14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy! I used leftover rotisserie chicken, homemade mayo, and I did add the curry powder. Used more chicken so I used half a Pink Lady apple. After letting this sit for a bit I added a sprinkle of parm. This is going into whole grain wraps tonight for dinner. Next time I might add some candied pecans. My husband hates traditional chicken salad because he doesn't like the celery, but we love curry, so this is great. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie September 27, 2011

OK, I gotta admit I was skeptical....chicken, apples, curry powder?? BUT...I had some left over chicken in the fridge and decided to give it a go. WOW, this was great! Loved the flavour of the curry and the hint of lemon....and then the crunchy, tart granny smith apple. Really good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reggie's Mom April 18, 2012

This was the best chicken salad sandwich I've ever had. We used a whole granny smith apple (way more than was called for) and added celery and toasted the whole sandwich after it was assembled. We didn't add any nuts as others have suggested. DH made it again for lunch today (double batch this time) and he hates chicken salad! I was unsure about buttering the bread at first, but I tried one with and one without and it definitely adds a sweetness that balances nicely with the curry powder. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
apairofpetducks September 17, 2011

I really enjoyed the apple in these chicken sandwiches. It reminded me a bit of a waldorf salad. In fact, next time I may add nuts! I chose to wrap the mixture up in tortillas and served them with a nice salad. Very good recipe. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood April 28, 2011

This recipe makes a tasty sandwich, but I agree with Slatts...next time I'll try some nuts, use a tart apple and boost the seasonings. Made for ZWT #6 and I'm a Quisine Queen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan June 20, 2010

I agree with PaulaG. Seems like this was missing something and nuts would have been a nice addition. We also doubled the curry powder and will probably double the apples next time too. Served it up on some open face tea sandwiches. Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slatts June 20, 2010

Wow, this is really good chicken salad! I agree it's best with a tart apple. The first time I saw this recipe I sent it to my sister (who had shown me long ago how good apples are in tuna salad) and she loves it, too. Then I forgot to review it, so my apologies for being late. I follow the recipe exactly, except that I haven't braved the curry yet - didn't have any - but will next time. Great sandwich, great appetizer on toast points! Thanks!!  

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ninja June 08, 2009

I just learned to love curry and it was great in this sandwich. I added just under 1/2 t curry, red onion (I did not have green), fat free mayo and fresh lemon juice. I also used a Fuji apple but the next time I make this I'll use a tart one like granny smith. Made for * Zaar World Tour 5* 2009 game for team *Genies of Gourmet*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J May 19, 2009

This was made using a 12.5 oz can of white meat chicken. It was served on top of mixed greens. The curry powder was doubled. I think that the addition of walnuts or pecans along with some dried cranberries would be excellent additions. Made for *ZWT 5*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG May 18, 2009

This was so easy. I served it as an appertizer on little cracker. I sprinkled dry parsley flakes just to fancy it. I made this by {Cooks with Dirty Faces), for ZWT5. I took a photo, I will post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisygrl64 May 12, 2009
Crunchy Chicken Apple Salad Sandwiches