19 Reviews

We absolutely went crazy for this recipe! If I could give it 10 stars I would! I used low fat sausage and couldn't find dried basil so used italian seasoning. I also added a courgette/ zucchini that I had spare, grated into the potato mixture. Not sure if it was the flour but it had a nice slightly crunchy top to it. I sprayed the pan with a 1 calorie spray. I can't wait to try a Greek version- feta, courgettes, black olives, red onion! Made for ZWT7.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shuzbud June 25, 2011

This was really good! It really reminds me of a breakfast casserole more than a quiche, though. I accidently left out the butter and it was fine, so do that if you want to make it a little healthier. Also, I would suggest spraying the pie pan with Pam. I didn't and my quiche stuck a bit. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hwin September 22, 2009

So, I used bacon, full-cream milk, and I did slightly cook the shredded potato and onion before putting into the mix, but otherwise, perfect. I also didn't use the butter, as you suggested. I have made one of the recipes you used for inspiration, Michelles Quiche, also with great success, so I was very confident when choosing to make this recipe. Excellent texture and taste, I really enjoyed the choice of shredded potato, I'd experiment with other cheeses as well when making this in the future. (in fact shredded zucchini sounds really good too!). Thanks Deantini, another winner, made for I Recommend tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth January 22, 2013

We thought this was very good! I'll admit I used too much onion, but DH loves onion so it did not bother him one bit! I also added one teaspoon of ground mustard, and I used ham. Thanks for posting! Made for I RECOMMEND tag game 2012

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pammyowl November 04, 2012

I scaled back for 2 serves and used smoked salmon instead of bacon and dill instead of basil and in a 175C fan forced oven they took 25 minutes to cook and the DM and I thoroughly enjoyed a very filling breakfast. Thank you Deantini, made for ZAAR Stars tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat October 01, 2012

Easy and delicious recipe for quiche, this went over really well with my pastry hating daughter! I added some asparagus and bacon and we had a delicious dinner, along with Caesar salad. Terrific! Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT #8 :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ September 01, 2012

My family loves quiche and they really loved this one. Simple and easy to make. Used bacon. Made this for ZWT8 Family Pick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 August 27, 2012

Delicious!! We thoroughly enjoyed this wonderful quiche for breakfast. I used a combination of diced ham and cooked, crumbled bacon for the meat. Also, I had to bake this in my deep dish pie pan because it overfilled my regular pie pan. I served this with a dollop of creme fraiche...yummy! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper!
**Made for ZWT 8 France**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill July 30, 2012

I loved this recipe. It reminded me of an impossible pie type recipe. I used turkey breakfast sausage and dried basil this time. The flavor was outstanding. I look forward to having it for breakfast during the week. Made for ZWT 8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan July 22, 2012

Very enjoyable and sliced beautifully! The firmer texture reminded me more of a breakfast casserole than a quiche. The ingredients seemed to make their own impossible style crust. I was also surprised by the quantity with only four eggs. The ingredients filled a 9" deep dish pie plate. I opted to not include the butter and did spray the baking dish. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D July 22, 2012
Crustless Country Quiche / Omelete