13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm used to making buttercream for my cakes but someone wanted cream cheese icing. I found this recipe and it was FANTASTIC. I was worried it wouldn't "work" the same as my buttercream when decorating the cake but it was pretty much identical. This makes a huge batch which was nice, too. One substitution I made was I used 1 1/2 cups of butter flavored shortening in place of the 1 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of shortening. I was told not to use butter in icing becasue shortening holds up better to heat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dsimkovic November 28, 2008

Thank goodness for this recipe! I am not a cake decorator but have a small cupcake business on the side, and I have had very little success with any cream cheese frosting. For my boyfriend and my one year anniversary, I wanted to actually go for it and make a cake. He loves red velvet. I knew I didn't have anything in my recipe box that would withstand decorating. I found this recipe was thrilled with the results! Only change I made is that I only used about 3 lbs of sugar instead of the full 3.5. It still crusted just fine, smoothed nicely, and was the perfect consistency for borders and script. (Keep in mind I'm in humid South Texas, so if anybody would have needed the extra half pound it would have been me!) Was my first time making a fully decorated cake and it actually turned out beautifully, all thanks to this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrieLovesItalian October 05, 2013

This is one of the best crusting cream cheese icings I have ever made. It crusts perfectly. I LOVE THIS. Everyone who tasted it thought that it was amazing. This is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheributler September 23, 2013

I love these icing its so ease to work with it and it tastes good thank you for the great recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris79 May 09, 2012

I took the advice of another reviewer and didn't put as much frosting, and while it tasted great, the consistency was horrible to work with. It was so soft it just fell all over the place.

Yet, even it being like this, everyone complimented that the taste was amazing because it wasn't too cheesy, it was perfect.

I will definitely give it another try and follow the recipe to the T and hopefully it is a "crusting cream cheese" as said to be.
Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kutiekakes April 10, 2012

I made this frosting for red velvet cupcakes and it was absolutely delicious. It held up well to heat and crusted quickly. I've spent a long time experimenting with cream cheese frostings and this is definitely the best one i've found for decorating and i will be using it from now on for my 'go to' cream cheese frosting recipe. My only complaint is that the amount of powdered sugar the recipe calls for is absurd in my opinion. I only used 2lbs (which is more than i felt comfortable with) and it held up just fine and was on the verge of being too sweet. I would think using 3 1/2 lbs would cancel out any cream cheese flavor. However that's just my opinion, and i don't like very sweet things so i could be wrong! Overall i was very happy with this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlliCole1 February 16, 2012

I made this exactly as written except that I didn't have any vanilla so I substituted Vanilla Nut & Butter extract. I was really happy with how it turned out! I made it to use on Sinful Red Velvet Cookies and it made a cookie that was good into a cookie that was FANTASTIC. I smeared it on the cookies and refrigerated them for about an hour until the icing was set and I was able to stack them with no problem. I also had no problems getting the icing to hold after they were at room temperature for quite a few hours. Thanks for posting! This is now my go to cream cheese frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness December 20, 2011

excellent for decorating and keep well too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grunig December 05, 2009

I have used this recipe countless times and can't believe I haven't posted a review yet. This is the only icing recipe I will use to decorate my cakes with. It tastes wonderful and works nicely for decorating. Thanks for a great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Chance August 17, 2009
Crusting Cream Cheese Icing/Frosting