Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crunchy Chinese Chicken Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crunchy Chinese Chicken Salad

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2011

      My friend has made this recipe at our work potlucks for years, and it is always the best thing there! She only uses one package of the ramen noodles, and makes the dressing the night before. About 30 minutes before serving, she stirs in the crushed ramen noodles and dressing. This way the noodles are really crunchy!! Trust me, you can't go wrong with this one..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      My family loved this! I used the chile flavor seasoning packet from ramen. I reduced the oil and used half peanut, and half sesame-chile oil. I also reduced the sugar to 2 tablespoons. Very, very, good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Excellent! Followed the recipe exactly except I only added 3 tablespoons of sugar. I also added a little Chicken Chili Sauce (3 tbs.) which I had purchased at my local Asian market. I didn't put in as much cilantro as I feel it can overwhelm a dish. I did include the gingerroot. Awesome, will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      This is soooo good. I used regular cabbage since I didn't have any napa on hand. It didn't make a difference. This is such a tasty salad. I love the crunch from the ramen noodles and the toasted almonds. I think this would be equally as good without the chicken breast for a side salad. Thank you for this delicious salad.....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      Yummy! I made this and used both pkts of raman seasoning, was not too salty at all. Also used cashews instead of almonds. I would mix up about 50% more dressing though, as it absorbs into the noodles it causes some dryness. Unless you do as hotlilnumber suggested. I think I will try that next time I make this (tomorrow!!) I also added some tiny broccoli florets and thinly sliced carrots. It was a HIT!! Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      This is one of my favorite recipes of all time! I am so glad you have put it on here. I usually add mandarin oranges for sweetness & the noodles in last for extra crunch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Wonderful--definitely a 5-star recipe. The only thing I'd do different next time is not put the ramen noodles in until serving time (I like them crunchier). I also added 1/2 can water chestnuts, diced. I didn't use the seasoning packet (too much MSG), but made my own seasoning with 3 cloves garlic, minced, 2-3 tsp. shoyu (a type of soy sauce), 1 tsp. Hoisin sauce, 1 Tbsp. fish sauce (you don't taste this, but it gives it "umami") and 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes. The salad got rave reviews; it's way superior to anything I've ever had in a restaurant or from a deli. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      I CRAVE this recipe!! It is amazing!! Relatively similar to Tasty Ramen Broccoli Cole Slaw and just as tasty. I always use both ramen seasoning packets (why not?!) otherwise one would just go to waste! I think it gives it more flavor. Oh and btw I didn't realize that this had a 'marinating' time and was in a crunch so we went ahead and ate it.... still AMAZING!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      I really liked the dressing but did not like the raw napa cabbage. Will try with a different kind of greens next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      This is really a fantastic salad! My friend brought this our weenie roast last November and it was the first to go! In a pinch, you could also use the Chinese Chicken Salad dressing (and rotisserie chicken!) from Costco :) Thanks for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      YUMMY!!! Fab the second day, too! I'm a veg head so I made this into a meal by adding tofu! I took the seasoning packet reserved for the salad and sprinkled 1/2 on the chopped tofu (bite size). Fried in a pan on medium with a little EVOO and a little soy. When done, I just sprinkled with the rest of the packet (chicken). Added the other packet (oriental) as normal to the dressing. This is SO good and so easy! I also opted to 1/2 and 1/2 EVOO and sesame oil - I think it would have been too strong had I not. Also, since DH doesn't welcome cabbage with open arms, I added 1/2 lettuce and 1/2 cabbage. He loved it! Thanks, will definently make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      I love this salad!!! I can't stop eating it!!!!!! Made it with regular cabbage and it was great- thanks for a great way to use up leftover chicken!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      I was looking for a recipe to use some napa cabbage that I had lying around, wanting to go brown. This was perfect. We had tried a similar salad at Christmas and liked it. I was prepared to have to eat it myself if my DH didn't like it, he does not like coleslaw. Well that was not a problem, he went back for more. I didn't have sesame seeds so I added sunflower seeds and left out the cilantro, none of that either. I didn't have a lot of cabbage so I halved the recipe but made the full amount of dressing. I ate the rest for breakfast this morning and it was even better. Also didn't add chicken because I wanted it as a side dish. Thanks so much for a great recipe that I'm sure we will use again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      This was great. Unfortunately I misread the recipe and only on the last line realised that I was supposed to put this into the fridge overnight! I used 2 packets of chicken flavoured 2 minute noodles but instead of the noodles opted for crunchy precooked chinese noodles. Loved the flavour of the dressing. Will definitely make again soon as I'm intreguiged as to how the 2 minute noodles will turn out after leaving in the fridge overnight. We really enjoyed the chicken flavour but would love to try the oriental flaour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      Great! Makes a ton! Good for parties and makes a lot even for a family of 5! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      excellent recipe, double for baby shower. Added fresh ginger and parsley instead of cilantro. In addition to sesame toasted, also added slivered almonds, and did 3 to 1 ration with sesame oil and crisco oil. Used boneless chicken breast that had simmered for one hour and shredded the chicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2005

      I enjoyed this recipe very much! I tried to cut it down in size to one portion, since I live alone and I think I managed to get the flavors just right. I poured the dressing on right before serving and it was delicious. The leftover didn't fair very well overnight, so I think this is best served immediately. I have a similar recipe which calls for coleslaw instead of the Napa cabbage. I think I will try it with mandarin oranges and red onion slices next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2005

      Good stuff Sharlene! This is my husband's favorite salad and he wholeheartedly approved of this recipe. I did make a few minor changes: I used regular green cabbage since that's what I had; I only used 3 T sugar and 1/4 cup sesame oil in the dressing because I was afraid that the it would be too sweet and overpowering. I added in 1/4 cup canola oil in place of the sesame and it was just right. We loved the fresh ginger and cilantro in the salad. I'll definitely be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2005

      Wow! Was this ever good. I love Chinese chicken salad, but had never made one. This was pretty easy except I had whole almonds and sliced each one by hand. I used lettuce instead and squeeze tube ginger and cilantro (usually found in the cold produce section). Also I topped with mandarine oranges. With all the vinegar in the dressing that should act as a preservative so I'm going to make a larger batch of dressing that should keep for months in the fridge.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2004

      I have this *EXACT* recipe, minus the ginger root and using only one package of ramen, and I loooove it!! The only difference is I mix the dressing in right before serving, b/c I've found the greens don't "hold up" too well. I've even experimented by using romaine lettuce, and adding mandarin oranges & mushrooms, and DH & I enjoy that for a light meal! Yum and so easy!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crunchy Chinese Chicken Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 549.5
     
    Calories from Fat 357
    65%
    Total Fat 39.7 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 890.2 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.9 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 13.9 g
    55%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    napa cabbage

    chicken breasts

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes