15 Reviews

Made for the "What's on the Menu" tag game - Breakfast sammies are like a "major food group" around our house & this is our new favorite of the genre. I "pre-warmed" the ham in a small amount of butter to give it a caramelized flavor, used Gouda cheese & then assembled the sammie to grill in the same pan. To ensure a 1-pan effort, I also cooked our basted eggs in the same pan. Served w/fresh fruit plus our morning coffee got us close to the luxury of Eggs Benedict .. w/o the extra calories & fat content. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis April 19, 2015

Thank you for sharing your recipe, which I will make again. It is simply delicious. what a wonderful breakfast it made. I loved that it is made with easy to find ingredients. It was quick and really easy to make, with terrific results. I used a old marble cheddar, it was what I had on hand. It worked well in your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato April 11, 2015

LOVED IT! Maite, this sandwich is over-the-top delicious! I can't wait to make it again so I can give it 5 stars. I used sourdough bread and fried the egg over-medium, it was sheer perfection. Thank you! Made for ZWT, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup June 04, 2008

Just like the one I had in Paris!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mulligan June 02, 2008

I can't believe I went half a lifetime without having one of these before. I had the house all to myself to day and this is what I prepared. Forget my usual bacon, egg, and cheddar for awhile. I will make this in its stead. It is really wonderful! Gooey egg yolk with buttered toast along with melted Swiss and warm ham. i know the rest of the family will like these but I may have to keep this little gem to myself! Made for my Babes for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch Steph June 01, 2008

So tasty and so quick to make. I had to work late the other night and I was starving by the time I got home. This came together so fast. I used rye bread which is perfect with the ham and swiss. I will be making this all the time!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 May 31, 2008

Delicious, quick lunch! I love burgers with a fried egg on them, and this was a delightful touch for the sandwich. I enjoyed a croque monsieur in France, now I think I want a trip to Belgium. Thanks for posting this treat, Maite! Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva May 28, 2008

This was a nice quick dinner for my family. We've eaten croque monsieurs before when we were in France, but we'd never had a croque madame--the fried egg adds a nice touch. My 2-year-old daughter loved it too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Velouria August 15, 2007

We had this sandwich for breakfast. It was a quick and easy dish. We used cheddar instead of swiss because my husband doesn't care to much for swiss cheese. we will have this easy sandwich again. Thanks Maite G. Bullwinkle.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle March 24, 2007

This was the other half of Gram's and my odd-but-good breakfast today (combined with Little Bee's Greek Scrambled Eggs #172242). Like Galley Wench, I fried the egg until totally cooked through and put it inside the sandwich for ease of eating. I used smoked gouda for the cheese, and a sliced-up leftover ham steak. Delicious variation on one of our favorite comfort foods (grilled cheese). Luckily Dad is away for the day, because he FREAKS out when anyone makes fried eggs in our house. Oh well, the odor should be gone by the time he comes home. I'll definitely be making this again (when Dad's not home, of course lol). Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess June 17, 2006
Croque Madame