44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a very good recipe. The only reason I did not give it five stars was I thought the parsley was overpowering and it could have used a little less italian seasoning. Outside of that, it was really good. I did follow other cooks suggestions and used Panko bread crumbs instead of saltines. Missing the salt from the saltines, I should have added in a pinch of kosher, but lessons learned. I also used asiago, and I think next time I would use parmesan. The asiago was a little strong. (See the theme of slightly over powering the subtle Tilapia flavor? - not by much though) I also would suggest using cooling racks to back the fish on. Put the cooling racks inside the baking pan (both coated of course) and the fish on the cooling rack. This give both sides of the fihs the crunch you want. Thanks for the recipe!! This is an excellent base with lots of room to play with variations. It will be a staple in with my family.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Londonsbk March 23, 2009

Wonderful recipe! I think the saltines give a better "crunch" than bread crumbs, and will try panko also. I've made this with Italian Seasoning as directed, as well as once with Old Bay Seasoning. Both were delicious. This is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kizzikate April 17, 2008

I used the recipe for 6 small filets. I thought the 1 T. of Italian seasoning was too much. I'll try 1/2 T next time. I used the Panko crumbs instead of saltines. Used 4 T. of butter and that was sufficient.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rjoyce1 October 15, 2014

Darn, this was soooo good that I forgot to take a photo, we all just dug right in and not a bit was left. I did use panko bread crumbs instead of crackers, and followed the rest as directed. We loved it, used Parmesan and know this going to be a family favorite. Thanks so much for posting and next time I'll be sure and get a photo to post

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 August 04, 2014

The whole family loved this one! Great flavor, great texture, fast and easy to make! We love to eat fish and this is a great alternative to frying. I did cut back of the excessive use of butter and it was still wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grrmrgal October 09, 2011

Very tasty and quick to assemble. I used loins in place of fillets, much meatier. I already had saltine crumbs from a previous recipe and did add some lemon juice. Needed nothing else. Thanks for posting, Caroline.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney April 08, 2011

My family does not like to branch out and try new recipes, but they did like this. I LOVED IT. Be careful with the lemon that everyone recommends and DO NOT add too much. The parmesan-butter-italian herb flavor made it melt in my mouth. Definitely will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stefanie828 October 11, 2010

Very good! I didn't have crackers so I used a small can of FF onions....yum! Gave it lots of flavor. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shdyldy April 25, 2010

Yum! I left out the Italian seasoning and didn't put the remaining crumbs or butter over the top of the fillets, and they still tasted fantastic. Served with a spinach salad and Cajun Style Oven Fries Cajun Style Oven Fries. DH and I loved it, the boys gobbled it up too! Thanks for posting, this will become a regular!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eknecht January 19, 2010

This is really good! I used panko breadcrumbs and my kids just ate this up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coastiewife06 November 30, 2009
Crunchy Baked Tilapia