16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used red delicious apples and sour green aples combined, not because I'm clever but because that's what I had. After ten minutes of cooking the crumbles started browning so I covered the pie loosley with foil for the remaining time and it turned out prefect. The flavor of the two kinds of apples was delicious. I'll never look for another apple pie recipe again. I served it with vanilla bean ice cream and it was a hit. An older gentlemen I served it to told me he'd been eating apple pie all of his life and that this was very possibly his favorite!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Penny R October 05, 2002

A great recipe! I made it using Granny Smith apples and they were just tart/sweet enough, also they held together well throughout the baking time. I also found that I needed to cover the pie with foil about 15 minutes into baking it. When I first put the (uncovered) pie into the oven, I placed my metal pie ring over the crust and left it there throughout the baking time. The crust was still pretty brown, but it didn't affect the taste any. This is delicious; I have made it twice in the past week for two separate dinner parties and got thumbs up from everyone. Thanks for posting this recipe, M&Mers!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda October 27, 2002

I used a ready-made crust. For the fillings, I used a mix of golden delicious and red apples. I also reduced the sugar to about 1/3 cup for the topping after reading several reviews here. The pie is delicious but the topping was still way too sweet and too much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snowgal October 07, 2007

I gave it 4 stars because the filling is fantastic but the topping is way to sweet. Next time i would add less sugar for the topping and mske less of it as well. Maybe also add a tbsp of flour in the filling. I found it a little too runny. But overall the taste was good and easy to make

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clutz October 25, 2006

Im not a big fan of pies.... but tasting this one made me scream with delight~ thanks for a good recipe and thanks for a recipe I will always use! especially when guests come over. You were right everything crispy not a bit soggy at all... 5 stars...its really worth it! thanks again M&mers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoOkAdDiCt October 03, 2006

Wow, I can't believe I forgot to review this! This pie is fantastic, I've never made a pie and was able to follow these directiond very well. My friends were uber impressed that I have made the crust and YUM!! The crust is easy, the apples the perfect amount of sweet and tender and the crumbles are awesome. It looked like too much tome when I piled it on the pie but baked down to a great crunchy sweet top layer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Mandy March 29, 2006

A great recipe. I really liked the crumb topping as it was much easier to do :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajb524 December 06, 2005

Wonderful apple pie! We're not fond of the usual two crust type, this was just what I was looking for. I also reduced the amount of topping to make approx 2/3 of the recipe. Thank you for the recipe M&Mers..it's gone right in my recipe box.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugargrrl March 12, 2005

I just realized I forgot to review this. I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! Great pie :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pamma Lamma Ding Dong October 27, 2004
Crumbly Apple Pie