8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family LOVED this recipe! I served for a large family party and everyone couldn't stop talking about how delicious it was. Everyone that has tried it has been clamoring for the recipe.

The only slight change I would make would be to refrigerate the salad for a few hours (even overnight) to allow the flavors to blend together more. I think it tasted much better after it was chilled.

I will definitely be making this often!! Thank you so much for sharing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snoflake517 April 26, 2011

Loved this recipe!

I made it vegan and brought it to a (omnivore attended) beach bonfire. It was the hit of the night! A wonderful summertime meal.

Vegan edits:

* Use reduced fat Vegenaise instead of mayo
* Use Soy Curls in place of chicken (rehydrate soy curls in 1 cup veggie broth, 1 cup water, 1 tbsp soy sauce and 1/4 teaspoon liquid smoke. Squeeze soy curls free of liquid. Heat olive oil in fry pan and saute rehydrated soy curls with salt/fresh pepper until lightly brown. Allow to cool before adding to recipe.)
* Use sourdough instead of croissant

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sobrietyanxiety June 24, 2012

I thought this was pretty good overall, but too much mayo for me. I would have liked it much better with only 1/2 cup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
matchbox8 September 20, 2011

This was wonderful, what a great summer dish!!!!

Thanks so much for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmertz_10785480 June 25, 2011

Used this recipe for a baby shower and everyone loved it! Wish I had made more for myself after:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kip Mattson July 26, 2009

This is by far the best Chicken Salad Sandwich recipe I've ever had!! An absolute must for anyone who even remotely likes these. I would give this 10 stars if I could! Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
825854 June 13, 2008

I loved this! I have never used grapes in a chicken salad before, but will always add them from now on. They added a nice juicy texture. I used almonds since I had some on hand. I had a little trouble eating this as the salad kept falling out - but in my book, the best sandwiches are the messy ones! I tried it again the next day and warmed the croissants in the oven for a little while, and it helped keep the salad on the bread. Good recipe homegirl - thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme August 30, 2006

This chicken salad was delightful! I was worried about the sweetness of the grapes, or the saltiness & crunch of the cashews, but it went together perfectly! Almost the whole family looooved it, the only straggler was the 10 year old boy, and it's hard to cook for one of those! The only thing I may do differently next time, is to use a hearty bread, rather than a croissant. While the croissant was good, I think it would be great on some firm, meaty bread. Terrific recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NataschAnn July 27, 2006
Croissant Chicken Salad Sandwich