Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crunch Top Apple Pie (Paula Deen) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crunch Top Apple Pie (Paula Deen)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2006

      This pie is very attractive and delicious ~ We enjoyed it served still warm from the oven along with vanilla ice cream! For the filling I used 5 cups of Granny Smith apple slices, 1 1/2 cups of applesauce, and 2 tablespoons each of flour and lemon juice. Along with the crunch topping I added a light sprinkling of cinnamon then baked the pie for 45 minutes with foil over it for much of that time. I will be making this outstanding pie again ~ Thanks so much for sharing the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      Worst apple pie recipe ever! I almost made this for friends for Thanksgiving, thank aged I didn't! I had to cook the pie for about an extra 30 minutes to get the top to even brown at all, the "crumb" topping was more of just a fine powder than wouldn't brown, and the pie has wayyyyy too much apple sauce and really just tasted like bland applesauce mush. Very little flavor and just mushy and not tasty at all. First and last time I will be trying a Paula Deen recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2013

      great pie, the applesauce adds something special. Very juicy though when cooking, definitey put a tray under it in the oven to catch the drips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      This was a very good and unique pie with the applesauce in it. Leave it to Paula! She always has great recipes. Thanks for posting this lovely recipe that I will be using from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      SOooooooo good :) This recipe has made me famous amongst friends, coworkers, AND in-laws! Ding ding ding! The filling is a bit too liquidy, so I am not quite as liberal with the apple sauce and I always use an extra apple or two. Also-- frozen pie pastry?! NEVER!! Make a pastry with half lard and half butter, and the entire pie will taste THAT much better. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Very good pie. The only changes I made were that I used apple pie spice ( one and a half tsps) and I also added a little of that to the crumb topping. *Baker beware* The filling when this is baking is very liquidy and loose. Bake this on a foil lined pan ( or else you will have a very sticky messy oven). I thought for sure this would never set up, when I took it out of the oven it literally was splashing all over. As it cooled it because nice and firm and you could never tell how loose it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      This apple pie was fantastic! I almost skipped the crunch topping but I'm soooo glad I didn't. It really adds to the pie.Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      What can I say other than Yummmmmm. I made this apple pie and it was gone in about 3 days becuase my family couldn't stop eating it. I pretty much made the recipe as it is stated, but instead of 3 1/2 cups of apples, I just piled them into the dish until they were practically spilling over the sides just because I had tons of apples from my tree in the yard I wanted to use up. You have to try this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      Wow, this was a fantastic pie. I really liked the idea of adding applesauce. I used 4 large apple when sliced was about 5 cups, other that that I followed the recipe exactly. YUMM, YUMM, YUMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      This pie is awesome. I made two for my boyfriend's birthday, and we could not stop eating it. I made very few changes to the recipe: I used whole wheat flour (this was all I had, and I threw in an extra tablespoon) and light brown sugar (all I had). I also let the whole mixture sit overnight in the fridge before pouring it into the pie crust. Overall, it was DIVINE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      Wow! This is GOOD! I used 5 cups apples and unsweetened applesauce. Since I only had a single Basic Pie Crust I in the freezer, used that to make the lattice top and went without the bottom crust. Pure laziness on my part, but still delicious and really pretty. Will definitely make again! Thanks, Sharlene, for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2006

    • on September 19, 2006

      Wonderful way to start the apple season! This was so deluctable and the applesauce made for a great filling. I used more apples (atleast 5 cups) so I added another tbl. of flour (perfect). My pie did take the full baking time, too. The crunch topping is a divine touch. Thanks Sharlene! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crunch Top Apple Pie (Paula Deen)

    Serving Size: 1 (188 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 440.7
     
    Calories from Fat 181
    41%
    Total Fat 20.1 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 11.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 330.0 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.8 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 26.1 g
    104%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes