Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crunchy Part of a Cadbury's Crunchie Bar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crunchy Part of a Cadbury's Crunchie Bar

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2003

      What GREAT fun! Mirj, you aren't kidding about the sci-fi aspect of this treat! I thought my pot was going to foam over. Truth be told, I had to make this twice because I let the first batch go a little too long... color is so subjective, you know?! One cook's "rusty caramel" is another's "jurassic amber" is another's "golden honey". My advice to others is to let the sugar syrup color only very lightly -- I would call the color "golden honey"-- lest you end up with a really neat looking but very burnt tasting candy! By letting the syrup color to a light golden hue, I ended up with a batch of wonderful crunchy toffee that is so close to the Cadbury Crunchy "crunchy" bits that we were well pleased! It only took our candy about 30 minutes to "set" hard enough to crack into pieces. Thanks for passing this one on; it's a really fun treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2003

      Very cool, my favorite chocolate bar. I tried this recipe and it turned out great. It took a little longer than 3-4 minutes to turn color for me, but it didn't take that long to get hard so I broke it up and drizzled chocolate over the all the pieces. yum Clean up was the hardest part. The kids thought it was really neat. Thanks for the great recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      I'm a Canadian living in the US and miss all my Canadian chocolate bars, with Crunchie being one of my favorites (along with Aero bars). Have not made this yet, but it sounds amazing and will be trying very soon. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2013

      I had my first cadbury crunchie bar yesterday, fantastic. This is just as good! I did add a quarter cup of water to ease the mixing process, didn't seem to affect all to much, thanks again !! XD

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Excellent!! This tastes exactly like the "sponge candy" I used to buy! I can't quit eating it, it's addicting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      This should be called husband pleasing toffee. My DH is from the UK and loves crunchie bars. We can find them here but they cost more than a dollar a bar. He was thrilled to pieces with this recipe ( I like it a lot too). It is also extreemly easy quick and inexpensive. The ingredients are things I always have on hand!!! Thank you Mirj!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      Used dark corn syrup and took it off the heat just when it started changing colour... tastes perfect. Spread it into a greased silicone pan. Unfortunately, it lost most of its volume when I transferred it into the other pan; I wonder if pouring the candy in the pan and adding the baking soda there would keep it foamier? We call it sponge toffee here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      Great recipe......to ease cleanup line pan with foil and butter then complete recipe......pans clean up with soak in hot water......or you can use foil half sheet pan and butter this also!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      I would like to say that i tried pouring it on wax paper to avoid washing the dish ! it is much easier. And seriously. It doesn't take several hours! it is edible in less than 15 minuets!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      I used to love crunchies when i lived in New Zealand. I made this for my American Friends, they didnt seem to enjoy it as much as I did. A easy clean up is to just boil water in the pan. Also grease the pan a ton, it really sticks well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      Delicious!!!! No more buying Crunchie bars. Easy to make and as nice as the bought stuff! I coat it in chocolate and you cant tell the difference. One of my favourite recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      this is much like the Violet Crumbles that my Australian friends bring me. Very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      This was very good, not to mention addictive. The only difficulty I had was that as soon as I added the baking soda and watched it foam up for about 5 seconds, my mixture hardened in the pan. My second batch I really quickly poured it in after whisking and I got most of it into the pan, but some of it still hardened in the pot. Clean up was the worst too, but it was worth it to have homemade crunchie bars! Next time I think I'll try drizzling some chocolate on top. Thanks Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      Its just hokey pokey we have it all the time in the coolest country in the world New Zealand

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2006

      I made this for Xmas last year and gave it in tins with peanut brittle. I also had a few "practice" batches for myself, which also turned out wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      OK- I tried it twice- first time, cooked about 10 minutes to a sandy color, but it darkened when I added soda, and had a VERY burnt taste, but the right texture. My fault, overcooked. Second time, cooked for 3-4 minutes, but it didn't puff up much when I added the soda and was NOT right at all!!! I am waiting to get a candy thermometer and will try to do it by temperature. A perfect example, of why you can't make candy without a thermometer....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2005

      Thank You soooo much for posting this. My DH loves crunchie bars but unfortunatly we can only get then when we go on vacation to Canada. I followed this to a T great post

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2005

      I hoping to teach this to my students here in Japan, as a lesson on KIWI sweets. But can anyone tell me how to get the crunchy part to be lighter?? When i trialed it mine went quite hard, like it would break ya teeth! how can I make it lighter like the crunchie bar version? I only have a 1 hour lesson to make it in. choc coating and all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2004

      Great recipe, Mirj! I love Crunchie Bars too and this is very close, like honeycomb candy if you're not familiar with the Crunchie. Very good instructions here. Be sure and butter the sides of your pan as well as the bottom and don't spread the mixture when you pour it into the pan, it will take out the lovely air bubbles. I cooked until about 285 degrees on the candy thermometer and dipped what was left after sampling in melted Guittard milk chocloate chips. LIke any other candy, don't make this on a humid day. Yummy! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Candy Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crunchy Part of a Cadbury's Crunchie Bar

    Serving Size: 1 (15 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 51.8
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    73%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 238.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 10.8 g
    43%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites