Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crunchy Farmhouse Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crunchy Farmhouse Bread

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2009

      Wonderful bread! I didn't have natural bran, so I used wheat germ and added 1/4 c. sunflower seeds with the sesame seeds & just a little more water. I used my bread machine and baked in a 9 x 5 pan at 350 for 40 minutes. It is very light and tasty. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      This was a tasty loaf of bread! I followed the directions and used regular oats in place of quick cooking oats. This bread does take a long time to raise - and is noted in the directions. I am glad I had started it as early as I did! :) DS #2 who is super picky said he was happy to eat this for dinner tonight. Made for the May 2009 Aussie/NZ recipe swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      This was makes a very nice loaf of bread. I didn't have any cornmeal, so I used a little more oats, sesame seeds and bran. I liked the subtle taste of honey in this bread. I'll be making this again. Thanks, wicked! Made for Bevy Tag April '09.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      These make a nice grain bun that holds up well for hamburgers. Made 12 buns and used an egg white wash before putting in the oven, took about 15 mins. I used millet but I'd try sesame or raw sunflower next time. I laid the baking sheet on top of a warm heating pad to encourage rising. For sure I'll be using this again, thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      This certainly lives up to it's name! Mice crunchy crust, and dense and soft on the inside. Great bread to serve with soup! I used sesame seeds. I combined both methods. I used the bread machine to do the kneading and finished by hand (rises and baking). I made mine in a loaf pan. Thanks for this keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      Let me tell you how good this bread is. My husband only eats store-bought sandwich bread. He actually ate two slices when still wam and two more this morning for breakfast--a meal he always skips! Mine looked just like Karen Elizabeth's. The only change I'll make next time is to ground the millet. (Oh, and I used 2 cups whole wheat and the rest white flour.) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Loved the texture and look forward to trying different add-ins. Really beautiful bread. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      This is definitely a great recipe for making a very, very nice loaf of bread, what with this combo of grain & seed & flour, but understand, it won't last long at all ~ Two of us devoured it in less than 12 hours! Thanks for sharing a keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Excellent bread, easily prepared in my ABM, well, the dough part at any rate, and then turned out to be shaped and rise again, before baking in the oven. Good tasty bread, I was very happy with this and will definitely make it again! made for ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      I can't help but believe that this is a healthy for you type of bread even though I didn't have any whole-wheat flour when I went to go make this:-(. So I used all purpose in place of. I also didn't have natural bran and so used oat bran. The rest of the ingredient list I followed exactly. I did the dough portion in my breadmachine and then let the dough raise in a bread pan for an hour b/f baking. Mine was done in 33 minutes on 375 degrees. I don't ever have real good results in baking bread, but this was easy and simple to follow. :-) Made for HolidayTag~!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      Really great bread (even though I misread sesame seeds and added sunflower!) Definately a keeper - thanks so much for sharing it! I made it using my Kitchen Aid Mixer and it was so easy - I imagine it would turn out fantastic with the bread machine, too. **Update - made it again, with the sesame seeds this time - it was just as amazing (sorry, no picture this time, it didn't last!) Thanks so much for my new favourite bread recipe - you really are a wicked cook!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      This came out quite well! I added a bit more water and will add even a bit more next time, as the top crust was lumpy but it had good rise and good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I'm in love with this bread. I can't use a big loaf before it goes off so I like to make buns. I can keep them in the freezer and use them one at a time as I want. I didn't have the seeds but all else was as ask with the exception of the honey for which I used Splenda. Love the low fat and the healthy grains in that and best of all it tastes wonderful and made one mean veggie chicken burger tonight :D. Without doubt I'll be making this again and again, I'm popping this recipe into My All Time Fav's cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crunchy Farmhouse Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (37 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 95.6
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    15%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 11.3 mg
    3%
    Sodium 109.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites