Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Croutons Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Croutons

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2006

      These were so much better than store bought! Everyone in my family loved them..they wanted more! I used some whole wheat bread that I had baked that burned. Cut off the burned parts..and voila.. delicious croutons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      EXCELLENT!!! Wanted a salad for my lunch today with croutons, didn't have any. Looked up Croutons on Zaar and found your's first. Talk about easy!! I had a few slices of Texas toast that needed using up. Next time I think I'll try a little parmesan also. Just so many ways to go with this easy, tasty recipe. I won't be buying store bought again! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      Wonderful! I had part of a loaf of unsliced whole wheat bread that I thought I'd try this recipe out on. I cut the bread into nice size chunks. I used olive oil (don't know how much), seasoned salt, and garlic powder. The croutons are delicious...won't buy them from the store again! I especially love that you can easily add whatever seasonings you want for customized croutons! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      This is easy and so versatile. Instead of seasoned salt, I used salt, pepper, and herbs, and whole wheat bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2006

      Used 3 old hamburger buns from the pantry. Cut into bite size pieces. Covered with 4 tablespoons of olive oil. Sprinkled with Lawry's seasoned salt plus garlic salt. Cook for 11 minutes in oven at 350 degrees. The response from family, especially kids aged 13 and 12, were better than imagined. Will always make croutons with this recipe instead of store bought. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2006

      Wonderful!! I used 1/2 a loaf of Iron Kids Bread and 2 hoagie rolls. I used 6 tbsp olive oil and I just shook all-purpose seasoning over them (a little too much they were kind of salty). I baked mine at least 30 minutes to get them nice and golden and crunchy. I will NEVER buy croutons again. Thanks Marg and Doozer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2006

      Wow! These little things are tasty! I think we'll be eating salad more often around here, just to be able to make these more often! I had a fresh loaf of Italian bread from the grocery store that I used. I sliced it into thick slices, then let them sit out on the counter for about 1 hour to have them dry out a little! I drizzled them with olive oil and use Lawries seasoning and baked for 10 minutes! Yum! I'm already full from snacking on them, and it isn't even supper time yet! Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2006

      These were flavorful and crispy without being rock hard like store bought. Well make again. Easy to prepare. Thanks Marg@Cayman Designs. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      YUM!!!! I added some sliced galic cloves and popped the oil in the microwave for just a minute to infuse it with the garlic. Everyone LOVED these, and I was just using up some hot dog rolls that would have otherwise went in the garbage. AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      Ooh..these were great. I sprinkled a little garlic powder along with the seasoning salt. Fantastic. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      Oh my gosh this is just so wonderful! I will no longer by those yuk croutons from the store, when you can make them so much better. I followed your recipe using the seasoning salt and it was wonderful, but next time I might try garlic, rosemary, thyme, oregano or cumin for a southwest type salad, mmmm. I wouldn't try all those herbs at once maybe a few of them together. I guess I better get busy making all my different kinds of croutons. Thanks a whole bunch Marg@Cayman Designs....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      I used this bread to make the croutons #50830. I added some crushed garlic into the olive oil and used garlic salt instead of seasoning salt. Delicious! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2005

      Love them, I made two batches one with healthy wheat bread, it was good. The other I used some buns I had previously frozen, they were light and crispy, like you would get in the restuarant. This one is a keeper, why buy them if you can make them? So easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      Just PERFECT! Ran outta store-bought Croutons for our dinner salad,and after I made theseI will NEVER purchase them again! These Homemade are just TOO GOOD! You can add a variety of seasonings to fit the type of salad you make! I used up my leftover Hamburger/HotDog rolls that were sitting around for more than a week in fridge~just perfect and so economical! Great Idea! and THANKS for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2005

      Just what I was looking for... a simple recipe with the basics that I can add on to if I want. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      Great recipe! Very easy! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2005

      Theese were absuloutly delicious. I made it as is except I added fresh milled pepper, salt and rosmary , it went perfect with a garlicy soup. I needed alot more then 6 tbslps oil and be carful they do get done quickly i almost burned my batch. thank you Marg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      Thanks! They went out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2005

      Yum! I had made a loaf of french bread that tasted good, but didn't look quite as pretty, so, I decided to turn them into your croutons. I must admit that I ate more of them plain than I did on the salad! They are delicious though! Thanks for posting, Marg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2005

      Great croutons! I used some leftover homemade bread and just chunked it up and then followed the recipe as posted. I will never buy store croutons again ~ I am spoiled! Thank you for posting this keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Garnishes Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Croutons

    Serving Size: 1 (10 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 89.5
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    10%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    potato hamburger buns

    Lawry's Seasoned Salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites