547 Reviews

Kids and family loved these and they were perfect and easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacylu December 09, 2012

I've made two batches so far and the 2nd was just perfect! I used gluten-free all-purpose flour, added vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg, and used canola oil and honey instead of butter and sugar (same amounts). I omitted the topping and just sprinkled more cinnamon on top. I will experiment with adding other things too in future batches, like walnuts or raisins or chocolate chips. I baked it at 350 as well. Using standard muffin tins I made 15 muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashleyanders November 25, 2012

I absolutely loved this recipe! I only made 6 muffins the first time I baked these. This was because I wasn't sure if they would turn out good or not. I have tried so many banana muffin recipes, but I have never really liked the taste of the muffins! This wasn't the case this time, these are great tasting and pretty to look at! I altered the recipe a bit though. I added 4 teaspoons of Hershey cocoa powder, one teaspoon of vanilla extract and a splash of olive oil. Plus that I used a little bit more salt than in the original recipe. Chocolate and salt is a great combo in sweet desserts. I did also use about a tablespoon of brown sugar in addition to the white sugar. I really like the taste of brown sugar! Wow... these muffins came out great. I will definitely bake these again...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Original Swedish Chef November 22, 2012

Not that this recipe needs another review... but these were AWESOME! My picky DD first snubbed them until I made her taste them, then came "Yummmm, these are good!" I did use only 2/3 C. of brown sugar instead of 3/4 C. white sugar and added 1 t. vanilla and a dash of nutmeg to the muffin itself as posted in other reviews. I also used I Can't Believe It's Not Butter instead of butter. I think next time I'll try subbing some of the butter/ICBINB in the muffin for applesauce, but not all as the buttery taste really compliments these. Thanks MizzNezz!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FluteDiva64 November 05, 2012

Such an easy afternoon recipe! The crumb topping really puts these muffins over the top. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mixmasteraim October 16, 2012

ARE YOU KIDDING ME! These are soooo good! I used 1/2 cup of wheat flour and 1 cup unbleached white, added some cinnamon to the dry ingredients and 1 tsp. vanilla to the wet ingredients. I also added another Tbsp. of flour to the topping. All these were suggestions on reviews so I thought I'd try it. I also started with the 425 degree oven preheated and turned it down to 375 as suggested so I got a nice quick rise. Smells so good while baking. It didn't need the full 20 min. baking time, more like 17 min. The topping is perfect and it will take all my willpower not to eat the whole tray NOW! Thanks for this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
food snob mom September 17, 2012

A simple recipe & easy to put together. Delicious with or without the topping. I use this recipe to make mini muffins for my toddler who is a very enthusiastic consumer of these muffins. They also freeze relatively well if you and/or your family are not able to finish a batch at one sitting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ruthiemac August 09, 2012

I actually prepared this recipe on my kids birthday before. i love making muffins.. So easy and I can really taste the banana flavor. The muffins were moist and tender..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catherinebrown July 22, 2012
Crumb Topped Banana Muffins