20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I substitute semi-sweet chocolate chips for the raisins as I can't stand raisins in my bread pudding. The result was a truly decadent dessert!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef MurphyGirl January 01, 2011

It is easy and amazingly yummy. To lessen the guilt, however, use skim milk (2 cups), two eggs, and 1/2 cup of sugar for about 4 large croissants. You can add any flavoring you want (I use vanilla and almond, and sprinkle sliced almonds on top). The taste will not suffer -- and neither will your behind (not so much, that is).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elamika January 22, 2008

This is THE best bread pudding recipe. I usually leave out the raisins, always add cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg and sometimes add things like sliced apples or pecans depending on my mood. I enjoy this so much more when it is drizzled with Hard Brandy Sauce. (1/2 butter melted with 1/4 cup sugar and 3/4 cup Brandy whisked constantly over medium heat.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela Distefano August 19, 2007

I had a wonderful croissant bread pudding recipe several Christmases ago and overheard the baker mention Ina Garten. I found this recipe, and am so glad I did so now I can share this delicious dessert with friends and family. It is SO good. For convenience reasons, I halved the half-and-half and for the remainder used vanilla almond milk. The croissants I used were straight from the bakery, but I lightly toasted them in my oven for a crunch that resembles the staleness required. I also soaked my raisins in amaretto for about 20 minutes. The croissants are crispy on the outside and are so fluffy and eggy on the inside. This is a beautiful dessert sure to wow any crowd. Totally a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbell Bunny December 16, 2013

Made three pans, turned out great.

Substituted flaky apple strudel for fruit and some croissants.

used the Bourbon sauce with it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Super Chef Sean December 06, 2012

My mom makes this recipe for holidays and special events; it's always our favourite bread pudding. She leaves out the dried fruit. Though reading other reviews, next time we may use sems-sweet chocolate... that sounds divine!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emoximuu January 26, 2012

This recipe is fabulous! I am not a hudge bread pudding fan but saw Ina make this on "Barefoot Contessa". One day at the store they had a large package of petite croissants on sale so I bought them and made this recipe. Devine! Easy! Comforting yet has a bit of pazazz with it. Give this one a try, you will not be disappointed! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristin January 25, 2009

Wonderful! I used craisins instead of raisins, but otherwise followed the recipe as written, and every speck was devoured.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo October 10, 2008

I made this over the holidays with 10 lg leftover glazed doughnuts and a combinaton of eggnog, whole milk, and fat free creamer. Delish! No raisins though! Food foul!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junkintrunk January 15, 2008

This was so darn easy and it tasted wonderful...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc January 14, 2008
Croissant Bread Pudding ( Ina Garten )