31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

great base recipe. i made mine with a few tweaks--sauteed the onion with red pepper & spinach, then layered that on the bottom of the quiche plate. topped that with 2oz of shredded swiss, then crumbled turkey bacon, then four ounces of crumbled goat cheese on top. poured the egg & cream mixture over the top and shook it around a bit so the egg settled through all the layers. at 350 it took mine about 33 min to be nice and golden on top. we ate half for dinner tonight with a simple salad, and will bring the rest to work tomorrow. it was delicious--very flavorful, very moist. possibly a little too moist, i think next time i would squeeze out the thawed spinach a bit more and maybe let it simmer over lowish heat to cook more of the water out first. despite the tweaks, i am giving this one 5 stars because it is going in my cookbook as a great base recipe for endless variations of crustless quiche. i will be workin' that quiche plate!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelMay February 21, 2010

I also added in 8oz of mushrooms sauteed with the onion. This was so incredibly good. My husband loved it, and he is really picky. I will be making this again and again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steffiliz March 23, 2011

This was easy and very good! I forgot to pick up a deep shell pie crust and almost skipped making a quiche. Found this recipe and was very pleased with the results. I made a few changes though. The second time I made it, I added a full cup of heavy whipping cream. Made it a bit fluffier--not as dense. Also, less cheese tasted better to me. Only put in 4 Oz. of cheese--Swiss. Can also. do the bacon in the microwave with paper towels. Other than that, easy and very good recipe!! Got me out of a jam too! Served for breakfast the next morning. I would say it is closer to a Frittata than a quiche...kind of in between.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
audishere August 18, 2013

I baked this batter in a mini muffin pan to make mini -quiches for a party, and everyone went wild over them. I went pretty heavy on the Swiss cheese and added a few cloves of crushed garlic. I am making this for 'everyday' next time. So glad to get this great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weewah April 16, 2013

I too..agree this is great! I only used 3 thick slices bacon...I love bacon...putting a whole lb. seemed heavy . It was great to come across the nuggets of bacon! I also agree,be sure to squeeze out the spinach. I added tomatoes to mine and some garlic. Can imagine lots of other vegs to add in the future! Gotta run....getting another slice!! lol

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoisR January 18, 2013

This was my first quiche and it was FANTASTIC! Followed the recipe exactly.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LowCarbAndLovinIt August 27, 2012

This is one of those recipes where you just ignore the nutrional stats and enjoy it LOL My DH is not overly fond of quiche but LOVED this one and so did I. I used a sharp cheddar instead of swiss cheese. The leftovers are even better the next day Made for April Photo Event This Little Piggy

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wicked cook 46 April 06, 2009

Loved it!!!! This recipe was surprisingly easy, and one I will definitely pass on to others! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
busymom2009 January 06, 2009

5 Star Delicious!!! I used a 10 oz bag of fresh chopped spinach, 1/2 C. sliced fresh mushrooms & 1/3 C. diced red peppers and then used the cheese on top. Very good! Thank you for sharing:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fox Hollow October 02, 2013

I have made this recipe twice; once as is and the second time with a few . I did not have enough Swiss cheese so I add parmesan cheese, 3 eggs and egg whites to equal 6 eggs. I also used half & half instead of heavy cream. It is still an awesome quiche; can?t wait to try a few more changes, turkey bacon, broccoli, and other cheeses. Thanks for this awesome recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pearlgirl285 September 30, 2013
Crustless Bacon, Spinach & Swiss Quiche - Low Carb