eggs are all fresh from the yard!! (even the bacon is fresh from the farm in our house)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      This made for a simple breakfast-for-dinner for my daughter and I. I halved the recipe and omitted the cheese, but added some fresh spinach - deslish! I will definitely make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      I used dried basil and 3 eggs. It was easy to do. And it has a really nice taste. Everyone loved it. Thanks Wi Cheesehead. Made for Potluck tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      Excellent! I needed more flour (and the fresh basil was too wet and stuck)...but otherwise we loved it! I think next time I'll add some fresh mushrooms. Thanks very much for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crustless Tomato and Basil Quiche (Low Carb)

    Serving Size: 1 (937 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 82.0
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    29%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 6.0 mg
    2%
    Sodium 99.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites