Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crunchy Fried Shrimp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crunchy Fried Shrimp

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2012

      Awesome shrimp!!! I followed the reviews and used panko crumbs and a little old bay seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2012

      Amazingly delicious! We have a new indoor electric fryer and we've been trying out various items in it. These shrimp have been one of the best things we've done so far. We used panko breadcrumbs, but made the batter as directed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      These were so nice and crunchy. My DH said he really did like them. This is a keeper for sure. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      Great recipe! I used panko crumbs because that's what I had on hand and they turned out wonderful! I also added some old bay to the batter. I will definately be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Excellent recipe because the breading is light so the shrimp flavor comes through. Best fried shrimp I've made or had in restaurants. Trying it with clams next. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      My family loved these! They weren't difficult to make. Soooo crunchy. Eat 'em fast cause they disappear quickly. Didn't change a thing. I always keep shrimp in the house for Scampi, use them with lots of pasta dishes so this was a nice change of pace. Thank you...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      My husband decided to try this recipe friday night to go along with our fish. We really enjoyed this and loved how the batter stuck to the shrimp. We added a little more salt, pepper, garlic and old bay seasoning to the batter and used Panko bread crumbs. We set our dep fryer to 360 and it was done quickly. We made a butter dip with lemon and lime squeezed in it. This will definitely be made many times in our household. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      These were great. I served them with 2Bleu's Easy Cod Fish Fritters and Kittencal's Tartar Sauce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      My mother made this recipe and complaied that there was no taste to the shrimp. Proved hard to make because the oil splashed while they were being fried and the flakes wouldn't stay on. She blamed the water use for the splashing and wondered if milk should have been used instead. Ended up putting the whole eggs into the shrimp and it became some sort of a shrimp omelette. Not the worst recipe in the world though. More flavorings would have made it better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      Delicious, If you like spicy you can put some red chilli powder and hot garaam masala in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      I hate to give this a low rating since everyone else seems to have loved it, but I followed the instructions explicitly and wasn't impressed with the results. The batter tended to come off during the dipping in cornflake crumbs process and then the breading tended to come off when frying in the crisco. The first half of the batch turned out looking alright, but the second half weren't very attractive as a result of the above stated problems. And in the end we found the flavor to be pretty bland - basically tasted like shrimp and corn flakes. They were better when dipped in A1 but without that, no flavor to speak of. Sorry! We won't be making these again though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2006

      This is a very good recipe! The shrimp stayed moist and the coating was light and crispy. DH thought these were just great! This is going into my "Keeper Cookbook".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2006

      These were GREAT!!!! Tasty, crispy and crunchy!!! When I tasted the first one, I literally said "WOW!" The batter did stick well and everything worked out just as described in the other reviews. Only thing I would do differently next time is drain them better/longer. Thanks for such a great recipe!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      This is totally the very best recipe I have ever made so far for frying shrimp. I did change one thing and that was I used "Sunluck Panko Breading" in place of the cornflake crumbs,only because thats what I had on hand. I also halved the recipe for just 1 pound of shrimp. I added seasoning salt and black pepper to the panko breading and fellowed the recipe as stated. It was outstanding!!! It was like having fried shrimp from a resturant. I LOVED IT! Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. Its one I will be using from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      I made this recipe today as one of three I chose (by KC Farmwife). Well, this goes straight into my cookbook. KS Farmwife, your shrimp takes less time to make than you thought: it was actually very easy, and after a minute or so in hot oil they were deep golden brown. I had to use a little less water in my batter -- I think my egg whites were quite large and I didn't want to thin the batter too much. What surprised me most was how the batter and cornflake crumbs stuck -- not a single itsy-bitsy came off in the oil! Also, I don't have a deep-fryer so merely used a heavy, deep pot. The jumbo shrimps (or tiger prawns as they're called here) were also sweet and tasty on the inside. A GREAT recipe. I'd say, if one used this as a snack or light meal, more than one dipping sauce might be good. I was thinking that sweet chilli sauce (the Thai sauce) would also be great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crunchy Fried Shrimp

    Serving Size: 1 (197 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 272.9
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    26%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 143.0 mg
    47%
    Sodium 854.2 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 19.2 g
    38%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes