8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We enjoyed this recipe and plan to make it again. Super budget friendly and I have to give 5 stars to the name of the recipe as well! Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KISS THE COOK January 10, 2012

This is great and very healthy! I used half the seasoning packet and It still had flavor. I added some mushrooms since I had them in the fridge and they needed to be used. I might even try bean sprouts or water chestnuts next time. It was great! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
E.A. May 05, 2009

This is difficult to rate. It didn't knock my socks off, but it is colorful, healthy, tasty and crunchy--so it gets the five stars. I used about half the seasoning packet and suspect that next time I will forego that and just add soy sauce. I agree that the amount of cabbage seems huge, but it does cook down a lot. Nevertheless, I think that for the size of cabbages we get in America (excessively large), a quarter each of red and green would be better. Thanks for creating this dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT November 23, 2008

Very tasty and quick to put together. I didn't use very much of the packet seasoning, the dish was flavorful without it. Thanks for a very creative recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheGrumpyChef November 23, 2008

This was very tasty! The only different thing I did was cook the ramen by itself (not crumbled) then add it to the rest of ingredients. And the leftovers were just as good the next day. I agree -- will make this many, many more times. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty November 21, 2008

Easy and quick, I didn't add extra peanut oil for the second frying in step three as I didn't seem to need it. Also only used half packet of the seasoning. At the very end of cooking and just before serving I put a drop or two of sesame oil for extra flavour. I will make this again many times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andypandy November 21, 2008

This was excellent! I cut the recipe down to serve two and it made so much that I was able to have leftovers the next day. It held up well and didn't lose the crunch which surprised me. I enjoyed the leftovers cold and I'm thinking that I even liked it better that way. I know the requirement was to use pre-cooked chicken but the marinated strips cooked up quick and was full of flavor. I didn't use the peanut oil in step 3 because the chicken had plenty of oil on it from the marinate. I also enjoyed the fact that this recipe was low in fat and sodium but high in fiber. Made for dining on a $ cooking contest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas November 20, 2008

5 stars for taste. We really enjoyed both the color & texture of this dish. My kids loved that the red cabbage tinted their ramen noodles purple. lol Very easy recipe that was plenty filling. I did try it leftover from the fridge about 10 hours later. Most of the cabbage was still crisp & there was still plenty of flavor. I had to assign 4 stars because the recipe doesn't use pre-cooked chicken (a contest ingredient) & because I think the proportions might be off in the ingredient list. I was using a 15 inch skillet with 3 inch tall sides & only used 1/4 of each cabbage & I still had an overflowing pan on the stove. I never would have been able to prepare it if I'd used all the cabbage called for. Thank you for sharing your creation! Made for Fall 08 Dining on a Dollar #1 - Ramen Noodle challenge.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** November 20, 2008
Crunchy Rainbow Bowl for Men Without Yen