10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This turned out amazing!! The whole family loved it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JollyJumper2000 February 10, 2014

I used a goat roast for this recipe and used the dutch oven method -- it turned out very tasty. I think I will use the crockpot the next time though, as that method just seems easier to me. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*****Sandy July 14, 2013

Good stuff! I didn't have any canned tomatoes, so mixed in a couple tablespoons of tomato paste with the beef broth instead. I used italian seasoning in place of the thyme, oregano and basil (since those are the main ingredients in the seasononing mixture). I don't think my subs would have changed the outcome of the posted recipe very much, so giving it 5 stars as-is -- super yummy dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boomerthepug September 02, 2012

I need 10 stars for this one, Bergy. The thyme really added to the flavor--I used twice as much as indicated, since crock pot cooking depletes spices. Left out the tomatoes, but added potatoes as you directed. DELICIOUS Sunday dinner. Made for One Dish Wonders in Cooking Photos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks November 23, 2009

We really enjoy cross rib done in tomato juice. And this recipe is wonderful. For our preferences...next time I will leave out the herbs as it was almost like a spaghetti sauce flavour...not what I was looking for. But I should have known when I read the ingreds. I used my stick blender to make it more like a gravy and served it with yorkshire pudding. Thank you, Bergy for sharing this great recipe. I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvcook'n October 31, 2009

This is a very good pot roast and it made my house smell wonderful all afternoon. My husband, however, doesn't think tomatoes belong in a pot roast. I did cut the thyme and oregano to 1/2 tsp. each and was glad that I did. I used the beef broth and the 'gravy' was very good. The veg gets very overdone but it does flavour the gravy nicely. I put the potatoes in 45 minutes before the end and they were perfect. I used small potatoes in their skins. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV May 18, 2008

Wow!! What a wonderful recipe, will certainly be making this over, & over & over again!!! A real hit with family & company!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
strwbrrypi April 18, 2008

This was very good. This was the first time I've ever made a roast in a dutch oven. My roast was a little dry, I evidently over cooked it a little. The flavor was still very good. I strained the vege's and made gravy for the meat and mashed potatoes. Very flavorful. Thanks, Bergy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z November 12, 2007

Cooked this for my fussy family. Beef really tender. Might add carrots later next time. Its a keeper. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen drama queen August 12, 2007

Wonderful Bergy...just wonderful. We had this for dinner the other night and it rocks. Rich, thick gravy with vegetables, juicy, tender, flavourful roast. I will definitely be making this dish again and again. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato January 11, 2006
Cross Rib Pot Roast & Veggies