Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Croutons Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Croutons

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2010

      I'm olny 13 and i can make this with no problem! ~10 MIN. LATER~ WOW THIS IS AMAZING! IM the kind of person who burns water, but i was brave today and said i would make dinner. even my mon ( who is a great cook) said the it was really good! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Wow! I used leftover hamburger rolls from a picnic and seasoned them with garlic powder, smoked sea salt, fresh ground pepper and Penzey's Brady Street Cheese Salad Seasoning. They were delicious! I will absolutly never buy croutons again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      These are perfect. I made these using only the seasoned salt and veg. oil and they were great. I will add some other spices next time, but you don't need too, they are great as is. Thank youf or sharing this with us, what a $$$$ saver! And a great way to use up leftover buns.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      I didn't have the seasoning salt, but I used other spices and the croutons turned out great. I will never buy croutons again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      Perfect! I tried another recipe on this site and they were awful. I threw this recipe together & they more than made up for the disaster. I

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      so easy..i also used garlic salt and some italian dressing which gave some added flavor!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      These were great!!! I didn't have seasoning salt, but I had a lot of other spices handy. I started throwing dashes of every dried spice I had into the bowl and they turned out delicious! So quick and so easy, will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      AMAZING! I am a salad fiend and go through croutons like water from a faucet. I have been religiously buying Marie Callendar's croutons all these years - when all along I could've just made them! Never again! I used 1 plain bagel and 4 slices of wheat bread and cut them up on a cutting board into bite sized pieces. I cook by eying it so tried doing Lawry's seasoning salt with garlic salt and a pinch of onion powder with oregano but I think it came out too salty. Did 3 tablespoons olive oil in a mixing bowl over the bread and mixed it up. Will try it next time with just garlic powder, oregano and olive oil. Tempted to do parmesan but I have lactose intolerant peeps in the house. Maybe that'll be a separate batch! We ended up eating it off the foil lined cookie sheet - the bagels went first! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      I was asked to make a green salad for Thanksgiving this year and wasn't very excited about it. Then I had the idea to make croutons and thought they would take too long...but I found this recipe and went ahead with it. They were fast, easy and a huge hit! I had requests for the recipe and rave reviews. I now understand why it is unnecessary to buy croutons ever again! (I used texas toast for the bread, some italian seasoning, seasoning salt, and garlic powder...yum yum!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2014

      I don't like store-bought croutons, so I was happy to find this recipe. And I had hot dog buns leftover to use - this is such a great thing to do with leftover bread. I used less salt, and added fresh cracked pepper. Really nice! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      Oh my goodness!! These are THE BOMB!! I got a loaf of sourdough bread (marked down and perfect for croutons) and seasoned simple with the seasoning salt and little fresh ground pepper. THESE ARE TO DIE FOR!! Even the hub that normally doesn't like croutons fell head over heels for these! Thanks for posting! Count me in with never buying croutons again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      Really easy and good. Next time I'll use half butter and half olive oil. I like the taste a little better. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      These are the best homemade croutons that I have ever tasted. They are so light. Will be using this recipe from now on. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      Two words: Perfect. Croutons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2013

      made these last night to go with my tomato soup. Absolutely delicious, only made for myself so used one hot dog bun, seasoned with salt and italian style seasoning. They definitely melt in your mouth and i will always be using this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      My husband and I made these tonight. They were really easy and came out really well. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      Made this with regular salt, day old baguette and italian seasoning. Turned out wonderfully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

    • on March 28, 2012

      Super quick, easy, and tasty. Just what we needed. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      I also used leftover hamburger rolls, delicious and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Garnishes Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Croutons

    Serving Size: 1 (10 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 89.5
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    10%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    potato hamburger buns

    Lawry's Seasoned Salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites