Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crumb-Coated Potato Halves Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crumb-Coated Potato Halves

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2011

      Nice change of tater recipes. I always have these ingredients on hand, so this will surely go in my 'Go To" file. Thanks for sharing such a tasty dish. Made for Everyday's a Holiday.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      i made this it is a really nice way to do potatoes i used chives instead of italian seasoning was really good thanks syd ,miss you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      These were pretty good and easy enough, but I felt like they were missing something. Next time, I may use panko crumbs, for a bit more crunch. My potatoes were not especially large, but they needed more than an hour to be done. :( I did leave them covered for the majority of cooking time, but after testing for doneness after an hour, I removed the foil, to hasten the baking time. Maybe I'd up the temp a little too, but it is perfect if you're going to be roasting your meat. Thanks for a new take on potatoes, Syd!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      Simple yet tasty. I added garlic salt to ours. Next time I would melt a tad more butter, and cut the potatoes into 4 wedges to spread out the seasonings a bit. Liked the crunchiness. Served ours with potato sausage. Am adding to my 350 oven collections. Thanks Syd for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      These were easy to make and very tasty. I made as is and had some large potatoes so they cook for 1 hour 15 minutes. Served with a little sour cream on top. Made for PRMR 5/2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I used small potatoes and cooked in a sprayed pan. I also subbed garlic salt. I ended up with crispy, delightful potatoes much like potato skins. Topped with sour cream & chives, they were a nice accompaniment to a grilled steak & salad. I'll definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      These were really tasty but I had a problem with them being a bit dry. The flavour is great and I would just cook them for less time next time. Maybe my potatoes weren't big enough? We had these with meatloaf and mixed veggies. Made for Zaar Stars. Thanks Sydney Mike! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      After reading the other reviews I decided to cut my potatoes into chunks before baking. The taste was good but I thought they were a little dry. Made for Zaar Stars Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      Yummy! We love the touch of heat the paprika gave these tasty potatoes. I think next time I might cut them into large chunks like looneytunesfan did only because we enjoyed the spicy taste of the topping. The chunks would then be coated all around with the delicious ingredients. I served mine with Syd's Crispy Salsa Chicken and a side of frozen corn for a wonderful dinner. Made for Zaar stars tag game. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      That's the exact way I'm baking the potatoes in halves. This recipe is great, simple and fast. I couldn't keep myself and I threw in some garlic powder too. Thanks for teaching me another way to eat more potatoes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      I cut these into wedges, cause i DIDNT READ IT RIGHT :( But they were great, I used a zip lock bag, and drizzled the butter, then added the crumbs. I only had ordinary, so I added italian seasoning, and then I also added a little "el cheapo" parmesan. poured them on the plate and cooked them. wonderful!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      This was very easy to make and tasted awesome. I cheated tho and shook the potatoes with the seasonings in a ziplock back to save on dirty dishes. Would definatly make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      Very easy and tasty...!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      Another favorite potato recipe. Made recipe exactly as written and served with pork chops, stove top stuffing, peas and carrots, and applesauce. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      MMMmmmmm Mike...what a great variation to the normal baked potatoes. This is a real keeper and one I will go back to again. I followed your recipe as written but upon reading some of the reviews this recipe has definite variation possibilites. Thanks for a great side to my beef roast. Made for PRMR!~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      I picked this recipe because I noticed it in the vegetarian swap game. Was this ever easy and tasty! Potatoes came out soft, but breadcrumbs were crispy. I had some seasoned parmesan cheese breadcrumbs in the fridge. I halved the recipe with two smallish potatoes (peeled first to get the breadcrumbs to stick to every side of the potato). Used a scant tablespoon butter. I could see slicing them crosswise, then breading too. A throw it in the oven while you're preparing the rest of the meal recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      These look so appetizing and tastes equally so good too! Preparation's so quick but baking time was more than an hour. Covered them at first but at the last few minutes, I removed the cover to hasten the baking. Love the tasty crumb topping! I even ate one as is. Thanks! Made for Aus Recipe Swap #26.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      What an easy way to prepare delicious potatoes! I used medium potatoes, and they cooked perfectly in the stated time. I'm not a huge potato fan, but I loved these, tasty and attractive, i would happily serve these to guests. Thanks, Syd! made for Vegetarian swap #8, March 09

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      Delish! We enjoyed these for dinner tonight. I cut the recipe in half and used medium size potatoes. I added red pepper flakes to the seasonings and turned the oven up to 400 degrees after 45 minutes. They took 65 minutes. So simple and so good. Thanks for posting Syd. Made for 12 Days of Christmas as a pressie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      Made these for dinner with baked pork chops and sliced fresh summer tomatoes. I used HUGE baked potatoes, and they took and hour plus a couple of minutes in the microwave. We found them tasty but dry, and I think it was because the taters were so big. We mashed them up and added butter and sour cream, but the crunchiness was still noticeable. Next time I will either use smaller potatoes or cut them into quaters or thirds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crumb-Coated Potato Halves

    Serving Size: 1 (196 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 197.1
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    15%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.7 mg
    2%
    Sodium 434.2 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites