Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Croutons Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Croutons

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2013

      These were great and so easy to make. Great in soup or salad or to just eat as a snack. I may try all olive oil next time just to make them a little healthier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      this was so easy and delicious. followed the recipe exactly. husband, MIL, and kids ate more salad just to have more croutons!! we've been snacking on them as we clean up dinner. yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      Great recipe! Sooooo easy, and the perfect flavor combination of seasonings. I made this exactly as posted, no changes. Now I have no more guilt over throwing away the "heels" or days-old bread---I can make something tasty with these instead, and my relatives and friends enjoy receiving a little package of the croutons as well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      Very tasty! I used week-old sourdough that was starting to go stale, so it was a little crumbly, but worked OK. I skipped the butter and doubled the oil instead (plus a tiny bit extra) and added a sprinkle of Italian seasoning with the other spices. This was a great way to use up some old bread. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      I made heart-shaped tea sandwiches for a Valentine's party and felt bad throwing out the extra bread...the perfect excuse to try homemade croutons. Now I will never want to buy them again. This is so easy to make. I turned up the heat a bit to get them to brown. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      I have been meaning to review this recipe for ages and somehow never got round to it, I do apologize. I just love this recipe such a nice flavour. I have made them loads of times and keep coming back to this recipe. I used them in Mushroom Bread Pudding and I think it made the recipe have a lot more taste than it would of had otherwise. I have also made them with all sorts of bread and it works very well with seeded bread they are nice just to sit at night when you have the munchies, and it's better for you than potato crisps. The thing is when I start eating them I can't stop. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      Scrumptious croutons! I made mine the day before and by the next day, when we were ready to use them, they tasted a little stale. With a little butter and oven time, they were delicious again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      I made these following the suggestion of doubling the spices --except the salt and adding 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning. I also used 3 TBLSP. of olive oil for 5 cups of bread. My husband and I both thought thry were great! I put them in a freezer bag in the freezer for "future use" and 2 days later, took them out and polished off the bag while watching T.V.!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      Great croutons! I halved the recipe and added a little more garlic powder than called for. These smelled wonderful while baking! As others have said - they are crispy but not hard. Thanks cookiedog for a nice snack that was good on my salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      Made half recipe. These are so much better than any store bought croutons. Just the right amount of seasonings (I used Morton's natures Season for Lawreys, and they were fresh, crisp, and light! Served in Caesar Salad Light for Two. Thanks for posting cookiedog. Made for When It's Hot Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Fantastic! My husband and I loved these. I used stale baguette bread, and added oregano and a dash of powdered Parmesan. We couldn't stop snacking on these before the salads were ready. I will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Excellent croutons. Made a batch using whole wheat bread, white bread. They keep well in a glass canning jar. I'm going to make another batch, add some poultry seasoning, and a little chicken broth to moisten, to make a stuffing to put between two thin boneless pork chops. Variations for these croutons is endless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      These were pretty good! I had some leftover homemade bread and this worked out great. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      These were so much better than the croutons you get at the store. Nice and crunchy without being hard. A great way to use up stale bread. Made for ZWT5. Update: This recipe is in my Top Favorites of 2009 Cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      I'm so glad I've found your recipe! Use them up in a soup and had a few left to snack on. I'll be making this a lot. I think I used more garlic than called for.Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      This is a great crouton recipe. I doubled all but the salt and bread cubes; added 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning to it. My family is eating them by the handful! I had to hide some for the salad! I was asked to make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      Oh, Cookiedog, I think you are my salad's new best friend. These were very easy and very good. I agree with the other posters that said they are crunchy without being hard. I used a mini boule of sourdough bread I had left out of a pack of 2. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      Mmm, very nice croutons! Lots of flavor and I love that the mix of butter and olive oil made them nice and crispy! Merci! Made for the Epcurean Queens for ZWT 2009!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      These were great! I didn't use the pepper, but otherwise I followed the recipe as written. Very good. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      I have made this recipe twice now and they are great. I use all olive oil and bake at 350 deg for 18 min. turn at 10 min. DH eats them as a snack, they go quickly. DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Garnishes Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Croutons

    Serving Size: 1 (171 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 150.8
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    44%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 179.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites