Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crunchy Chicken Apple Salad Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crunchy Chicken Apple Salad Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 27, 2011

      Yummy! I used leftover rotisserie chicken, homemade mayo, and I did add the curry powder. Used more chicken so I used half a Pink Lady apple. After letting this sit for a bit I added a sprinkle of parm. This is going into whole grain wraps tonight for dinner. Next time I might add some candied pecans. My husband hates traditional chicken salad because he doesn't like the celery, but we love curry, so this is great. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2012

      OK, I gotta admit I was skeptical....chicken, apples, curry powder?? BUT...I had some left over chicken in the fridge and decided to give it a go. WOW, this was great! Loved the flavour of the curry and the hint of lemon....and then the crunchy, tart granny smith apple. Really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      This was the best chicken salad sandwich I've ever had. We used a whole granny smith apple (way more than was called for) and added celery and toasted the whole sandwich after it was assembled. We didn't add any nuts as others have suggested. DH made it again for lunch today (double batch this time) and he hates chicken salad! I was unsure about buttering the bread at first, but I tried one with and one without and it definitely adds a sweetness that balances nicely with the curry powder. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      I really enjoyed the apple in these chicken sandwiches. It reminded me a bit of a waldorf salad. In fact, next time I may add nuts! I chose to wrap the mixture up in tortillas and served them with a nice salad. Very good recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      This recipe makes a tasty sandwich, but I agree with Slatts...next time I'll try some nuts, use a tart apple and boost the seasonings. Made for ZWT #6 and I'm a Quisine Queen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      I agree with PaulaG. Seems like this was missing something and nuts would have been a nice addition. We also doubled the curry powder and will probably double the apples next time too. Served it up on some open face tea sandwiches. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Wow, this is really good chicken salad! I agree it's best with a tart apple. The first time I saw this recipe I sent it to my sister (who had shown me long ago how good apples are in tuna salad) and she loves it, too. Then I forgot to review it, so my apologies for being late. I follow the recipe exactly, except that I haven't braved the curry yet - didn't have any - but will next time. Great sandwich, great appetizer on toast points! Thanks!!  

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      I just learned to love curry and it was great in this sandwich. I added just under 1/2 t curry, red onion (I did not have green), fat free mayo and fresh lemon juice. I also used a Fuji apple but the next time I make this I'll use a tart one like granny smith. Made for * Zaar World Tour 5* 2009 game for team *Genies of Gourmet*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      This was made using a 12.5 oz can of white meat chicken. It was served on top of mixed greens. The curry powder was doubled. I think that the addition of walnuts or pecans along with some dried cranberries would be excellent additions. Made for *ZWT 5*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      This was so easy. I served it as an appertizer on little cracker. I sprinkled dry parsley flakes just to fancy it. I made this by {Cooks with Dirty Faces), for ZWT5. I took a photo, I will post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      My mother and I have always loved chicken salad and I am on an apple kick right now... just before the season is over. I can't always afford a lot being a starving-art-major... but this is such an awesome sandwich. YUM. oh.. for a party, i used the leftover (i only made one) for mini sandwiches and served them with cocktails for the ladies. fun times at the apartment

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      This chicken salad makes a wonderful lunch. Apples and curry go very well together, especially in this salad. I used a whole Gala apple. I served this on fresh onion rolls. Thanx for a great sandwich!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      I used one red apple. Didn't measure. And the 1/4 cup of mayo was perfect. No curry cause I don't like it. I ate it like that in a bowl. Great lunch! Thanks Brenda. Made for the Babes of ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Made & reviewed for ZWT 4 -Kumquat's Kookin' Kaboodles! I really love these sandwiches, they're very similar to Coronation Chicken - just apples instead of apricots! I used a mild madras curry powder which did not overpower everything....The kids enjoyed these too which is always a bonus. Thanks for a yummy recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crunchy Chicken Apple Salad Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (108 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 275.8
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    49%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 42.2 mg
    14%
    Sodium 370.2 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes