Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crumb Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crumb Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2008

      This was not at all what I was expecting but excellent just the same. I added vanilla and cinnamon to the batter. Very good. My company gobbled it up so quickly I barely had a chance to sneak a piece. Thanks! This is a good one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2005

      This is a snap to whip up. I did add cinnamon, vanilla, and used buttermilk. It has a buttery flavor and nice topping, but the cake is more delicate (crumbles easily). It does better with a fork instead of grabbing with one's hand, which is my family's style! Roxygirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      This was a very good cake....I did make a few alterations...Because i read on here that a few found it too sweet I cut the sugar back to 1 1/2 cups (although next time I may even try just 1 cup). I did not take any of the crumble out to reserve it I just left it as a whole cake. I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon and a sprinkle of nutmeg and all spice. The cake came out moist and has a nice spice to it. Really nice coffee cake. I like it plain but there are a few recipes on here for nice butter cream icings :) I think a bit of store bought caramel sauce drizzled over top would be quite nice too. All in all great recipe and easy easy with few ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2010

      Nice and very easy to make. It is really very sweet, but then, some people do like very sweet cakes)))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      This is a nice, fairly easy coffee cake to put together. It tasted a bit too sweet to me, like perhaps it was missing a bit of salt. That's why there are 4 stars instead of 5. Still a nice go-to recipe if you're expecting guests in an hour or two.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      Maybe it is all about expectations...this was fine, but not what I wanted. Maybe all coffee cakes are destined to disappoint me. Anyway, I followed the modifications suggested by Chef Carolyn H. on 13/07/09 and those who ate it really liked it. So based on enthusiastic responses of those eaters I'm giving it 4 stars. Now I just need to find a recipe that is what I really want to eat. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

    • on July 13, 2009

      I altered the recipe. Used cold butter, cut in with pastry blender, rather than melted, which made a better topping. Rather than sour milk, used buttermilk. Added 1 tsp. of vanilla to the batter, and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon rather than a whole to topping plus 3/4 cup of chopped pecans. Got a thumbs up from the family! Nice tasty, moist cake, easily made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      Did not have sour milk so I added lemon juice and it worked wonderfully. I also added cinnamon to the batter and topping. Everyone agreed that the cake was delicious (even my 8 yr old who is hard to please) Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      Not your typical coffee cake. It was way too sweet for my taste, and a lot more moist and dense than the norm. I wasn't a fan of the topping, because it really wasn't that "crumby", and turned out to be just a bunch of sugar sitting on top of the cake. However, the flavor was good, and it was easy to put together. If it were tweaked a little, it would probably be a good little cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      ok...not rating because I wasn't the one that made this but my 12 yo daughter. Not sure if our issues are due to something she did or not so just commenting. The texture turned out somewhat chewy on the edges and bottom for ours and the crumbly topping melted into the cake itself. BUT the flavor of the cake was quite good and we may try this again with more help from me to see if their was an issue on daughters side or if its the recipe we are having no luck with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2003

      This came out wonderful. Hubby thought it was a bit TOO moist to be coffee cake , but that is fine by me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crumb Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 400.5
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    26%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.2 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 53.3 mg
    17%
    Sodium 151.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.1 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 48.5 g
    194%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes