546 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were so good. The topping was perfect and the muffins so tasty. Thank you so much for this. I will be making these again. YUMMY!!!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dayla October 22, 2002

This is a great banana bread recipe. My family looks forward to getting banana muffiins every time bananas start to look a little too old. I add an additional 1/2 cup of brown sugar 1tsp. of vanilla and 1tsp. of cinnamon. YUUUUMM! This is definately a recipe I will be serving for many years to come.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spencenmaddysmom July 11, 2010

I LOVE how these muffins turned out. I've tried making muffins before but they always either turn out too dry or they taste incredibly bland despite the recipe having rave reviews. THIS recipe however did not fail me. I was looking to make hubby a snack for when he goes to work in the morning.

I cut back some on the butter (I cut the amount in half), added the nutmeg, vanilla, and cinnamon other reviewers did, and I used brown sugar. I used some really ripe almost mushy bananas and these muffins turned out FANTASTIC. I baked mine for about 13 minutes since my muffin molds are a little smaller than usual. After eating one and letting the aftertaste set in, I do think I would cut back a bit on the amount of sugar used in the batter next time and play with a different topping; I added some oatmeal to it. Although I think butterscotch chips would make these muffins sinful...

DH needs the calories whereas I do not, so I'm going to gleefully experiment more with this recipe. DELICIOUS!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GigaCat May 16, 2011

I love anything with a crumble topping! I wish the actual muffin had a little more flavor. The next time I make these, I will take the suggestion of another rater and add cinnamon, vanilla, and brown sugar to the batter.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Music Heather October 03, 2010

Delicious! I didn't make the crumb topping but the muffin itself was wonderful: sweet and moist with a nice high dome. I actually preheated the oven to 425 and turned the temp down to 375 when I put the muffins into the oven to encourage a nice rise. Thanks for posting this recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. May 27, 2010

Excellent Muffins.I used 4 medium sized very ripe bananas and baked the muffins for 24 minutes.I did use a 6 muffin giant muffin pan.They were very moist and the topping definitely set these apart from other recipes I've tried.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goodieman May 04, 2010

Love these muffins. My bananas were very ripe so I cut the sugar in half and used half wheat pastry flour and they came out fabulous.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissCatFish March 22, 2010

These muffins are great! I made them and DH and I agree, two thumbs up! I decided to make them a little differently to make them more healthy, I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of white, and I used about 1/2 cup of turbinado sugar instead of the 3/4 cup of white. I did not make the topping. Delicous! Thanks for a great recipe! :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamar_GA November 11, 2004

I have this recipe from another site. These are our favorite banana muffins! The topping really makes these great, they always get eaten up.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sydsmama September 23, 2003

I just got this recipe from AllRecipes.com. It has over 1,000 (well-deserved) 5-star ratings over there! These are soo good! Even my picky hubby, who is not much of a muffin fan, loved these. And my two young boys couldn't get enough, either. I put the crumb topping on before putting them in the oven, then added more about 5 minutes before the baking was done. WONDERFUL!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candice H. June 12, 2010
Crumb Topped Banana Muffins