24 Reviews

Let me be the first to say people will want the recipe! I have lots of neighbors who drop in all the time, and are welcome to whatever I have cooked or am cooking. I have already printed this recipe four times since I made it yesterday, and am just now posting my review. I followed the recipe exactly from start to finish. Delicious! Try it, you'll like it!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilladyc March 07, 2003

Like other reviewers, I didn't have either size pan--used a 9X13 and had to bake quite a bit longer. I also halved the topping--that just seemed like an incredible amount! Halving covered the entire top. It tasted good, but I guess I expected "wow" after reading some of the rave reviews and luvmybge's introductory comments. It's not that, but it is easy and flavorful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers March 03, 2010

Absolutely phenomenal recipe. This is exactly what I was looking for and it was a huge hit with everyone. Not too sweet or rich in any way but totally delicious and so easy! Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j.sli February 08, 2010

I thought this recipe was okay. I did not have an 11 x 17 or 10.5 x 15 inch pans, so I used a 9.5 x 13 and filled an additional muffin tin. Guessing the time with the sizes I used was a little tricky. Turned out okay, but the crumb topping was not as sweet as I would have liked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megjo77 August 17, 2009

really yummy even though i try to make baked goods from scratch start to finish. i was in a rush so i tried this recipe. EVERYONE loved this. i think it tastes even better the next day. throwing the crumb topping ingredients in the processor gets it done fast and easy...just don't let the butter be too soft.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iheartsprinkles April 11, 2009

I haven't made this exact recipe just yet, however I have one very similar to it but mix the cake as directed on the box, beating longer than the directions call for. One option is to use cinnamon cake mix to give this cake extra flavor. This cake tastes even better than store-bought!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzie-Q April 10, 2009

One caveat, the butter should not be almost melted for the crumb topping. I usually take the butter from my freezer and let sit on the dining room table for 4 hrs. It is then pliable but not melted. I've gottent the best crumbs this way. I've also done a variation recommended by my DH substituting cocoa for cinammon, grating chocolate shavings in the topping and marbling the cake. I am a big baker but let me say doing the Cake Doctor thing with the homemade crumbs works. Almost too well, I'm now on hospitality and make 3 trays a month at church because everyone loves it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntMary September 17, 2008

I love this cake wesell it in our deli everyone loves it we double the recepie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
813361 April 10, 2008

Sorry, but I didn't like this one. It was not like a crumb cake at all - more like birthday cake on the bottom. It tasted like boxed mix - which it was. The crumb topping wasn't very crumbly - (maybe too much butter). If you are going to the trouble of baking - don't use boxed mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crumb Cake Lady July 22, 2007
Crumb Cake