48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nice recipe for the bread machine. Slices and toasts very nicely. Definatly a keeper!!! :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elliemae Clampet February 01, 2004

Definitely a kid-pleaser (and everyone else too!) My loaf did not sink, in fact, don't make the mistake I did: since I have a 2-lb. machine, I converted the recipe to make a 2-lb. loaf, and the lid of my machine was practically popping off, it rose so high! Next time I will make the 1.5 lb. version - there definitely will be a next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorenLou January 29, 2004

Very nice tasting oat bread that was popular with everyone. It did sink a little bit after rising but despite this still made a very good loaf. I would add some gluten flour to this to stop this from happening.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat July 28, 2003

This will be our new staple for homemade bread. My family of five loved this: light, moist, sliced well....stayed fresh for days.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scottmonica.healy January 19, 2015

Very nice loaf of bread. Texture light and tender, sliced easily. Great as a side for savory food and toasted up well for breakfast. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' September 14, 2014

I was disappointed with my bread. It came out of the bread machine looking pale and it was rather dense and not at all fluffy.It did not rise very well and the middle part partially sank. Reviews rave about this bread being light and fluffy but not mine. Don't know what went wrong here. Will try one more time.Am posting my bread photo to show how pale the bread looked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amireidey February 07, 2013

I've been using this as a standard bread in our house for a few months now. The recipe is forgiving! I've tried substituting some white whole wheat in, or adding potato flakes and/or wheat germ. It's never sunk, even with my tinkering, though I have added extra gluten to compensate for my experimentation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
subaruthie January 25, 2013

Great bread! I've been making this weekly for about 3 years now. It's simple yet toasts so well and even is good for sandwiches. I usually just do the kneading and most of the rising in the bread oven and then transfer it to a loaf pan to finish in the oven. It makes a beautiful loaf.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksparker May 31, 2012

This is amazingly simple and a hit with the whole family. I was blessed to have the pickiest eaters on the planet and they all enjoy this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joshel February 10, 2012

I'm jumping up and down because this is the first recipe I used to make bread with my new bread machine! It turning out amazing!!!! I used 1/2 whole wheat, 1/2 white flour. I'm sure it would be good 100% whole wheat too! Thank you for this keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u January 17, 2012
Crowd Pleasing Light Oat Bread (Bread Machine)