546 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUM! Super easy and quick to make. I whipped a batch of these this morning while the kids played with play-doh. The smelled SO good while baking, I couldn't wait to try one. I didn't use nuts, and I melted the butter for the topping instead of trying to cut it in, turned out great. I used 4 med bananas. Made exactly 12 muffins. I sprayed my tin with Pam, muffins popped out no problem. Cooked for about 18 min. Will definitely make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama2Cecelia March 12, 2010

These were so delicious! Mine only needed 17 minutes; any longer and the outsides would have been too overdone for me. My 5, 3 1/2 and 14 month old gobbled them up warm from the oven. I will be making these again - Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Portugarians March 09, 2010

delish! i made it with only 2 bananas that were so old I really debated even using them! i poured it into a cake pan and baked it for about 30-40 minutes. The topping really makes these extra special.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miraclelove77 February 16, 2010

i made these for a church bakesale and they sold like crazy everybody wanted some they sold for $0.50 a piece and they are easy to make so its an easy way to make money seeing as this is a very cheap recipe to make Much Love Fletch

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FletchDaJuggalo February 16, 2010

I'm giving these five-stars, but that is for the muffins WITHOUT the topping. Not sure why, since 300+ other people seem to have done it successfully, by my "topping" has never come out right with these? It is always too hard/crumbly and doesn't "stick" to the muffin properly, and so just kind of sits on top. Anyway, i just tried it WITHOUT the topping - and added 3/4 cups white chocolate chips to the batter - and they were delicious, just great! So, don't let the topping put you off this great recipe, it's a keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michaelk69 February 11, 2010

Really loved this recipe! I have a problem with my muffins always falling in the middle, and this time was no different - instead of nice, high muffin peaks I get flat topped, some caving in. But the taste was great - I have made a lot of different banana breads with all kinds of recipes and this one is heavenly. I added about a half cup of finely chopped pecans to the bread mix, and had frozen crumb topping from another recipe in the freezer already, so that was different but the bread was moist and heavenly. ALWAYS better the second day, as the flavors develop overnight. Thanks for a simple keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Wendy July 15, 2009

Delicious muffins! But be careful...I filled mine 3/4 full, but when I put the topping on, it overflowed in the oven and made a mess! Very pretty, rose nicely and taste great! Only had 2 bananas and it was fine, plus added pecans to the muffins as well as the topping. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 July 04, 2009

Doubled the recipe (had a lot of brown bananas to use up) and only got 21 muffins out of it by filling 3/4 full. I too had the problem that the topping melted down and on the first batch, even started to burn until I covered them with some foil for the rest of the baking. The topping formed more of a sweet crust rather than the crumbly type that I was looking for, so I'll need to play around with that, but otherwise, very easy and super moist. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend October 31, 2008

Delicious! Great banana taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 January 28, 2005

These are the BEST banana muffins I have ever had! The texture of the muffin is tender and moist, but not too moist! I also thought the crumb topping really added something extra special - a sweet and crunchy surprise. The topping is much better than the traditional buttercream frosting that I usually put on our banana muffins. I will be making these again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Paula~ January 25, 2005
Crumb Topped Banana Muffins