22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Well, I wouldn't swear they were fried, but they sure did taste good! I actually only had some cornbread mix on hand, so I used that instead of cornmeal and flour separately. I added a little bit of garlic to the coating. It was pretty crispy on top, but the bottom got kind of soggy...maybe you could stand to cut down on the amount of butter you drizzle, cause it seemed like a lot of it just kind of pooled up in the bottom of my pan. But otherwise, this was terrific, and really easy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlabamaGirl71 April 07, 2003

Iused buttermilk instead of milk and added a little garlic and let them marinate for a while before coating in cornmeal mix. Got the thumbs up from family

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie March 25, 2003

Used this recipe for my son's southern party he was catering. Southern fried chicken is what everyone thought they were having! They were very surprised when we announced it was baked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madray14 September 03, 2011

This came out great! I brined some chicken drumsticks, then made a flour-cornflake crumb mixture with spices. Baked it on a rack and it came out crispy,moist and tasty. I really enjoyed the flavor. Thanks for the great healthy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PdxBarb March 14, 2011

The flavor of this chicken was very...mehh. Nothing special. I also (as others have stated) experienced the soggy chicken on the bottom....which ultimately turned my chicken into some sort of chicken gravy mess. I wont be making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OhMyCurlz September 28, 2010

Just as tasty as fried. The chicken was moist with great flavor. Surprisingly simple! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VanillaPotter September 14, 2010

Wanted fried chicken but grease bothers both me and my husband. Found this recipe and tried it. Great job! Very good "fried" chicken. I put it a rack above the pan and it works perfectly no soggy chicken. I used the same spices I usually do but included the cornmeal, made it great. Also put the flour mixture in a bag instead of rolling it in a bowl. Even coverage. Will definitley make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fredegirlcooks May 19, 2010

Made this for a Kentucky Derby dinner party this weekend since I was too nervous to make "real" fried chicken. I brined the chicken all morning and then used the same pot to soak it in buttermilk until ready for breading. Improvised with the breading mixture and added garlic powder, extra pepper and cayenne - very tasty. Since many reviews talk about soggy-bottomed chicken, I cooked the chicken on a rack above a baking sheet. No drizzled butter pooling at the bottom! (Also sprayed it a bit with Pam Butter flavor to crisp it up all around). It's not a substitute for fried chicken, but this was a really tasty (and fairly easy) dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Siren Chef May 03, 2010

I didn't follow this recipe exactly, (added some bread crumbs too with additional seasonings like garlic powder) but I have to agree brining the chicken made it really moist and it was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
browniepie April 12, 2009

Nice flavour and easy too but I did have a few problems. I took the advice of other reviewers and cut the butter back to about 1/3 C. I found that it was still too much butter because of the fat that came out of the chicken as it cooked. So I had to drain the juices for the last 20 minutes or so just to get it to crisp up. (My chicken took longer to cook to but maybe my pieces were larger.) I also found that most of the cornmeal did not stick to the chicken and was left in the bowl after I dipped in milk and rolled in the coating. (I used a finely ground corn meal.) That said, I would make this again but reduce the butter even further and drain the pan part way through. I did brine the chicken first as suggested and I liked that idea. Thx SuzieQue.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word February 05, 2009
Crunchy Baked "fried" Chicken