Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crook's Corner Shrimp and Grits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crook's Corner Shrimp and Grits

    Average Rating:

    83 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 83

    Sort by:

    • on October 22, 2011

      I will be making this again soon because it's yummy! I used black instead of white pepper and Chalula instead of Tabasco. The two of us ate all the shrimp mostly because shrimp leftovers are not so good and I'm excited to have the leftover cheese grits in the morning. One tip would be to make sure and have all of your ingredients ready and measured out because of the timing required in this recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      I hadn't had any shrimp at all since the disaster in the gulf, but decided it was finally time to venture out into those murky waters once more.

      My son commented that the dish tasted "pro", and I must agree. Even so, or rather better yet, the dish was actually pretty quick to put together, but then again I also used quick grits (Albers) because that's what they had in the market.

      My subs: Sauteed 1/2 each of yellow onion, red pepper, and serrano before adding in the mushrooms; doubled the black pepper and added garlic salt to the shrimp seasoning which I tossed about 30 minutes in advance and allowed to marinade in the fridge; deglazed the pan with a moscato; skipped adding the broth to the shrimp, but did use just a little water to smooth things out. I liked sharkdoc01's idea of the rice flour and will try that next time. Served with collard greens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2011

      I would make half the grits but the entire recipe of shrimp for two. We had lots of the grits leftover.
      DH loved it and ate all of the shrimp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2013

      Loved this! I was looking for a throw together meal at the end of the week (night before grocery store trip), I thought I had everything but the mushrooms, but when I went to the freezer, no shrimp, so we used chicken. I mixed the bacon in the grits once they were done. Mike loved it, so no mushrooms, chicken instead on shrimp & some minor adjustments made a fabulous meal. Next time I want the shrimp though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2013

      This dish, as a whole, was pretty good. The shrimp wasn't quite a five-star hit with my family, but the grits were simply amazing and my family absolutely loved them and have requested that I make grits like this from now on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      We had this for dinner tonight. It was delicious! Only changed a couple of things: I added andouille sausage; and instead of salt and peppering the shrimp before dredging in flour, I sprinkled the shrimp with creole seasoning. I also threw in several sprigs of fresh thyme while sauteing the mushrooms and shrimp, which gave it extra depth of flavor (if you do this, be sure to remove before serving!). Hubby loved it, I will definitely keep this in my repertoire!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      My family loved this! In order to have more gravy in the shrimp mixture, add more broth (I added about a half cup) this made the shrimp mixture scrumptious!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2012

      We love this recipe...My husband (born in Alabama, raised in NC and who previously lived in Charleston) can't get enough of these. I save making this recipe for when I really want to spoil him! For some extra decadence (not that it needs it), we add some andouille.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2012

      This was really delicious! I used black pepper instead do white and skipped the tobacco sauce. I didn't stick to exact measurements on anything since I never do ;) but made it to our liking....all in all it was great and will be making it again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      I left out the pepper and tobasco for my kids' sake and it was still amazing! AND my kids actually loved it! I did use whipping cream instead of half and half out of convenience, but it was SO good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      Magic is all I can say. A very close second to the shrimp and grits I had in New Orleans. We eat these a few times a year!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2014

    • on May 07, 2014

      UMAMI! That's all I have to say!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2014

      Made this for dinner tonight. Everything was very good, but the shrimp mixture was overly dry. Next time I'll add more chicken broth/lemon juice. The grits were perfect and we have plenty of them left over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2013

      Five stars for sure. This is the first recipe I've acquired from Food.com and it was great. After reading the reviews I went with the Andouille sausage addition and added an extra 1/2 lb. of medium shrimp. Our guest raved about it. Thanks to Hey Jude.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2013

      YOU KNOW IT'S GOOD WHEN THE LEFTOVERS TASTE GREAT COLD! I would not be ashamed to serve this to fmaily and friends. It is outstanding! Easy to make; once you prep all the ingredients it runs like clock-work. And you can add or subtract the heat as you like. My husband and I like a little more heat in our dishes so we added just a splash of scotch bonnet to our recipe. AMAZING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2013

      Loved this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      This will be going in our family recipe book. A definite must have dinner every so often. The prep is a bit time consuming (cooking bacon, peeling shrimp, chopping vegetables), but VERY worth it. Made the recipe exactly as instructed and we have no complaints and have no ideas for variation to improve the recipe. It was excellent as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2013

      I made this for my bf tonight who had never had shrimp and grits before and he ate it all up. I used quick grits bc thats all they had at the market but I don't recommend them, just doesn't give the same texture. The grit portion was amazing! The flavors were outta this world. I increased the amount of chicken broth in the shrimp because I liked more sauce and increased bacon to 6(more bacon=better dish right?). If you are having more than two dinners more shrimp is probably needed as the shrimp to grit ratio is slightly off. Will be making this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      I used quick cook grits and adjusted the grits cook time. I added a can of drained corn to the grits for some sweetness and a small amount of cream cheese for additional creaminess. Four people liked this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crook's Corner Shrimp and Grits

    Serving Size: 1 (546 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 538.2
     
    Calories from Fat 227
    42%
    Total Fat 25.3 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 13.8 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 207.1 mg
    69%
    Sodium 1858.8 mg
    77%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 32.8 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites