Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crusting Cream Cheese Icing/Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crusting Cream Cheese Icing/Frosting

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2008

      I'm used to making buttercream for my cakes but someone wanted cream cheese icing. I found this recipe and it was FANTASTIC. I was worried it wouldn't "work" the same as my buttercream when decorating the cake but it was pretty much identical. This makes a huge batch which was nice, too. One substitution I made was I used 1 1/2 cups of butter flavored shortening in place of the 1 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of shortening. I was told not to use butter in icing becasue shortening holds up better to heat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2013

      Thank goodness for this recipe! I am not a cake decorator but have a small cupcake business on the side, and I have had very little success with any cream cheese frosting. For my boyfriend and my one year anniversary, I wanted to actually go for it and make a cake. He loves red velvet. I knew I didn't have anything in my recipe box that would withstand decorating. I found this recipe was thrilled with the results! Only change I made is that I only used about 3 lbs of sugar instead of the full 3.5. It still crusted just fine, smoothed nicely, and was the perfect consistency for borders and script. (Keep in mind I'm in humid South Texas, so if anybody would have needed the extra half pound it would have been me!) Was my first time making a fully decorated cake and it actually turned out beautifully, all thanks to this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      This is one of the best crusting cream cheese icings I have ever made. It crusts perfectly. I LOVE THIS. Everyone who tasted it thought that it was amazing. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2012

      I love these icing its so ease to work with it and it tastes good thank you for the great recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2012

      I took the advice of another reviewer and didn't put as much frosting, and while it tasted great, the consistency was horrible to work with. It was so soft it just fell all over the place.

      Yet, even it being like this, everyone complimented that the taste was amazing because it wasn't too cheesy, it was perfect.

      I will definitely give it another try and follow the recipe to the T and hopefully it is a "crusting cream cheese" as said to be.
      Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      I made this frosting for red velvet cupcakes and it was absolutely delicious. It held up well to heat and crusted quickly. I've spent a long time experimenting with cream cheese frostings and this is definitely the best one i've found for decorating and i will be using it from now on for my 'go to' cream cheese frosting recipe. My only complaint is that the amount of powdered sugar the recipe calls for is absurd in my opinion. I only used 2lbs (which is more than i felt comfortable with) and it held up just fine and was on the verge of being too sweet. I would think using 3 1/2 lbs would cancel out any cream cheese flavor. However that's just my opinion, and i don't like very sweet things so i could be wrong! Overall i was very happy with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

    • on December 20, 2011

      I made this exactly as written except that I didn't have any vanilla so I substituted Vanilla Nut & Butter extract. I was really happy with how it turned out! I made it to use on Sinful Red Velvet Cookies and it made a cookie that was good into a cookie that was FANTASTIC. I smeared it on the cookies and refrigerated them for about an hour until the icing was set and I was able to stack them with no problem. I also had no problems getting the icing to hold after they were at room temperature for quite a few hours. Thanks for posting! This is now my go to cream cheese frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      excellent for decorating and keep well too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      I have used this recipe countless times and can't believe I haven't posted a review yet. This is the only icing recipe I will use to decorate my cakes with. It tastes wonderful and works nicely for decorating. Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      This frosting is wonderful. It doesn't "melt" like other cream cheese frosting often does. I used it on sugar cookies and it spread easily and firmed up enough so the plastic wrap I used to cover the cookies didn't stick. It holds up really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      Great teast and very easy to work with. My husband and kids loved it. I seperated the portion that I was going to pipe on and added 1/2 cup more powered sugar for a touch of added thickness. The only change I made was I added 1/2 tbl spoon of almond extract. Under this icing was the recipe for heavenly white cake from allrecipes.com and that was awesome as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      I tried this for a baby shower and used it on strawberry cupcakes. I like the way the frosting held up to storage and displayed very well. I piped it around and around the tops of the cupcakes. I added a little strawberry extract to add to the strawberry experience. I thought they turned out "berry" well. I did not try to smooth the frosting so I cannot comment on that aspect. Overall, a very nice and easy to use frosting. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crusting Cream Cheese Icing/Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (2387 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 10300.8
     
    Calories from Fat 3979
    38%
    Total Fat 442.2 g
    680%
    Saturated Fat 233.8 g
    1169%
    Cholesterol 987.8 mg
    329%
    Sodium 4275.0 mg
    178%
    Total Carbohydrate 1604.2 g
    534%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1569.1 g
    6276%
    Protein 28.8 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes