22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were great and so easy to make. Great in soup or salad or to just eat as a snack. I may try all olive oil next time just to make them a little healthier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea January 17, 2013

this was so easy and delicious. followed the recipe exactly. husband, MIL, and kids ate more salad just to have more croutons!! we've been snacking on them as we clean up dinner. yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollysusan4 October 22, 2011

Great recipe! Sooooo easy, and the perfect flavor combination of seasonings. I made this exactly as posted, no changes. Now I have no more guilt over throwing away the "heels" or days-old bread---I can make something tasty with these instead, and my relatives and friends enjoy receiving a little package of the croutons as well. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graciebonica March 11, 2011

Very tasty! I used week-old sourdough that was starting to go stale, so it was a little crumbly, but worked OK. I skipped the butter and doubled the oil instead (plus a tiny bit extra) and added a sprinkle of Italian seasoning with the other spices. This was a great way to use up some old bread. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 February 20, 2011

I made heart-shaped tea sandwiches for a Valentine's party and felt bad throwing out the extra bread...the perfect excuse to try homemade croutons. Now I will never want to buy them again. This is so easy to make. I turned up the heat a bit to get them to brown. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen February 18, 2011

I have been meaning to review this recipe for ages and somehow never got round to it, I do apologize. I just love this recipe such a nice flavour. I have made them loads of times and keep coming back to this recipe. I used them in Mushroom Bread Pudding and I think it made the recipe have a lot more taste than it would of had otherwise. I have also made them with all sorts of bread and it works very well with seeded bread they are nice just to sit at night when you have the munchies, and it's better for you than potato crisps. The thing is when I start eating them I can't stop. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Jenny February 08, 2011

Scrumptious croutons! I made mine the day before and by the next day, when we were ready to use them, they tasted a little stale. With a little butter and oven time, they were delicious again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cleoppa December 26, 2010

I made these following the suggestion of doubling the spices --except the salt and adding 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning. I also used 3 TBLSP. of olive oil for 5 cups of bread. My husband and I both thought thry were great! I put them in a freezer bag in the freezer for "future use" and 2 days later, took them out and polished off the bag while watching T.V.!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam, late bloomer chef October 02, 2010

Great croutons! I halved the recipe and added a little more garlic powder than called for. These smelled wonderful while baking! As others have said - they are crispy but not hard. Thanks cookiedog for a nice snack that was good on my salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme August 01, 2010

Made half recipe. These are so much better than any store bought croutons. Just the right amount of seasonings (I used Morton's natures Season for Lawreys, and they were fresh, crisp, and light! Served in Caesar Salad Light for Two. Thanks for posting cookiedog. Made for When It's Hot Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn July 07, 2010
Croutons