Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crowd Pleasing Light Oat Bread (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crowd Pleasing Light Oat Bread (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2004

      Very nice recipe for the bread machine. Slices and toasts very nicely. Definatly a keeper!!! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      Definitely a kid-pleaser (and everyone else too!) My loaf did not sink, in fact, don't make the mistake I did: since I have a 2-lb. machine, I converted the recipe to make a 2-lb. loaf, and the lid of my machine was practically popping off, it rose so high! Next time I will make the 1.5 lb. version - there definitely will be a next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2003

      Very nice tasting oat bread that was popular with everyone. It did sink a little bit after rising but despite this still made a very good loaf. I would add some gluten flour to this to stop this from happening.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      I was disappointed with my bread. It came out of the bread machine looking pale and it was rather dense and not at all fluffy.It did not rise very well and the middle part partially sank. Reviews rave about this bread being light and fluffy but not mine. Don't know what went wrong here. Will try one more time.Am posting my bread photo to show how pale the bread looked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2013

      I've been using this as a standard bread in our house for a few months now. The recipe is forgiving! I've tried substituting some white whole wheat in, or adding potato flakes and/or wheat germ. It's never sunk, even with my tinkering, though I have added extra gluten to compensate for my experimentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2012

      Great bread! I've been making this weekly for about 3 years now. It's simple yet toasts so well and even is good for sandwiches. I usually just do the kneading and most of the rising in the bread oven and then transfer it to a loaf pan to finish in the oven. It makes a beautiful loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2012

      This is amazingly simple and a hit with the whole family. I was blessed to have the pickiest eaters on the planet and they all enjoy this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      I'm jumping up and down because this is the first recipe I used to make bread with my new bread machine! It turning out amazing!!!! I used 1/2 whole wheat, 1/2 white flour. I'm sure it would be good 100% whole wheat too! Thank you for this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      I have tried several other recipes with as many ways to make it, why-O-why didn't I try this one first ! It's sooo simple and comes out perfect every time. As far as flours, I've used 100% all purpose, 1/2 unbleached white mixed with 1/2 whole wheat and then 100% whole wheat. Every single time it comes out light and fluffy and absolutely delicious ! Can't type anymore, there's a loaf of bread calling my name.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      This made an excellent loaf of bread - soft & delicious! My family ate so much of it I had to make 3 in one day. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      This was a great recipe that is perfect done as is! I can't wait to try playing with it though. I am going to try substituting a 1/2-1 c. of wheat flour. I too used the dough cycle. I took someone's advice and kneaded for about 4-5 minutes and then put it in my greased pan. I let it rise to double the size, and that took about 30 minutes. I will let it rise a little more next time, maybe 40 minutes. It doesn't rise much more in the oven. I put it in for 25 minutes at 350, though my oven runs a little warm. I wanted to wait until it was totally cool before I was going to cut into it, but I couldn't wait. My very picky son, loved it and asked for seconds! I can't wait to see how it turns out when it's been cut and in a bread bag for a day or so, while waiting for sandwiches to be made. This could be a permanent at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      Superb!!! I only had quick oats on hand but cannot wait to try with rolled oats! Made a perfect loaf that will make incredible sandwiches! I used the dough cycle and baked in a loaf stoneware pan for 35 minutes st 350F.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      I'm a whole wheat bread-loving eater myself, but my son lives in a white bread world, so I made this for him. Any chance I can get to sneak some wholesome grains into him, I will. This bread totally concealed the oatmeal AND was truly delicious! So soft and perfect for sandwiches, toast or just eating out of the hand plain. Thanks for sharing this one, KM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      This bread was very, very good! I used bread flour which seemed to help the texture of the bread be less rubbery and chewy than AP flour. The oats really do disappear in the bread and it has a nice light sweet flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      We're all eating a slice whilst it's still warm - and it's yummy! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      *A Keeper* Made just as written except that I baked it in the oven, 375 for 30 minutes. High, light, moist. Excellent flavor. I used old-fashioned oats. It's surprising how the oats disappear into the dough. I'm going to make it into rolls today. Kitchen Maniac, you have a winner here. UPDATE: For some reason, the rolls don't come out as well as the bread. Oh, welllll ...Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Make this bread once a week with flax seed added and butter instead of margarine and it is delicious every time. This is my favorite recipe for the bread machine and its so easy. I agree with Okra that the ingredients are always on hand. I also use brown sugar Splenda for the diabetics in my family. Thanks so much for posting this recipe-it's a winner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      What a wonderful, tasty loaf of bread. Easy to make with ingredients I always have on hand. After letting it rise a 2nd time, I baked it in a 350 degree oven for 35 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      I made the dough in the bread machine and cooked the loaf in the oven. The result was delicious; slightly heartier than a plain white bread and great for sandwiches or just toasted with butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      Great, easy recipe. We love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crowd Pleasing Light Oat Bread (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (779 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1230.4
     
    Calories from Fat 176
    14%
    Total Fat 19.6 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1747.3 mg
    72%
    Total Carbohydrate 228.9 g
    76%
    Dietary Fiber 10.5 g
    42%
    Sugars 18.7 g
    75%
    Protein 31.1 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites