13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful bread! I didn't have natural bran, so I used wheat germ and added 1/4 c. sunflower seeds with the sesame seeds & just a little more water. I used my bread machine and baked in a 9 x 5 pan at 350 for 40 minutes. It is very light and tasty. Will definitely make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sbaur803 April 15, 2009

This was a tasty loaf of bread! I followed the directions and used regular oats in place of quick cooking oats. This bread does take a long time to raise - and is noted in the directions. I am glad I had started it as early as I did! :) DS #2 who is super picky said he was happy to eat this for dinner tonight. Made for the May 2009 Aussie/NZ recipe swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef on the coast May 07, 2009

This was makes a very nice loaf of bread. I didn't have any cornmeal, so I used a little more oats, sesame seeds and bran. I liked the subtle taste of honey in this bread. I'll be making this again. Thanks, wicked! Made for Bevy Tag April '09.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mami J April 24, 2009

These make a nice grain bun that holds up well for hamburgers. Made 12 buns and used an egg white wash before putting in the oven, took about 15 mins. I used millet but I'd try sesame or raw sunflower next time. I laid the baking sheet on top of a warm heating pad to encourage rising. For sure I'll be using this again, thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3shihmum February 26, 2009

This certainly lives up to it's name! Mice crunchy crust, and dense and soft on the inside. Great bread to serve with soup! I used sesame seeds. I combined both methods. I used the bread machine to do the kneading and finished by hand (rises and baking). I made mine in a loaf pan. Thanks for this keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey February 08, 2009

Let me tell you how good this bread is. My husband only eats store-bought sandwich bread. He actually ate two slices when still wam and two more this morning for breakfast--a meal he always skips! Mine looked just like Karen Elizabeth's. The only change I'll make next time is to ground the millet. (Oh, and I used 2 cups whole wheat and the rest white flour.) Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsK December 07, 2009

Loved the texture and look forward to trying different add-ins. Really beautiful bread. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview November 08, 2009

This is definitely a great recipe for making a very, very nice loaf of bread, what with this combo of grain & seed & flour, but understand, it won't last long at all ~ Two of us devoured it in less than 12 hours! Thanks for sharing a keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike October 22, 2009

Excellent bread, easily prepared in my ABM, well, the dough part at any rate, and then turned out to be shaped and rise again, before baking in the oven. Good tasty bread, I was very happy with this and will definitely make it again! made for ZWT5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth June 08, 2009

I can't help but believe that this is a healthy for you type of bread even though I didn't have any whole-wheat flour when I went to go make this:-(. So I used all purpose in place of. I also didn't have natural bran and so used oat bran. The rest of the ingredient list I followed exactly. I did the dough portion in my breadmachine and then let the dough raise in a bread pan for an hour b/f baking. Mine was done in 33 minutes on 375 degrees. I don't ever have real good results in baking bread, but this was easy and simple to follow. :-) Made for HolidayTag~!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB May 11, 2009
Crunchy Farmhouse Bread