Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crunchy Baked "fried" Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crunchy Baked "fried" Chicken

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2003

      Well, I wouldn't swear they were fried, but they sure did taste good! I actually only had some cornbread mix on hand, so I used that instead of cornmeal and flour separately. I added a little bit of garlic to the coating. It was pretty crispy on top, but the bottom got kind of soggy...maybe you could stand to cut down on the amount of butter you drizzle, cause it seemed like a lot of it just kind of pooled up in the bottom of my pan. But otherwise, this was terrific, and really easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2003

      Iused buttermilk instead of milk and added a little garlic and let them marinate for a while before coating in cornmeal mix. Got the thumbs up from family

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2011

      Used this recipe for my son's southern party he was catering. Southern fried chicken is what everyone thought they were having! They were very surprised when we announced it was baked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      This came out great! I brined some chicken drumsticks, then made a flour-cornflake crumb mixture with spices. Baked it on a rack and it came out crispy,moist and tasty. I really enjoyed the flavor. Thanks for the great healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      The flavor of this chicken was very...mehh. Nothing special. I also (as others have stated) experienced the soggy chicken on the bottom....which ultimately turned my chicken into some sort of chicken gravy mess. I wont be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      Just as tasty as fried. The chicken was moist with great flavor. Surprisingly simple! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      Wanted fried chicken but grease bothers both me and my husband. Found this recipe and tried it. Great job! Very good "fried" chicken. I put it a rack above the pan and it works perfectly no soggy chicken. I used the same spices I usually do but included the cornmeal, made it great. Also put the flour mixture in a bag instead of rolling it in a bowl. Even coverage. Will definitley make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Made this for a Kentucky Derby dinner party this weekend since I was too nervous to make "real" fried chicken. I brined the chicken all morning and then used the same pot to soak it in buttermilk until ready for breading. Improvised with the breading mixture and added garlic powder, extra pepper and cayenne - very tasty. Since many reviews talk about soggy-bottomed chicken, I cooked the chicken on a rack above a baking sheet. No drizzled butter pooling at the bottom! (Also sprayed it a bit with Pam Butter flavor to crisp it up all around). It's not a substitute for fried chicken, but this was a really tasty (and fairly easy) dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      I didn't follow this recipe exactly, (added some bread crumbs too with additional seasonings like garlic powder) but I have to agree brining the chicken made it really moist and it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      Nice flavour and easy too but I did have a few problems. I took the advice of other reviewers and cut the butter back to about 1/3 C. I found that it was still too much butter because of the fat that came out of the chicken as it cooked. So I had to drain the juices for the last 20 minutes or so just to get it to crisp up. (My chicken took longer to cook to but maybe my pieces were larger.) I also found that most of the cornmeal did not stick to the chicken and was left in the bowl after I dipped in milk and rolled in the coating. (I used a finely ground corn meal.) That said, I would make this again but reduce the butter even further and drain the pan part way through. I did brine the chicken first as suggested and I liked that idea. Thx SuzieQue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      Easy to fix and the flavor was alright. I will put the chicken on a rack next time as mine also got soggy on the bottom. I skipped the butter and drizzled just a bit of olive oil over the top. Also appreciated the suggestion to brine the meat ahead of time. I also swapped buttermilk for reg. milk. Will probably fix this again. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      YUM! this was a delicious recipe. Perfect measurements for the flour mixture with the pack of whole chicken parts I used. I was a bit worried about the chili powder over powdering flavor but we couldn't even tell it was in there after baking. I used buttermilk and let marinade 2 hours in ref. and I used olive oil to replace the butter. Turned out great! I will be making this again. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      I would give you 10 stars if I could!!! From preparation to taste, this recipe is a winner! I used your hint about brining my whole cut up chicken in a salt brine... but I had only about 2 hours to let it sit. After I drained off the brine, I just added my milk to the same bag... saving myself the task of washing another bowl. After coating each piece, I laid them on a cookie sheet on top of a baking sheet to catch the drippings. I did not use the butter to save calories and used olive oil spray... The crust was very crispy and crunchy and the meat so tender and moist... My BF looked so surprised when he saw the chicken, since I told him I would never "fry" chicken again! This was the best tasting "fried" chicken we have ever tried... A keeper for sure... Thanks so much for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      My DH and I thought these were okay, but definitely not going to fool anyone into thinking they were fried. I gave it 4 stars for the mere fact that my very picky 2 yr. old ate 1 and 1/2 pieces and was asking for more. For that reason, I'll hold onto this recipe in case no others have such good results. Thanks for a meal where my whole family ate together--and ate the same thing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      Excellent fried chicken. Was very flavorful. I added about 1/2 teaspoon of onion powder and used coarse sea salt instead of table salt in the recipe. Everyone in my family enjoyed it and I plan on making again soon. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      I made this dish not once but twice in less than 1 week. my son loved it. next time i'll use less butter on it. and courser cornmeal. this is a keeper.... I need to make more than just 3 lbs. next time. thank you for such an easy receipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      Made this recipe for a Wedding Reception. The couple had asked for fried chicken. Everyone at the reception thought that it really was deep fried. This was so much easier than deep fried and the taste was fabulous. Thanks SuzieQue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      A very nice recipe for "fried" chicken. I really don't fry anything so I'm alway's looking for an alternative way to make our favorite meals. I cut this recipe in half but I did add a little more chili powder because it only called for 1/4 tsp.(just a personal preference)I baked it at 375' for 45 minutes. Perfection! I would make this one again. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      Excellent baked "fried" chicken! The seasonings were perfect. I used 1/2 buttermilk and 1/2 milk to drip boneless and skinless breasts and thighs in. Used 5 tablespoons butter. It took about 45 minutes to bake. Very moist chicken with a slightly crispy coating. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      This was an excellent way to do chicken. I always prefer to bake the chicken, instead of fry it. The seasonings were perfect. I made Zesty Oven Fries to go with this recipe. I'll make this again, for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crunchy Baked "fried" Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (299 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 781.4
     
    Calories from Fat 504
    64%
    Total Fat 56.0 g
    86%
    Saturated Fat 24.3 g
    121%
    Cholesterol 220.5 mg
    73%
    Sodium 1245.7 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 42.6 g
    85%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes