Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crumb Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crumb Cake

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2003

      Let me be the first to say people will want the recipe! I have lots of neighbors who drop in all the time, and are welcome to whatever I have cooked or am cooking. I have already printed this recipe four times since I made it yesterday, and am just now posting my review. I followed the recipe exactly from start to finish. Delicious! Try it, you'll like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Like other reviewers, I didn't have either size pan--used a 9X13 and had to bake quite a bit longer. I also halved the topping--that just seemed like an incredible amount! Halving covered the entire top. It tasted good, but I guess I expected "wow" after reading some of the rave reviews and luvmybge's introductory comments. It's not that, but it is easy and flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Absolutely phenomenal recipe. This is exactly what I was looking for and it was a huge hit with everyone. Not too sweet or rich in any way but totally delicious and so easy! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      I thought this recipe was okay. I did not have an 11 x 17 or 10.5 x 15 inch pans, so I used a 9.5 x 13 and filled an additional muffin tin. Guessing the time with the sizes I used was a little tricky. Turned out okay, but the crumb topping was not as sweet as I would have liked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      really yummy even though i try to make baked goods from scratch start to finish. i was in a rush so i tried this recipe. EVERYONE loved this. i think it tastes even better the next day. throwing the crumb topping ingredients in the processor gets it done fast and easy...just don't let the butter be too soft.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      I haven't made this exact recipe just yet, however I have one very similar to it but mix the cake as directed on the box, beating longer than the directions call for. One option is to use cinnamon cake mix to give this cake extra flavor. This cake tastes even better than store-bought!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      One caveat, the butter should not be almost melted for the crumb topping. I usually take the butter from my freezer and let sit on the dining room table for 4 hrs. It is then pliable but not melted. I've gottent the best crumbs this way. I've also done a variation recommended by my DH substituting cocoa for cinammon, grating chocolate shavings in the topping and marbling the cake. I am a big baker but let me say doing the Cake Doctor thing with the homemade crumbs works. Almost too well, I'm now on hospitality and make 3 trays a month at church because everyone loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      I love this cake wesell it in our deli everyone loves it we double the recepie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      Sorry, but I didn't like this one. It was not like a crumb cake at all - more like birthday cake on the bottom. It tasted like boxed mix - which it was. The crumb topping wasn't very crumbly - (maybe too much butter). If you are going to the trouble of baking - don't use boxed mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      This is unbelievably delicious for such an easy cake to prepare! My whole family adored it; my little brother had three pieces! I loved that it used cake mix because that made it so much simpler. I realized after getting home from the grocery store that I was out of butter cake mix, so I used yellow cake mix. After reading others' reviews, I added two teaspoons of cinnamon to the cake mix before baking, along with a teaspoon or so of vanilla. Then, I added an extra teaspoon of cinnamon to the crumb topping. This intensified the cinnamon flavor but was definitely not too much. I served it sprinkled with confectioner's sugar, as suggested, but also topped with Cool Whip! Talk about delicious and decadent! Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      this was a case of not reading the recipe correctly.....so i made the cake batter and put the crumbs on top and then into the oven it went....only then did i realize my mistake....it looked like a "relief map" BUT it was super!!!!I gave it four stars because of my stupidity but it really was the best and I will do it the right way next time.....and then it will be off the chart!!!!! One other note I used about 4 heaping tsps. of cinnmon.....and that worked well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      I first tasted this while it was still warm and I thought it was ok, but when I served it the next day wow! I added an extra tsp of cinnamon, but I think next time I will add even more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      This recipe is the best! I used the larger pan and baked for 17 minutes (which was just perfect!). Make sure you line the pan with parchment paper to keep anything from sticking. The cake was melt-in-your-mouth delicious. Increasing the cinnamon to 4 HEAPING teaspoons made it quite tasty PLUS I also put 1 Tablespoon of real almond extract, along with the vanilla. It really makes a BIG DIFFERENCE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2006

      This isn't quite as good as the Fine Cooking Magazine Crumb Cake, but it isn't as much work either! Excellent recipe that I will use again, next time with a bit more cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2006

      Well at 8:00 pm tonight I had a strong craving for crumb cake. I had a box of Butter cake mix that I wanted to use also, so this was the perfect recipe for me. When I poured the batter in the pan, I have to admit that I was skeptical that such a large amount of crumb topping would fit. But no problem - it fit and it makes a nice thick, buttery topping. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and added extra cinnamon to the topping (probably a total of 4 tsp.), but I think next time I'll use even more. My kids are having friends spend the night and they were all thrilled that I made a cake so late at night. I served the cake warm and we all enjoyed it very much. Since it makes such a large amount, I have plenty leftover to serve for breakfast tomorrow. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      last but not least in my baking binge was this lush, rich crumb cake. you should have heard the oinking noise from our friends. i just threw out all of my other crumb cake recipes and i also received 5 marriage proposals!!! I am married and so were the guys that proposed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2005

      Awesome cake!! So moist rich and buttery, I halved the recipe, which was kinda hard since it uses a cake mix! But, it was very much worth it, and its so delicious! Thanx for an awesome recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2005

      I made this for the teachers at school for Teacher Appreciation week. It was a HUGE hit! I received a ton of complements and have already had several requests for the recipe. The only change that I did was I made it in a 9x13-inch pan. Because it was a smaller pan, I only used half of the topping that the recipe made. It still had more than enough of it. Super easy and definately a keeper in this house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      Another winner! This was great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2005

      Heavenly! My kids and husband devoured it - need I say more?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Breads Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crumb Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1948 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 7567.9
     
    Calories from Fat 3646
    48%
    Total Fat 405.1 g
    623%
    Saturated Fat 219.9 g
    1099%
    Cholesterol 1608.4 mg
    536%
    Sodium 6544.1 mg
    272%
    Total Carbohydrate 900.5 g
    300%
    Dietary Fiber 19.9 g
    79%
    Sugars 427.9 g
    1711%
    Protein 90.3 g
    180%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes