Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Croque Madame Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Croque Madame

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2008

      LOVED IT! Maite, this sandwich is over-the-top delicious! I can't wait to make it again so I can give it 5 stars. I used sourdough bread and fried the egg over-medium, it was sheer perfection. Thank you! Made for ZWT, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      Just like the one I had in Paris!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      I can't believe I went half a lifetime without having one of these before. I had the house all to myself to day and this is what I prepared. Forget my usual bacon, egg, and cheddar for awhile. I will make this in its stead. It is really wonderful! Gooey egg yolk with buttered toast along with melted Swiss and warm ham. i know the rest of the family will like these but I may have to keep this little gem to myself! Made for my Babes for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      So tasty and so quick to make. I had to work late the other night and I was starving by the time I got home. This came together so fast. I used rye bread which is perfect with the ham and swiss. I will be making this all the time!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Delicious, quick lunch! I love burgers with a fried egg on them, and this was a delightful touch for the sandwich. I enjoyed a croque monsieur in France, now I think I want a trip to Belgium. Thanks for posting this treat, Maite! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      This was a nice quick dinner for my family. We've eaten croque monsieurs before when we were in France, but we'd never had a croque madame--the fried egg adds a nice touch. My 2-year-old daughter loved it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      We had this sandwich for breakfast. It was a quick and easy dish. We used cheddar instead of swiss because my husband doesn't care to much for swiss cheese. we will have this easy sandwich again. Thanks Maite G. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      This was the other half of Gram's and my odd-but-good breakfast today (combined with Little Bee's Greek Scrambled Eggs #172242). Like Galley Wench, I fried the egg until totally cooked through and put it inside the sandwich for ease of eating. I used smoked gouda for the cheese, and a sliced-up leftover ham steak. Delicious variation on one of our favorite comfort foods (grilled cheese). Luckily Dad is away for the day, because he FREAKS out when anyone makes fried eggs in our house. Oh well, the odor should be gone by the time he comes home. I'll definitely be making this again (when Dad's not home, of course lol). Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      This made a great quick lunch! I assembled mine a little differently -- since I don't like runny eggs, friend it hard and then put it on top of the ham and covered with smoked gouda. Grilled it in the panni maker and it was yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      I absolutely love this with wheat bread or rye bread lightly buttered and instead of ham I like Canadian Ham. Great breakfast or brunch treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      My dh and dd loved this. Made with smoked gouda and baked ham. These are the perfect brunch fare or even late night grazing! Thanks for a terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      This was a nice light dinner for DS and myself, as DH was working late. Thanks for a nice idea. Nick's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      This was so good. I grilled on the stove like a grilled cheese and added the egg on top.I didn't take a picture because my eggs are so ulgy. Thank goodness they still taste good. YUMMY. Thanks for a good easy dinner. Lisa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Croque Madame

    Serving Size: 1 (128 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.9
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    41%
    Total Fat 14.1 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 211.7 mg
    70%
    Sodium 380.2 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 17.6 g
    35%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes