26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful dish! I doubled the sauce ingredients (mayo, cream of chicken soup and lemon) as suggested and chopped up the water chestnuts. This recipes deserves 5 stars.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enobmah September 20, 2002

Melissa Bell - If you prefer more sauce in this dish, I see no reason why you cannot increase the amount of Cream of Chicken Soup and mayo. Also, the water chestnut slices can be halved or quartered, depending on preference. I do not doubt that you had trouble "spreading" the corn flake/butter mixture. It should have been "sprinkled" over the top of the dish. Hope this helps if you make it again. :-)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot July 28, 2002

This tasted good, but a little dry. I had a hard time spreading the corn flake butter mix evenly. If I make it again I won't add the water chestnuts.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa Bell July 25, 2002

DH and I enjoyed the heck out of this. I used Healthy Request, 98% fat free chicken soup, low fat mayo, and added a sprinkle of cayenne pepper. It was absolutely delicious. This is a great recipe to use up that left over chicken. I'll be making this often. Thanks Merlot for another great one!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boca Pat April 12, 2004

We really like this dish. I also added garlic powder, red chili flakes and parsley. But the flavor of the cream of chicken soup and the crunch of the cornflakes makes this for us. Will definitely make again. SEPT. 2 -- Was looking over my reviews and I forgot to add the 5 stars to this dish in the original review. Sorry about that!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty September 02, 2008

I really liked this -- it's great comfort food. I added garlic and another 1/2 cup of celery because I like a crunchier texture. I also doubled the topping. Was tasty as leftovers, too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
david.dittmar April 07, 2008

i love this recipe so much, we were so burned out on the typical chicken casserole dish with cheese, blah, blah.. this is just excellent!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bugged out bird December 18, 2007

I just finished eathing this and already had to comment becuz it was soooo good! I altered mine a little bit to lower the fat. I didn't use the butter, I used low fat cream of mushroom soup and light mayo. I added about 3/4 cup of mushrooms while I was sauteing the celery as well as some red chili flakes to give it a little spice. I added some garlic powder and dry parsley as well. For the topping, I used Baked Ruffles and ommitted the butter for the top too. I think my changes probably made this recipe quite a bit healthier but it still tasted sooooo good!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KHARRISON November 05, 2007

I love this recipe. I added a can of cream of mushroom soup and instead of corn flakes, I used cheddar flavored potato chips. Everyone loved it and I will make this again and again. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan Marie September 20, 2007

This was great! I made it with 98% fat free cream of chicken soup, half regular mayo & half reduced fat mayo and brown rice. A delicious, comforting casserole! I'm making another one tomorrow to take to a friend of mine who just had a baby, and I'm sure she'll love it too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xtine May 21, 2007
Crunchy Chicken Casserole