57 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful! I'm not a big fan of "greens", so this was a great way to utilize the Rainbow Chard from my CSA. I sauteed 1.25 lb of chard with a whole sweet onion and a few sliced garlic cloves. With so much chard, I used 6 eggs and 1.5 cup skim milk. I whisked about 1 Tbs of homemade pesto into the egg mixture. Yum! I used a combination of Swiss and Italian Blend shredded cheeses with a bit of leftover crumbled feta. I baked this in a 10" square CorningWare casserole for 45 minutes. Infinitely adaptable!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jvgrossman June 06, 2011

This is a fantastic recipe! I get a lot of chard from my CSA, and this is a great way to use it! And, the recipe is incredibly easy - takes no time at all to make this. I've pretty much followed the recipe - but I do use an entire bunch of chard instead of half, and I experiment with the cheeses (basically whatever I have on hand goes in), and it always comes out great. I've done a mozzarella/cheddar combo, cheddar only, and this last time I used feta and cheddar with great results. I once used spinach instead of chard for a New Year's brunch (I was afraid people might balk at the idea of chard), and I received compliments on that as well. I'm going to try it with shredded zucchini next - just got a ton of that from the CSA :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
avnetd1 July 12, 2011

This was incredible and SO easy! I actually cut the stems out of the chard, chopped them and cooked them a bit first, then I added the leaves. I subbed 1 leak for the onion. I used Trader Joe's Iberico cheese (like a manchego) and parm because that's what I had on hand. LOVE LOVE LOVED this recipe! Will definitely make for brunch, dinner, or even breakfast at work!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laura.e.shepard January 17, 2012

This really is as easy and delicious as it looks. Granted there are more decadent quiches out there, but you need more (costlier) ingredients, more prep time and more post dinner gym time. Great healthy week night dinner. I use Jahrlsberg with some Peccorino plus some brown mustard and Lea Perrins Worcestershire sauce for added flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GeorgieG November 05, 2011

We loved this recipe, it was simple and easy! However I think there was a little too much egg mixture and it took almost an hour to cook through, and even then the egg wasn't totally set. I tried this a second time with one less egg and half the milk, and it cooked through in the suggested time. I also added a crust with mine and it was AWESOME. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swingncocoa September 28, 2011

I left out the chard stems, added feta for half of the cheese, also added greek olives (chopped) and 6 chopped garlic cloves that I sauteed with the onions and chard leaves...excellent.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eliagrandson July 30, 2011

Great for breakfast or anytime. I did add a garlic clove and some bacon but was wonderful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound July 12, 2011

Love quiche, as a non-typical southerner I have lots of Rainbow Chard in the garden, but to get my family to try this delicious quiche I had to crumble six cooked bacon slices in it. I also added one more egg and 1/4 c of half and half. This one is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmp1961 June 05, 2011

Excellent! Great flavor and a great use of swiss chard! I read an idea below to add garlic and I think that would be an excellent addition. Cook time was right on and it wasn't dry at all!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeliz17 May 04, 2011

Yummy! I had to sneak a bite every time I walked past! (I love swiss chard.) I used the full bunch of rainbow chard from my CSA box. Since I'm lactose intolerant, I cut back on the cheese (about 3/4 cup) and used soy milk (1/2 cup). To add some liquid back, I used 6 large eggs. I also added garlic, a sprinkle of cajun seasonings, and a small splash of Texas Pete hot sauce. If I keep reviewing, I'm going to have to go back for some more ...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nethope April 27, 2011
Crustless Swiss Chard Quiche