Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crunchy Granola Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crunchy Granola

    Average Rating:

    144 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 144

    Sort by:

    • on December 09, 2009

      Delicious; I used 1/2 cup of orange juice instead of water. I just made a "ginger spice" version to make it a little seasonal... so delicious: with the nuts, I added 2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp ground cardamom, 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp ground ginger and after cooling completely, 1 cup dried sweetened cranberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      I love this recipe. I substitute some maple syrup for some of the brown sugar and typically add walnuts and almonds (raw and unsalted). This is great with banana chips, extra nuts and cinnamon for a banana bread granola. I've also done dried apples, raisins and cinnamon, coconut and apricot, apricot and cranberry and even banana/coconut/pineapple. It won't give you "clusters" but it's easy and delicious no matter what the combo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      The taste of this granola was ok, the problem is that there is nothing that helps it bind. It ended up falling apart, not like you would expect granola to clump. It needs either some honey, corn syrup and maybe some oil. It just was kind of blah. It's good base though, I liked the flavor of the brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      I just made this and it is awesome stuff! I used 4 cups of regular oats and 4 cups of quick oats as someone else had suggested and got lots of nuggets. I also added some cinnamon, coconut, chopped dried apricots, dried cranberries and raisins after it was cooled ( about 3/4 cup of each). I will definitely be making this again.. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      Super recipe! Very easy, and way less expensive then many other recipes I've tried. Not sure if any one has posted this yet, but I noticed there were a lot of people wishing that this granola had "clusters". Last night I was getting ready to make this, but discovered that I only had 4 cups of rolled oats, and 4 cups of 1-minute quick oats. I thought that I'd give it a try and lo and behold, I got clusters! The hot sugar/water was enough to 'cook' the quick oats and then they stuck together with the old fashioned oats and nuts. I was very pleased! And no extra added sugars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      There's a reason this has >100 glowing reviews. It is a great recipe. I usually add 1C chopped dried apricots, 1c grated coconut, 1-2C raisins, 1 c flax seed

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Well, I fixed my sweet problem! I took 4 of the 8 cups of this granola and made granola bars. Actually I solved two problems. sweetness, and the problem that my dogs and the Swiffer were getting more of this loose granola than me. I also wanted to take some to work. This came out fantastic! Spray a 13X9 pan with Pam. Measure a piece of foil to go over the pan, spray it with Pam too. Once the mixture is spread out evenly in the pan, you need to put the sprayed foil on top, get a wooded chopping board and press the mixture down, stand on the board if you have to. Let it cool and cut into bars. I found them a little sticky, but they held together. I put mine in a zip lock and put them in the fridge. "PERFECT" stayed crispy, not sticky, and mobile. My dogs hated my adaptation! Here's the how to: 1/2 cup light corn syrup 1/4 cup honey 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon Bring the mixture to rolling boil for one minute. Pour over the granola and mix well, it will be stiff. Pour evenly into sprayed pan. Press it down.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2014

      Great granola recipe. I pretty much followed your recipe, but did add in 1/2 cup of ground flax meal. Dates, almonds and pecans rounded out this yummy recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      I used this as a basic recipe to make a delicious granola we enjoyed with unhomoginised organic yogurt. I used some organic cane sugar and molasses as that was the only type of sugar I had on hand. It worked well. We got chunks of granola which we like. I used a little less water because of using molasses, alcohol free vanilla from the health food shop, less sea salt, wheat free organic oats, a bit of sliced almonds, but mostly walnuts in place of pecans, for the dried fruit which is very important to add only after cooking I added organic raisins, organic dried apricots, and dates. I will use this recipe again inshallah Allah. In fact I already bought more oats for it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      Absolutely awesome! Hubby and I are addicted! Great with vanilla yogurt or milk. It doesn't last long at our house! Only changes I've made are to use walnuts instead of almonds, and about 1/4 cup of real maple syrup with the brown sugar water. So many ways to tweak and enhance! Thanks for a great granola!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      I made this recipe using 3/4 cup Splenda Brown sugar blend to cut the sugar/carbohydrate count. I also bumped up the pecans. I put about a quarter cup of this in a half cup of Greek Yogurt (again to lower the sugar content) and boy oh boy does that make a nice breakfast/snack. My husband and kids love it too, the latter eat it dry as a snack! Thanks much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2012

      Pretty simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      I made this recipe twice now--so easy and yummy. The second time I also added walnuts and sunflower seeds. It's such a nice versatile recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      This is my favorite granola. It's super easy to make and we make it about once a month. it's always gone within a week. makes alot! I love it with milk as a cereal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2012

      Just made this just as directed and add raisins...it's very good. I will be making this again. Thanks for posting.
      Rachel C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      This is my first time making granola and its fantastic. I just used sliced almonds this time, but I want to try it with all kinds of nuts and maybe some coconut. Thank you for this awesome recipe. We love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      This is a really good granola recipe. It is very easy and basic and not super expensive as some of the other granolas can be. I made it just as written but drizzled a bit of honey once in the pan to help it clump a little. It clumped enough for me! I also added some ground flax seeds to bump up the omegas. Thanks for the great recipe ciao!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      A great basic recipe. I added herbs (ie cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg...) to mine. Will play around with it, using different fruits and nuts and spice combinations. Very easy and fun. Getting tons of compliments on this. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      This is amazing granola. Since I was putting this into another recipe that called for granola, I made it just plain-no nuts even. Great by itself; it is subtly sweet! The proportion of brown sugar and water is perfect. And as it's cooking, it smells so good. Yumm! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      Happy to see some sugar alternatives...maple syrup worked great, and gave yummy flavor. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Breakfast Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crunchy Granola

    Serving Size: 1 (136 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 533.2
     
    Calories from Fat 173
    32%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 292.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 80.8 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 9.1 g
    36%
    Sugars 33.9 g
    135%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites