11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Love this salad, great to have in the fridge for quick meals. I agree about the baby beluga/ black lentils-- they are perfect for this. Colors are festive, and the black lentils hold their shape so well. Trader Joes has excellent precooked baby belugas which make the recipe even faster & easier. After letting the salad marinate overnight in the fridge, I corrected the seasoning with lots more lemon juice and more cumin. I would never had thought to use cumin, but it's PERFECT and brings the whole dish together. Great salad, looks festive over baby greens. Now a staple!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ddgattina November 27, 2009

This is so good. Much better than you would think it would be. I followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful. I chopped everything in my mini- chopper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justleni April 13, 2009

I changed the recipe a bit so I'm not sure I should even be rating, but as a base, this was just wonderful. I left out the cumin (personal preference) and added in a yellow bell pepper and a cucumber. I grated the carrot and fine-diced everything else and the result was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SilverOpera March 16, 2009

Very good salad. I served it over mixed greens. I cut the garlic down ...I love garlic but it doesn't love me. Easy lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrVanilla November 29, 2008

Only change was to use black "beluga" lentils, since they are especially good at holding their shape and the color "pops" against the orange of the carrot and green of the celery. ice vinaigrette (although I did cut back a bit on the garlic). Excellent to take to a picnic or potluck. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheSource September 05, 2008

we just had this for lunch, halved the recipe for 2 - it was so amazing i had to come on here straight away to say thank you! wonderful salad, easy to make a single serving too. i didnt have any thyme so i added a little dried chives and a pinch of nutmeg. it was truly delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamonised September 13, 2007

Oh my, how I loved this!! I used a bit extra of the carrot (I had a a lot left in a bag of those baby carrots so I diced up the whole bunch very fine; did not really measure)- the rest I added as suggested (the colors were lovely - orange, green and purple/red) I used sea-salt (I find that works nicely in any salad if using salt at all) What a great recipe...I loved the "crunch" of the veggies and the flavors of the spices, juice, herbs and oil are wonderful with the lentils. I knew I would like this but I was surprised just how much!!! - Amazingly good... special yet simple...a definite pleasure! Thanks so much for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free June 16, 2007

So good. I'm not a huge fan of lentils but this is a terrific way to eat them. Whole family enjoyed and a very balanced meatless meal. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT3

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_wing June 15, 2007

Much better than the sum of its parts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha June 04, 2007

So flavorful and easy to make. To think that something so good is good for you! I followed the recipe exact and used the full 2 teaspoons of salt. The olive oil I used was basil infused, which only enhanced the already great flavors. This one is a keeper. Thanks for posting a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alskann May 19, 2007
Crunchy Lentil Salad