63 Reviews

I made this tonight and it was sensational. I did however forget to put the sesame seeds in and I used half the amount of sesame oil and made up the other half with vegetable oil. The flavours were incredible. I will definately make this again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angie1978 March 11, 2013

This is a keeper. We had guests for dinner and I was amazed and pleased at how many had seconds -- should have doubled the recipe. It was a huge success. Been looking for a delicious cole slaw recipe for a long time and this is it. Thank you Mamma's Kitchen.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ptangeles July 30, 2012

Perfect! Just perfect! I love that this is so easy and cheap to make. My ten year old daughter won't eat salad but she loves cabbage, she loves this! Thank you for this wonderful recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliMali5417 August 11, 2012

My DH gave this salad five stars; I gave it three, so I compromised at four. I followed the directions, but I think it would have been better to add the dressing to the salad and refrigerate for about an hour to blend flavors. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds July 23, 2012

Made a small portion of this last nite with half a bag of cole slaw mix.. leftover from mu shu pork the nite before... Found some breaded shrimp in the freezer so topped the salad with those.. Dressing is light and flavorful.. Added some green salad lettuces to the cabbage.. I think almonds and sesame could be toasted, dressing made ahead of time.. Very little to put it together on a shoestring of time.. Would be proud to serve it to spur of the moment company.. Thx.. Nora

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
'nora July 21, 2012

The flavor was pretty good, but the raw noodles were a little to weird for me. Next time I will substitute crunchy chow mein noodles instead, like the canned La Choy brand. Great concept though.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookingwithpassion July 17, 2012

I love recipes that makes my husband beg me to make again and again. I made this last night and he is already asking when I am I going to make it again....5 stars!!!! As with all the other great cooks (reviewers) here, I took liberties with this recipe. I hope you don't mind this, Mama Hope. Followed the recipe but this is how I tweeked it... To start with, I purchased 1- 10 oz. bagged pre-shredded cabbage slaw, it was an "Angel Hair" cut that had no other veggies with it....yum. Just cabbage finely shredded. Toasted everything.....except the sesame seeds as they already were. Halved the oil, gave a couple of shakes from the sesame oil bottle, for more flavor, as I already put in toasted seeds in. Used Splenda as suggested. Used 1 and half of the noodles and only 1 of the soup stock packages as that is where all the sodium hides for me....still tasty. Hand shredded in two breasts off of a store bought rotisserie chicken....yep, still more chicken left to make more of this great salad tomorrow......I can't wait! Thanks!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fireflylover July 13, 2012

I just made this & it was gone in about 2 minutes. Looks like next time I will have to double or triple it. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babyruffy July 12, 2012

I highly recommend trying this out, you will not be disappointed! I found this recipe a few years ago and have made it dozens of times since. Since then I have adapted it a little. You can see my adapted version here: http://fawnoverthisdish.blogspot.com/2011/07/crunchy-cabbage-salad.html

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fawnoverthisdish July 27, 2011

I have made this three separate times for large group gatherings, doubling & tripling & more as needed for groups of 20 - 80 people. It always looks so bland at first, but is DELICIOUS as you let it sit and the flavors intensify. It is MUCH better if the almonds and sesames are well toasted. I also make the dressing earlier and refrigerate it. Thanks for this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qpublic November 10, 2013
Crunchy Noodle Salad *Award Winning*